Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Keep waiting for it. Some ppl wait forever and other ppl make the best of what they have right now and just enjoy life.
    But - whatever floats your boat mate.
     
    Passus likes this.
  2. cartdog

    cartdog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    90
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti H20
    This is a long shot but has anyone else been getting this stupid message when playing RDO and have managed to fix it?

    "You have been disconnected from Red Dead Online due to a fault on Rockstar game services. (Error: 0x20010006)"

    Ive read this has to do with packet loss but my connection is fine, I dont disconnect from any game EVER. Moreover this happens every time I log online, 10mins in disconnected. You can't progress, do missions...nothing. when I first played RDO I played for like 5hrs and no issues. Apparently this was an issue for consoles too, that never got fixed. What bulls***
     
  3. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    869
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    For me dx12 worked better. Framerate is the same on both but Vulkan gave me random stutters.
     
  4. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,482
    Likes Received:
    1,493
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    DX12, much like Vulkan, varies wildly from game to game. Nvidia does struggle with DX12 in ways, but in the end it comes down to how well the developer implements it into the game.
     

  5. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    869
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
  6. Backstabak

    Backstabak Master Guru

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    217
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Rx 5700xt
    Yeah, DX12 fixes it for me too. The only issue I have with it though, is that there are occasional spikes in frametimes, as if there were some textures loading. Plus it's kinda weird that around internet everyone is recommending Vulkan especially for AMD cards.
     
  7. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,601
    Likes Received:
    2,233
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    I would say it's the developer implementation even when we're getting more "pure" D3D12 or Vulkan API usage instead of D3D11 and then D3D12 added on top but I would think it's also down to many games and particularly the game engines don't fully leverage each GPU arch and vendor to it's fullest.

    Something like that Frostbite Engine had for separate paths for AMD and NVIDIA and also the GPU's themselves but with low level API usage made even more extensive so it can more completely get D3D12_0 and D3D12_1 features and functionality from both the earlier and newer GPU hardware though with how things are new hardware would eventually fall out of scope and end up on some generic path unless querying is sophisticated enough to get feature compatibility and capability right.
    (Not the same but sorta how auto detection of settings fail in older games often defaulting to something like 1024x768 and medium or how to compare even if it's a bit different.)

    Blanket off with hidden settings (That apparently were in the press beta version?) such as async compute instead of on for AMD GCN 1.1 and NVIDIA Pascal and off for older could also help and for Vulkan well I suppose it's similar but also going via various API extensions. (Although both AMD and NVIDIA offers D3D extensions too via library extensions either ADL or NVAPI.)


    Testing and time being a huge factor though for doing it this way, budget and all that and the complicated code and constant more complex testing and debugging required and here's a new driver and now this is broken or changed and yeah. :D
    Eventually I'm fairly certain D3D12 and Vulkan will be leveraged better but for now it's still early on even if the API's have been around for a few years, takes time and it's also more complex plus PC and hundreds of different CPU, GPU and other component differences and varying functionality and support.

    Still curious as to how the game ended up on both, D3D12 only would exclude Windows 7 and Windows 8 (Added work for D3D12onW7 and the perf hit is probably not entirely worth it other than having it as "game runs." even if it's not very well.) and then with Vulkan it already encompasses different OS's and opens up for Linux as a possible port natively even if it's still a bit more work to get it fully supported in addition to Stadia but there's probably a reason behind this and it's nice to see low level API usage starting to spread a bit again after the first wave of games came out and then it sorta went back to mostly D3D11 with the occasional Vulkan or D3D12 supported title.

    Well a few months of new drivers and game patches ought to work out the worst issues as I see it and the early launcher problems should be sorted now allowing for focusing on game bugs and optimization and such and whatever AMD and NVIDIA will have in later drivers.


    And fixes, could be a "optimization" for performance but I hear the snow deformation breaks a bit on AMD GPU's currently maybe they're trying to lower the tessellation factor unless a manual value is set or if it's parallax based then maybe they optimized said shader for a performance increase. (Definitively a target, comparisons set it as up to a 16% GPU performance hit closing in on shadows though behind water and of course MSAA should anyone try to use 4x or even 8x here.)

