Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. TaskMaster

    TaskMaster Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    354
    GPU:
    Strix 2080TI 11gb
    Is it coming to steam?
     
  2. cerebus23

    cerebus23 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    552
    GPU:
    evga 8800gts
    ^pwned

    grizzlies in rdr 1 were great fun also :p
     
  3. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,897
    Likes Received:
    430
    GPU:
    5700XT/ 1070/ RX580
    Steam's just going to launch the R* front-end first anyways though I guess that's still better for some situations.

    As to the game. Fantastic! I'm not seeing any of the issues people are running into.
    (GTX1070, old driver / 4790K / 1080p@144hz / Ultra settings)

    Some of the issues seem to be with wildly optimistic expectations and talking about GPU conspiracies when they just need to back their settings down a bit.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
    jbscotchman likes this.
  4. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    631
    GPU:
    RTX2070 SUPER
    Interesting find on Gamers Nexus review, GTX1080Ti have noticeably better avg fps on Vulkan than on DX12.
     

  5. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    344
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    If some of you installed the game on HDD then sorry for you,get an SSD.

    For
    Stutter / Freeze Temporal Fix Red Dead Redemption 2:

    "I used Process Lasso to limit the Red Dead.exe process so that when it spikes up to 98%, it’s set to only use one less core for a second.
    This prevents all freezing for me, so far I have about 10 minutes in without one! I was getting them every 5 seconds before."

    https://www.reddit.com/r/PCRedDead/comments/ds3kk4/stutter_freeze_temporal_fix_red_dead_redemption_2

    Process Lasso:
    https://bitsum.com/
     
  6. Ghanja

    Ghanja New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Ventus
    Any differences between DX12 and Vulkan if you run a Rtx 2080?
     
  7. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    164
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    This chap appears to have got it working with Vulkan, though his afterburner overlay flickers:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/dsaq2n/sli_fix_for_red_dead_redemption_2_pc/

    And there's this, a chap saying SLI actually works with Vulkan on pre-RDR driver, though scaling wasn't great (but still better than one card non SLI):
    https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/ds1fjb/sli_fix_for_red_dead_redemption_2_on_pc/

    Doesn't sound like either are perfect yet but may be a starting point.
     
  8. urbangangsta101

    urbangangsta101 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX980 SLI
    Interesting, I've got pretty much the same specs:

    GTX1070 ROG Strix / 4770K @4.4GHz / 1080p@144Hz

    Ultra settings are too demanding for my rig.

    However I am using the latest Nvidia driver. I'm also using DirectX12 as the API and I'm only adjusting the top set of options to ULTRA and leaving the advanced stuff locked as they seem to kill the framerate more than anything. What sort of FPS are you getting? I've backed it down to the middle preset (Balanced) to get a steady 60fps and 1 or 2 of those options are 'low' on that preset. Still looks fantastic apart from the blurry AA.
     
  9. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    442
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I was playing around with the Graphics settings this morning having reached the Horseshoe Overlook camp at the start of Chapter II. Anyway, on maxed out settings at 2560x1440, including the Advanced settings (which by default is locked), but no MSAA, I was getting around 35-40 fps at this point. With the Advanced settings set back to their default and everything else set to Ultra, the framerate jumps to 55-70 fps which is a nice improvement for little to no visual difference at this point.

    To be honest, the game even at 60 fps doesn't feel noticeably more responsive than it does at 30 fps, mostly because the third-person viewed characters have a real sense of weight and momentum which most other games of this type don't. People might perceive this as being sluggish but I think it is just Rockstar aiming for realism. Anyway, the point I'm making badly is that I don't think this game really benefits at all from higher framerates for gameplay, although if you are aiming manually with a mouse then it could be a factor. I am playing the game with a controller however and the game defaults to snap auto-aiming during combat which suits me fine and makes it more enjoyable to play.

    Heading to Valentine later to test out the framerate there. I expect it will be fine as this game's performance seems to be mostly affected by volumetric lighting, particles and foliage. There is a lot more grass here than GTA V and that older game's performance was very heavily affected by setting Grass on its maximum setting, mainly due to the self-shadowing which is very demanding.
     
    LuckyNumber8 likes this.
  10. RamGuy

    RamGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
    Here's a screenshot from my game:

    https://ibb.co/9nrcdTq


    This is running 3440x1440 without resolution scaling, everything on high besides textures which is set to Ultra. No FXAA, but with TAA on High. When watching screenshots from others and watching people play on Twitch they don't seem to have the same blur as I do. Do you find my game to look overly blurry?
     

  11. haste

    haste Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    278
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 @ 2.1GHz
    ^ Hmm your Arthur is a bit out of focus :) I'd say it's either DOF or MotionBlur. You can disable MB in options. DOF changes dynamically depending on scene and what your camera focuses on. You could also try lower TAA settings. Sometimes, lower TAA uses less temporal samples resulting in sharper image during movement but worse temporal stability.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  12. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    Game needs an additional higher quality texture pack, even maxed out, the textures look questionable. I guess they looked better on console due to how far away from the TV you are when you play, but up close on a monitor many look pretty low res.
     
