Resizable Bar?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Hog54, Feb 22, 2021.

  1. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    674
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 NvLink
    There is no XOC BIOS with 1000W for RTX 3080 with ReBAR and same applies for RTX 3090 there is no XOC BIOS with 1000W with ReBAR, hopefully someone will leak that BIOS

    Hope this helps

    Thanks, Jura
     
    janos666 likes this.
  2. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    Has anybody tried if EVGA's Updater tool (Precision or whatever) is able to update the Kingpin 1000W XOC Bios with ReBar support?
    I updated my 520W Kingpin BIOS to ReBar with EVGA's update tool and it worked, thus I wonder if it's also possible with the 1000W variant.
     
  3. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    674
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 NvLink
    No you can't update XOC BIOS through the EVGA update tool, if you do that it will become normal 520W BIOS, if you want XOC 1000W BIOS with ReBAR you need to ask Vince@KingPin

    Hope this helps

    Thanks, Jura
     
    Cave Waverider likes this.
  4. RKKA

    RKKA New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX3080 EXTR
    so, you have the 3080 extreme now running on latest vBIOS?

    I feel like I’m power limited now with the latest.
    My 3080 extreme was delivered with F2 BIOS.

    F3 said to extend TGP to 450W and worked very stable for me, I was hitting >430W and overclocking was solid stable.

    Now with the latest F6 they say it adds rezbar support, my power consumption is around 360-370W and overclocking is so unstable. I wonder if there’s no more 450 W power limit on the F6?
     

  5. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    283
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Check it with GPU-Z
     
  6. garyb

    garyb Member Guru

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    KFA2 RTX 3070
    Not really sure about this stuff but should I have resizable bar enabled all the time regardless !!! both motherboard and GPU support it.
     
  7. HichamNB

    HichamNB Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Amd / 2gb
    so anyone here with rtx 20 series who tried maybe updating driver and mobo bios to support resizable bar, maybe nvidia is hiding something from rtx 20s owners !
     
  8. janos666

    janos666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    Doubtful, not their style (in general, neither hiding things like these nor handing out freebies like this).
     
    HichamNB likes this.
  9. skacikpl

    skacikpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 8G
    For starters what would need to get updated to support it would be the GPU bios itself but pretty sure none of 2000 series cards from any manfuacturer didn't get a single bios update in well over a year.
    Don't count on corporate generosity, gating away features is a solid way of forcing people to upgrade.
     
    HichamNB likes this.
  10. NEP6XSBW

    NEP6XSBW Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Nvidia will most likely never release a VBIOS for ReBAR support on Turing cards. On my previous card, I had both driver and system BIOS support for ReBAR, but no VBIOS support, thus, ReBAR was marked as disabled in GPU-Z.
     
    HichamNB likes this.

  11. garyb

    garyb Member Guru

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    KFA2 RTX 3070
    Should this be left on by default?
     
  12. flow

    flow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Asus TUF RTX3080 oc
    I have no benefit from it on my z390 board. I have it disabled in bios. Tried it on some games that support it, and I only saw a small shift in fps from scene to scene. Overall performance was the same though.
    Could be different for a 3070 and lower end card, so try it and compare.
    On the other hand, my bios has a simple switch to enable/disable Resizable Bar. Maybe some day I enable it again if a game really benefits from it.
    When you're above 100 fps in games, 5 more wont matter much, not if in other scenes it drops by 5.
     
    TheDigitalJedi likes this.
  13. buddyfriendo

    buddyfriendo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    I think that's pretty much the general consensus sadly :/
     
  14. TheDigitalJedi

    TheDigitalJedi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 + CX OLED
    This.

    I just randomly viewed my BIOS and I now see the option. In the NCP it says no. Is seems this isn't worth the trouble of going through the steps to enable it. The techie in me may mess with it due to curiosity.
     
  15. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    I've found that Resizable BAR on my Z390 mainboard can make quite a difference in demanding games at higher resolutions with maximums settings. It's especially noticeable when playing demanding Sims on high-resolution VR headsets in which case it can stabilize ReBAR perfectly smooth and playable.

    It especially helps with minimum framerates/framerate drops in the games ReBAR works well with.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2021

  16. TheDigitalJedi

    TheDigitalJedi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 + CX OLED
    Well you just gave me a little motivation to try this out. :p:D I'll report my findings. Hopefully we can see increases with my hardware also.
     
  17. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    ReBar is recommended to improve stutters, not to gain 50FPS etc.
     
  18. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    I can't see it reducing stutter anywhere. Note that Nvidia also only whitelists select titles for it, it probably has 0 effect for any game that is not on that whitelist.
     
    flow likes this.
  19. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    You can manually "whitelist" titles via Nvidia Inspector as well (or remove them from the "list").

    And yes, it works and the improvement is noticeable with various games as well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2021
  20. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Sure, then this isn't placebo. I've just set it to on globally and I disable it for games that are negatively affected (Watch Dogs Legion and partially also Hitman 2 and RDR2 Vulkan). With the latter two games this was btw. also true when I had an RX 6800.
     

Share This Page