Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2021
  2. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,842
    Likes Received:
    910
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    The new driver is really good, DLSS is now a must


    Older driver DLSS becnhmark RDR2




    Latest driver
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2021
  3. MaXThReAT

    MaXThReAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    2070-SOC 2Ghz
    Grabbed the new driver. I've been playing almost nothing but RDR2 since the 13th update and I swear this driver brings more quality to DLSS.
    I threw the DLSS.dll into Control and Death stranding from RDR2 and I'm seeing the same with those two game as well.
    Might be placebo but like I said I've been doing nothing but staring at this game and I swear it looks better with this driver and for sure gained a few extra fps.
    2.2.10 dlss + 471.41 = FTW
     
    DocStr4ngelove and chispy like this.
  4. TheDigitalJedi

    TheDigitalJedi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 4090 OC
    That is great to hear. I'm going to try the 471.41. The 471.11 has been working so well for me I've been afraid to let them go lol. I have RDR2 loaded up. I'll give them a go.
     

  5. xinelo

    xinelo Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA FW3 3080
    I have same impressions, using previous driver the jaggies and movement on hair/grass was odd, it seems fine now. The gain on fps is welcome too.
    I still get very distracting brightness issues on grass when DLSS+HDR are enabled.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2021
  6. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Hi guys,

    been following the forum for years now but never had to join.

    Recently RDR2 has been crashing randomly for me with error report below:

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BEX64
    Application Name: RDR2.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.1436.25
    Application Timestamp: 60e5ed0f
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_fb61
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Offset: PCH_70_FROM_unknown+0x0000000000000000
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Data: 0000000000000008
    OS Version: 10.0.19042.2.0.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: fb61
    Additional Information 2: fb6169e4e2159d6cefef9c3ee344ff29
    Additional Information 3: beb9
    Additional Information 4: beb9903f69fbc932a061501abc1bcc07

    Extra information about the problem
    Bucket ID: 60e067e019489c6df3d25a62fcb14fbd (1428303413022642109)

    I running a 5800x with and RTX3090, and 32gb of ram.
    System is super stable, this is the only game that crashes like this.
    Sometimes the PC even restarts.

    Any idea? Or does RockStar and/or Nvidia need to fix this?

    EDIT: I run the game using Vulkan API, in DX12 I get weird random frame drops.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2021
  7. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    534
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090

    Is this the one that pops up error " FFFFFFFFFFFFF " one the dialog box?
     
  8. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    no dialog box, the game just closes.
     
  9. DocStr4ngelove

    DocStr4ngelove Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    932
    GPU:
    MSI 3080TI Ventus3X
    I fiddled around in the Nvidia settings and had no more crashes.
    Set max fps to 90
    Set max fps background applications to 90
    Disabled gsync compatibility
    Disabled vsync


    Before launching the game i then deleted these games files:

    Finally i went into R* social club and disabled all ingame notifications.
     
  10. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,028
    Likes Received:
    3,181
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Strix OC
    Dlss still looks worse - alot more jaggies and shimmering.

    4k with no dlss is alot cleaner than 8k using dlss, unless it's quality dlss, but then performance is way worse than 4k. Actually 8k with ultra performance dlss (1440p render res) performs worse than 4k, which is somewhat hilarious, and makes dlss completely redundant.

    Once again, i am unimpressed by dlss.
     

  11. AdamNortonUK

    AdamNortonUK Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG 2080 Ti
    It'll most likely be the cache files in the documents folder, these are always the cause for most issues. Either delete them and let the game create them again, or do what I do and set them to read-only so they cannot be written to anymore, I've always kept them as read only and cleared any contents inside the files with notepad before setting as read-only.

    Most of the time, the crashes tend to either be when the cache files are written to or being read by the game, the launch argument -ignorepipelinecache should be doing this and ignoring them but it doesn't seem to work, so I just decided to set them to read-only and it's eliminated most, if not all, issues I used to have with crashes to the game relating to graphics at least.
     
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,497
    Likes Received:
    5,884
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Replace ram.
     
  13. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Where is this file located? I looked in my documents, and the RDR2 file but I dont see any cache file. Or is it in the actual game directory?
     
  14. AdamNortonUK

    AdamNortonUK Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG 2080 Ti
    Inside the Settings folder of the Rockstar Games documents folder, should be sga_win32 for DirectX 12 and sga_vulkan for Vulkan, there should be up to 4 of each if you've used both APIs otherwise will just be one or or the other. These are the cache files files for the graphics.

    The other type of cache files for the game are located in AppData/Local/Temp as well, should have mentioned that too, but they are rarely anything that effects the game but they're the 'Clear Cache' support Rockstar always comes out with when there is a problem, they are named cloud_xxx.dat the xxx is a random number and there is a loads of these.

    Be warned though, a nice side effect of removing these cloud.dat will allow you to collect the Collector Role Collectible items all over again too :)
     
  15. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Great! thanks :) I have done the same as you for the sga files. Lets see if it solves the crashing for me. I will report back.
     

  16. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Game still randomly closes...I can play for over an hour without an issue then crash, or sometimes just after 5mins. It s getting pretty annoying.
    That s the only game in my library that exhibit this behavior.
     
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,497
    Likes Received:
    5,884
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    increase the pagefile, and relax your memory settings.
     
  18. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    I did a full ram test before posting here to make sure it was not my ram...cam back with zero error.

    I just tried increasing page file to 5000MB ( and I have 32gb of ram), and limit FPS to 90....was stable for a lil bit over an hour.
    Then crashed without any message or report during a cut scene. Seems to be happening only in vulkan.
    Tried to play DX12, it seems more stable but it s a micro stutter fest.
     
  19. Mobius79

    Mobius79 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Turning on vsync and tripple buffering seems to have solved the issue.
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,497
    Likes Received:
    5,884
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Memory tests are only good at finding dead cells, not weak or misconfigured (or incompatible) sticks.
     

Share This Page