  13. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    Everyone on newer cards should be using Vulkan, it is a bit faster than DX12.
     
  14. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    754
    GPU:
    2080 ti @ 2100 mhz
    As someone else said, disable motion blur - but otherwise your game doesn't look more blurry than my game does.

    But i seriously dont get why the game is so demanding... it looks no better than gta 5.
     
  15. RamGuy

    RamGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
    Motion Blur is disabled, as it should be in every game! I can try with TAA on medium just to see if it behaves any better. There doesn't seem to be any control over DoF in the settings? Will any of the settings affect DoF?

    You do agree that my game is blurred, it's not just me going crazy? I have a hard time understanding how people are able to post screenshots and stream the game and not have the same amount of blur... Disabling TAA makes it go away, but then you have shimmering and aliasing like crazy so it's no real option. Still people are posting screenshots and having streams where they have less blur and no shimmering, how is that possible..
     

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,924
    Likes Received:
    442
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Looks fine to me.

    The image looks good when viewed full resolution on my work screen. Doesn't look blurry at all to me except in the distance which is just the depth of field.

    Why do people want everything to look ultra-sharp anyway? It just makes games look unnatural IMO.
     
    doktor1 likes this.
  17. RamGuy

    RamGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    nVIDIA GeForce GTX 580
    I'm picky, but that's why I pay top dollar for top hardware and expect great results.

    My problem is the amount of DoF the game is applying when enabling TAA. I'm okay with the slight blur you get on Arthur etc.. You need to sacrifice some sharpness in order to avoid aliasing and shimmering. That' the way it is. Otherwise you need to render at crazy resolutions but that is just not feasible if you want decent performance.

    TAA is doing it's job and it's working okay, but you get way too aggressive and excessive DoF effect when you have it enabled. Things just a few meteres away from you gets blurred and out of focus because of this effect and it's just not any good if you ask me. Having objects look blurred when they are just 5 meters away from you only to look crazy sharp 2 seconds later when the objects is only 1 meter away from you is just too big of a difference. The difference is just way too stark.

    And this behaviour is much better on the Xbox One X. Why is that? On the Xbox One X it seems like the DoF is affecting things that are at least 50 meters away from you. On the PC version with TAA on it seems to affect things that are 3-5 meters away from you. I suppose it's bugged, and why is there no settings to change the DoF?

    It's not this excessive do to performance. Disabling TAA and you no longer have this crazy amount of DoF kicking in even on objects that are almost next to you and the performance does not tank as a result of the DoF not adding the blur.
     
    LuckyNumber8 likes this.
  18. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    Going to c/p a post I made on another forum, but it summarizes my experiences well:

    Some remarks about the settings panel:
    • GamerNexus said in his video that the main settings slider (the one that let's you move between presets) is system-dependent. So your "slap-dash-in-the-middle-balanced" might differ from someone else's. I see a lot of people posting "I started from preset X, then put all the remaining things to Y". This might not be the same result. TBH, you should pastebin your whole config.xml to be entirely sure.
    • Changing settings in the main settings area changes settings in the "locked" area. I get the impression that for example "particles" is a preset in itself for different configurations of the advanced particle settings. Have not been able to test whether or not there is an additional effect, but they are most certainly not independent.
    Then, my findings. System: i7 6700K with slight OC, GTX 1070 TI, 16 GB RAM, Win10, RGS version of the game, latest drivers of all, of course.
    • I was spared from any launch-crashing bugs. I wish I could help the people who struggle with that. I've got no antivirus except the default Windows Defender, and my BIOS updates on my - not so recent: 2.5 yrs - motherboard are up-to date. I did not have to run the launcher or the game with admin permissions.
    • My suggested defauls (preset slider in the middle) are a weird combo of medium/high, with textures and shadows on ultra, but Anisotropic Filtering only on 4x. With this preset, I get about 64 fps average in the benchmark.
    • Haven't run through the game much, but the first snowy section (both in the benchmark and in the actual game start) is definitely more taxing than the rest.
    • Switching between Vulkan and DX12 doesn't change much for me.
    • I can only run the benchmark once, after that every new attempt loads and then just goes straight back to menu
    • To have my G-Sync monitor mod engage, I had to put in-game vsync to ON. This might be Vulkan-related, I don't know.
    • Fullscreen / Borderless didn't make much of a difference for me. Note that alt-tab and tabbing back in puts the game to borderless automatically
    I've got a new GPU (2070 super) arriving today, so I'm gonna hold off on benchmarking some more until I've got that in.
     
    Darren Hodgson likes this.
  19. Backstabak

    Backstabak Master Guru

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    223
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Rx 5700xt
    Ah, forgot to upgrade sorry for mistake. I have 5700xt, anyway it seems to work OK, but it is quite blurry now. I'll need to play a bit with TAA and sharpening to get something sensible.

    Mostly got everything to ultra and some settings on high at 1080p have about 80 fps on average, although I didn't get out of the snowy regions yet.
     
  20. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    115
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    Ultra @2560x1080 + Radeon Image Sharpening

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page