Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Maybe they should just remove DX12 and focus on improving Vulkan a bit more.
     
    cerebus23, Astyanax and MerolaC like this.
  2. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    708
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Why would they remove dx12 ? They could focus on vulkan without removing dx12 :)
     
  3. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    The game defaulted to Vulkan on both my AMD and Nvidia systems; based on that I thought Vulkan must be what the developers thought was the best option for people to use. Did anyone have the game default to DX12 for them the first time they ran it?
     
  4. OleMortenF

    OleMortenF Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    980 SC 4GB
    It has Vulkan default for me too, I just read that DX12 were supposed to be smoother with NVIDIA cards in this game.
     

  5. Shataan

    Shataan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    90
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080 RTX
    Mine defaulted to Vulkan as well. It runs great so I just left it there.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  6. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    There's probably a reason Vulkan is the default. Just stick with it. Have had zero issues playing this game.
     
    Shataan and Elder III like this.
  7. Party Poison

    Party Poison Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    251
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    Is this using AVX instructions?

    I had an AVX offset on from when I was playing apex a while back ( was the only thing that stopped the crashes ) and forgot it was on.

    I'd been getting stutters in red dead when riding into or around a city, fine everywhere else and I noticed the CPU dropping as though the offset was kicking in.


    Went to bios set AVX to zero and now the stutter seems to be gone, I rode around St Denise for a while riding in and out of the main streets and nothing stuttered.
     
  8. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    209
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    Probably for cloth physics or physics in general?
     
  9. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    674
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1660Ti
    Vulcan was my default, runs sweet
     
    Shataan likes this.
  10. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    I actually like Vulkan is making its mark here with RDR2.. Too many people think DirectX is the end all be all.. Nice to see Vulkan making a stand here showing DX isn't the only game in town in one of the biggest games of 2019..
     
    Shataan likes this.

  11. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,638
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Game is running on a i7 990x without avx instructions so its a placebo on your end.
     
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,341
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Instruction sets are used when available if a faster path exists.
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  13. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,638
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Honestly didnt notice any difference between 3930k and 990x i own. Both stock being 6c/12t handle game just fine. If the faster path exists using avx instructions i just didnt see it.
     
  14. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Hey look at that it's 25% off on EGS.
     
  15. Party Poison

    Party Poison Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    251
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    So, tested again. With an AVX offset of 2.

    Both dx12 and vulkan loading into Saint Denise, Not the benchmark.

    None avx stays at 5000mhz solid
    AVX offset 2 drops to 4800mhz almost instantly.

    Its probably nothing, just something i'd noticed. I don't know for sure if it effects anything.
     

  16. ShadowDuke

    ShadowDuke Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,850
    Likes Received:
    402
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 970
    Only 28 € if you pay in rubel. ;) (vpn not needed, region set to russia and mustnt have bought something before on EGS)
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2019
  17. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    After new update those mud tracks are toooo close! Settings same as before but they are just apearing in front of me!

    [​IMG]
     
  18. SKIBA

    SKIBA Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 / 6 GB
    Do you play with my configuration will comfortably? Intel Core i5 6400 2.2 GHz, RAM 16 GB DDR4 Dual Channel, GTX 1060 6 GB.
     
  19. ShadowDuke

    ShadowDuke Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,850
    Likes Received:
    402
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 970
    Is not ater the new update, it was before, read the last pages man. We've already discussed this.

    And for posting Screenshots, we have this thread here!
     
  20. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    678
    GPU:
    1070ti 2114/4350
    What's up with the Rockstar Launcher hijacking my screen grabber? I had noticed earlier that Geforce Experience would activate when I just have the launcher up, as if a game was already running.
    I was going to take screenshot of how jittery Vulkan frametimes are but all I got was a black screen in the picture.
     

Share This Page