Resident Evil 5 PC Benchmark results

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Gameslove, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. Gameslove

    Gameslove Master Guru

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 4GB OC/GTS450physX
    Download here:
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/Resident-Evil-5-PC-Benchmark-Utility-download-2331.html

    1. Windows XP (SP3) or Vista (SP1) or 7?
    2. GPU driver version?
    3. Directx 9.0c or Directx 10 mode?
    4. You settings, including resolution, AA, AF, 32 or 64 bit HDR, vsync? (to set 64 bit HDR go in X:\Documents and Settings\User\My Documents\CAPCOM\RESIDENT EVIL 5 Benchmark Version\config.ini, there change HDR = LOW to HIGH)
    5. Average result and screen it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  2. Gameslove

    Gameslove Master Guru

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 4GB OC/GTS450physX
    1. Windows XP (SP3)
    2. Catalyst 9.7 RC3
    3. Directx 9.0c
    4. Max settings, 1280x1024, 8AA, 16AF, 64bit, vsync on
    5. Avr. 35,5 FPS


    [​IMG]
     
  3. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 6gb
    1. Windows XP (SP3)
    2. Nvidia 186.18
    3. Directx 9.0c
    4. Max Settings 1600x1200, 4xAA, 85hz, no v-sync
    5. Avr. 74.6 FPS

    [​IMG]
     
  4. LinkDrive

    LinkDrive Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toaster
    Vista Ultimate 64-bit SP1
    Official Catalyst 9.6
    All benches were run at max settings with 4xAA no VSync
    (A) DX9 CrossFire
    [​IMG]
    (B) DX9 Single card
    [​IMG]
    (C) DX10 CrossFire
    [​IMG]
    (D) DX10 Single card
    [​IMG]

    Either it's me, or it seems that this engine has a few oddball performance issues that need to be fixed. It's not a VRam issue as demonstrated by screenshot (B) and area 4 of screenshots (C) and (D)...it's not an API issue as demonstrated by screenshots (A) (C) and (D)...it's not a CrossFire issue as demonstrated by the Area 4 performance in screenshot (C) and (D).

    Only in single card configuration in DX9 does the FPS not nerf to half in area 3 and/or 4. Strange :confused:
     

  5. blinx

    blinx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 680
    1. Windows XP (SP3)
    2. Catalyst 9.6
    3. Directx 9.0c
    4. Max settings, 1280x720(32" hdtv), 4AA, 16AF, 32bit, vsync on
    5. Avr. 60 FPS

    [​IMG]
     
  6. UnrealGaming

    UnrealGaming Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    Maxed, 4x aa .

    HDR 32bit

    [​IMG]

    HDR 64bit

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  7. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,024
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    In order to get an A rating you need to run the benchmarks with v-sync disabled. Stupid really but, IMO, the optimal way to play the game would be with v-sync and a framerate that is consistently 60 fps like your graph depicts. That's an A rating in anybody's book, yeah?

    The console versions ran between 25 and 30 fps so on the benchmark's scale they'd rate either D or E!!! :)
     
  8. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,024
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I get 62 fps with the DX10 variable benchmark at 1680x1050 with everything maxed/on, v-sync off and C16QxAA.

    Results

    Lowering the AA obviously increases the framerate and the random placement of enemies each time the benchmark is run means the results vary. I had 68 fps on my first run through for example.

    The game seems to run silky smooth even when the framerate drops to the high 40s fps so I'll likely leave the full game on C16QxAA. I don't see the point in framerates over 60 fps personally.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  9. HussanAli

    HussanAli Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8800 GTX
    Windows 7 Rocks.
     
  10. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    - Windows 7 x64 build 7264
    - Catalyst 9.7 "betas" (8.630)
    - 1920x1200, 4xAA, everything max, Vsync OFF, variable framerate.

    HDR 64 bits

    Direct X 10
    [​IMG]

    Direct X 9
    [​IMG]

    HDR 32 bits

    Direct X 10
    [​IMG]

    Direct X 9
    [​IMG]
     

  11. UNREAL_2004

    UNREAL_2004 Master Guru

    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Watercooled MSI GTX 970
    E4300 @ 3.2Ghz
    GTX260 216SP @ 720/2400


    1. Windows XP (SP3)
    2. Forceware 190.15
    3. Directx 9.0c
    4. Max settings, 1680x1050, AAx4, 16AF, 32bit, vsync off
    5. Avr. 81,8 FPS


    [​IMG]
     
  12. Crisis66

    Crisis66 Master Guru

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970
    Are you guys running the fixed or variable benchmark?
     
  13. bokeh

    bokeh Member Guru

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
    They are running variable benchmark.

    Fixed has only Area 1 and variable has Area 1, 2, 3 and 4
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  14. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,277
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Strix RX 480 8GB
    nice find! downloading now
     
  15. bokeh

    bokeh Member Guru

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
    e6750 @ 3,2GHz
    9800GTX+

    1. Windows 7 64-bit
    2. 186.18
    3. Directx 10
    4. 1680x1050 4xAA 16xAF Max Settings, motion blur on, vsync off
    5. HDR 32bit Avg: 55,4 - HDR 64bit Avg: 45,5

    hdr 32
    [​IMG]

    hdr 64
    [​IMG]
     

  16. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
    Win7 32bit 7100, nvidia 186.24, variable test;

    default res, no aa/af, high-quality in nvidia control panel settings, vsync off.

    dx9 = 43fps
    dx10 = 44fps

    Looks good, but, the benchmark points to RE5 as being quite a shallow experience.
     
  17. BenTTwiG

    BenTTwiG Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    oOOo will grab this once I get off work and give it a go.
     
  18. NomadicX

    NomadicX Master Guru

    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 960 FTW
    1. Windows XP (SP3)
    2. Forceware 190.38
    3. Directx 9.0c
    4. Max settings, 1400x1050, C8XQ, 16AF, 32bit, vsync off
    5. Avg. 93.0

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  19. Th3 ProphetMan

    Th3 ProphetMan New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX260 898MB
    Windows 7
    2. FW 186.18
    3. See Pics
    4. Max settings, 32bit HDR, 1440x900, no Vsync, High Quality on drivers settings
    5. 48 with AA8xQ, 64 with no AA

    DX9 AA 8xQ
    [​IMG]

    DX10 AA 8xQ
    [​IMG]

    DX9 no AA
    [​IMG]

    DX10 no AA
    [​IMG]

    As you can see the perfomance in both DX9 and 10 is about exactly the same.

    Anyone notices quality differences? i didn't.. :/

    Also from the peaks in the first scene which probably doesnt use AI i can guess my CPU is bottlenecking the GTX260 (i got it when my 8800gts died), which wouldn't surprise me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
  20. mudkips

    mudkips Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI N275GTX
    Just a few notes, this benchmark doesn't represent the game play at all (if you haven't played it for the consoles). Enemies don't stand there letting you shoot at them so I really don't understand why the variable benchmark is labeled as a representation of real world game play.

    I wouldn't be discouraged if you are getting sub 60fps either since the console versions ran at 30 anyway.
     

Share This Page