Resident Evil 7

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by WhiteLightning, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,972
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    damn ive seen drops to 40fps. :(

    first game of 2017 with problems for me.
     
  2. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    5,006
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    A stutter or just a demanding scene? There is a difference.
     
  3. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,972
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    no there is def something wrong. i also get stutter while fps is the same.
    i think it needs more game/driver updates to run smooth. atleast for me.
    i should have no problem at all with my 1070 running this game!

    just completed the game in 9 hrs 22 mins.

    Great game. First part with daddy was boring, maybe the mutation should be something weirder. also the shovel chase and fetching/opening stuff in the main house i didnt like much.
    but the rest is all good. most def a resident evil game! the ending also hinted at the story of the first DLC which is coming up. good stuff!!
     
  4. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yeah, the game needs a patch.
    I find it funny that with RE7 some people seem to be going out of their way to defend the game's memory usage, while in other games people would tear it apart.

    But, there is an issue with how the game uses video memory.
    And, the "bright" people on the STEAM forums stating there is no visual difference between 'Medium' and 'High'... either have blinders on, or are simply oblivious.

    Claiming that the different settings only affect how the textures are streamed in, how they are stored in your video memory.
    Yet, then say "Oh yeah, of course there's a visual difference with Low"...

    So, I decided to test this out. I loaded up the game, started on Medium firstly...

    Medium:
    [​IMG]
    High:
    [​IMG]

    Medium:
    [​IMG]
    High:
    [​IMG]

    Medium:
    [​IMG]
    High:
    [​IMG]


    Now, after about an hour of playtime there were a few textures that did seem to load in a bit slower in Medium. But, more often then not I ran into certain textures that would drop to a lower resolution when I walked up to them.
    But, there is a visual difference between High and Medium.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017

  5. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    255
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    CPY cracked it already..
     
  6. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    5,006
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Well who liked the game already bought it. Denuvo is falling apart.
     
  7. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 MSI GXT
    Anyone got a working SLI Bits for RE7?
     
  8. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    try Batman Arkham Origins bits
     
  9. stalkerfan

    stalkerfan Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GeForce 1070
    Well got rid of the stutters....newest drivers plus Textures to Med....Shadows back up to High....seems to be all good so far.

    Haven't noticed that much of a texture change as in the above shots but might see if I can bring them back to High with the new drivers.

    Were those screens just changing Texture Quality or all settings to Medium?

    But yeah pays to do the changing from the main menu rather than in game....some thing weird going on there.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
  10. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    Already tested..It works like a crap
     

  11. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
  12. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    167
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700
    21:9 hacks or something!??
     
  13. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,972
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Im trying madhouse difficulty now which is the one unlocked after normal is completed.
    Cant get past mia LOL
     
  14. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Well, texture detail is one of the few options you can only change from the main menu.

    And, to clarify.... initially, Medium will show the same textures as High (mostly). Only loading them in slightly slower.
    But, while High will start to hitch, pause and stutter when you run out of video memory as it streams in new texture data.

    Medium will, after some playtime, stop loading in the higher resolution textures. I monitored my VRam while playing, and when I first started... I was fine.
    But, once the game reached the limits of my video memory, the in game texture detail stopped transitioning to the higher res textures.


    This seems... like an odd design decision.
    And, given the size of the game, and the overall texture detail on offering (which, don't get me wrong the game looks fantastic)... it just doesn't seem like it should be using as much video memory as it does.

    While discussing with a friend on STEAM who has a GTX 1080, he said that while he can run Very High textures, the game filled his video memory to capacity, and would stutter from time to time as it went past his available 8 gigs.
    How the game manages and uses VRam is something I personally think Capcom should look into.
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    5,006
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB

  16. BladeRunner

    BladeRunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 1080Ti STRIX
    Can you believe this ? I was this close to buying it ! JK:wanker:
     
  17. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    Dont worry, you're not the only one. There is any good SLi profile at the moment, stay tuned.
     
  18. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE RTX3090 OC
    This works great for me but I'm on .33 drivers. No stuttering but shadow cache must be off. running 4k.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2017
  19. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    I running this at 3440x1440 ultra settings / latest Whql. With Arkham Origins profile GPu's Usage is awful, as you can see in the pic below. Same NVInsp settings of the guy who made the video (and same hw from what i've seen)

    http://i.imgur.com/AXEFyWt.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2017
  20. stalkerfan

    stalkerfan Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GeForce 1070
    So what have you found to be your sweet spot for Graphic Settings?
    Have you left Textures on Medium?
     

Share This Page