Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    There is a VKPIPELINECACHE file in C:\Users\(yourusername)\Documents\Rockstar Games\Red Dead Redemption 2\Settings that's about 40 Mb in size for me - maybe that contains shaders? :/
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,324
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Yep, thats the cache! try deleting it, if the crash resulted in a corrupt shader being cached it'll take the game down the moment it gets loaded.

    Theres also a possibility that nvidia is now caching vulkan shaders too, but i'm not sure on that.
     
  3. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    I'm using DX12, will see about that, thanks guys!
     
  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,324
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Vulkan seems to have higher fps, lower frametimes but higher spikes.
     

  5. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    Xbox One X looking really good damn

     
    SerotoNiN and Singleton99 like this.
  6. Kono

    Kono Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 / 8GB
    Try reset all the setting before loading. That should do the job. If not, boost into the RDR2 Safe mode, load, and play the game a bit, save, and then replay in DEFAULT setting mode. That should solve the problem. I suspect certain setting in ULTRA cause the crash.
     
  7. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Seems.... this release is a fumble for Rockstar.
    While not nearly as troubled or bad as GTA4 or LA Noire, it's definitely not up to the polish of GTA5 or Max Payne 3.

    Sad for those excited for the game.
    Really hope they get it sorted out soon, I have some friends really interested in the game. While I'm not interested, I want those that are to be able to enjoy the game.
     
    SerotoNiN and Angantyr like this.
  8. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    Going from Dx12 to Vulkan fixed the crash on game load. Think i'll stick to vulkan, i used DX12 after seeing Hilbert review, but now i'm seeing reviews and benchmark video suggesting overall better performance with vulkan.
    If on top of it it fixes the crashes it's win-win !
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,324
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    GTAV launched with launcher issues, crashing and sub 60 framerates at full settings too.
     
  10. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    Anyhow, signing off for the night. I've got an average of 92 in the benchmark now, with an i7 6700K, 16 Gb of RAM and the following settings:
     

  11. styckx

    styckx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    One thing I'm doing in this play through that I didn't do on PS4.

    TAKING MY TIME. I've put in 8hrs into the game (no crashes) so far and still on chapter 2. Lots of hunting, stat building, money whoring, and slowly opening up the map. My first play through on PS4 I blasted through the games missions and it was over before I knew it.
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  12. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    Same here except this is my first time playing ever or just seeing the game in person. I really enjoy the pace of it so far, it's a nice change of pace from something like GTA. The cinematic camera is really cool, it's nice to just enjoy the scenery while auto traveling plus allows me to smoke a cigarette and drink a beer at the same time. :D Is there anywhere in the settings to view how long you've played?
     
  13. styckx

    styckx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    In the Rockstar Game Launcher, click settings then RDR2, and it will be at the bottom as "Application runtime"
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  14. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    Damn 13hrs and 34 minutes so far, and still in chapter 2.
     
  15. Hmm I wasn't crashing pre-patch and now post patch I have crashed 4 times. On the plus side I changed a few settings from Ultra to High and I am now sitting over 60fps always, even got upto 75 at one point. And I dont see any noticeable degradation in graphics going from Ultra to High.

    Played for 12hrs! wtf, where's the time gone. I have barely explored any of the map and done anything except a few missions. Of course theres always these guys you run into who are level 60 already lol
     

  16. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    434
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,324
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    54fps is not 60.
     
  18. The Janitor

    The Janitor Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    ^ If he just turned down water physics quality I think he'd be at 60 fps
     
  19. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    434
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    keep watching
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,324
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    yes, it goes up when you stare at the ground or into the sky.
     

Share This Page