    EDIT: What was it for the volumetric effect again, somewhere near the 30 - 40% GPU performance range I think but that's comparing ultra and that's going to be using either a lot of samples or various other settings to smooth jagginess and overall transparency and blending compared to the console version default.


    EDIT: Come to think of it though even placing more in the hands of the developers I would expect it just makes GPU driver "hacks" and various compatibility flags and ways of optimization much more complicated for when developers get things wrong or maybe work more towards how one vendor has things since extensions and behaviors have little bugs or differences between AMD and NVIDIA as well. (How wonderful must that be!) which then requires driver level code to get around.

    Gears of War 4 and BSOD's and the Division 2 crash to desktop on NVIDIA's side, probably a number of AMD issues as well from bad to annoying to just glitches like the parallax here and how certain features work.


    For Vulkan NVIDIA has something with the VRAM too which I wonder how that acts up unless it's mostly for the Linux driver.
    (The info from that is via DXVK after all. https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/issues/1100 )

    AMD wise well various extensions, unexpected behavior and lack of certain extensions until later drivers even if they were introduced in a earlier VLK SDK and probably more that I'm missing for AMD, NVIDIA and also Intel. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  8. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    It did this on consoles constantly also. Their online servers are running on hamster power..
     
  9. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Wow, the amount of work to get this video done is amazing. So a pc with a 2080 Ti has a 200% fps boost over an XBox1X.
     
    lmimmfn and cartdog like this.
  10. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    Yeah, Digital Foundry does not screw around or hold hands.. They are amazing..
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,053
    Likes Received:
    2,452
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Here the VLK Tweak.

    MyDocuments\Rockstar games\Red dead redemption 2\settings
    File = system.xml
    open with notepad:

    Async compute enable = True

    Thanks to this, game will be more smooth ;) (Tested on 5700XT 1440p)

    Here, the proof:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    AsiJu, tiliarou, Angantyr and 2 others like this.
  12. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Mmmm how do i get more grass details when using TAA on highest setting ingame?

    I've set ingame sharpening to max and use Nvidia control panel sharpening with 0.6 and 0.15 (film grain).
     
  13. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,256
    Likes Received:
    3,089
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    Finally got around to fishing, man this is taking me back to Ocarina of Time.
     
    airbud7 and Grimbarian like this.
  14. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,256
    Likes Received:
    3,089
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    So what does it do exactly? Are you talking more fps?
     
  15. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    Improves the frametime quite some.

     
    OnnA likes this.

  16. SameOldx2

    SameOldx2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    93
    GPU:
    gtx 1070
    I didn't see a difference at all with medium or high TAA in 4k. There's a noticeable amount of low res stuff in the game, I think grass is one of them. Even the ground textures are a mixed bag.
     
  17. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    I have to say, after sinking about 22 hours into the game (lets say, minus 1 hour tweaking it) I am IN LOVE.
    Holy crap, this game is so much fun. The story is engaging, I am loving the characters. But, mostly, the scenery. It's SUPERB.
    And the chores around camp aren't as bad as some people make them be. They take at most 3 mins every a couple of days and the reward is nice.
    I am taking my time also around the cities, finding random events, picking up collectibles and what not.

    I just love it.

    From here, GTA 6 can only be better.
     
  18. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    780
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1660Ti
    I play mainly BFv and Forza4 and Grid, for me this makes a real nice change from those for an hour or two here and there :)
     
  19. connos

    connos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT
    Same here. I hope they fix it soon. DX12 crashes for me. With Vulkan I played for 6 hours with no problem.
     
  20. schoolofmonkey

    schoolofmonkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    ROG RTX2080ti Strix
    That's the same as me, while Vulkan runs well, it seems a bit more washed out that dx12, I don't know why.
    I needed vsync on as well or it would just stutter.
     

Share This Page