Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 Suprim
    Ok yah something with the cache or existing settings files is screwed.. the ONLY way I could get it to work on DX12 again was delete the entire settings folder. Folder & all files.

    C:\Users\__USERNAME__\Documents\Rockstar Games\Red Dead Redemption 2\Settings

    Then launch the game will default to Vulkan.. the game will create all the settings files again. Set your setting back up and switch to DX12 if you prefer that. Exit the game and restart it. On changing to DX12 it reset my settings again, so had to bump everything to Ultra again.

    Finally after running through all that it's working on DX12 and Vulkan without issue!

    Edit: It appears it was the RivaTuner OSD crashing the game with DX12.. if the OSD was enabled when it was loading the game would crash. This never used to happen I dunno where to blame Rockstar or MSI Afterburner & Rivatuner on this one. :\
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
    DocStr4ngelove likes this.
  2. Smiley_ie

    Smiley_ie Master Guru

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    INNO3D RTX3090 X3
    Close Afterburner then launch it will run DX12
     
  3. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    Radeon 6900XT16 GB
    I had to reboot after the update to get it running.
     
    DocStr4ngelove likes this.
  4. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 Suprim
    Yah it was the OSD causing it.. you don't even need to close Afterburner just disable the OSD with a hotkey. Let the game load then turn the OSD back on and it works fine.
    Granted still weird on the last patch the OSD never crashed the game previously. Not sure why it would suddenly start crashing like that if the Rivatuner OSD is enabled.
     

  5. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    2,006
    GPU:
    EVGA 2060
    Is that it out now folks?
     
  6. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    531
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I get flickering with Vulkan DLSS quality so i turned it off and it was gone
     
  7. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    398
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    Played a good 3 hours in DLSS quality mode without issues, it looks a lot clearer without TAA, was surprised actually.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  8. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    531
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    here's the black flickering, the refresh rate was 60hz w/Vsync triple buffering on

     
  9. Party Poison

    Party Poison Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti
    Am I blind, I don't see any flicker ?

    Ohhhhh wait, I see it.



    Getting none of that here but I was playing the online
     
  10. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    531
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    0:45 + 4:50 in the cutscene
     

  11. DocStr4ngelove

    DocStr4ngelove Master Guru

    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    705
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super G
    So what i did was:
    - verified files
    - restarted pc
    - went into single player for 10mins
    - went into MP freeroam, then headed for Saint Denis
    - it crashed right at that moment where i got the social club popup saying: "friend xxx has gone offline".

    So maybe:
    - it's location based (around Saint Denis which is also the starting point for the blood money missions LOL)
    - it's because of Overlay popups
     
  12. PowerK

    PowerK Master Guru

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 HOF
    Their DLSS implementation is mixed bag really. You get shimmers, more temporal artifacts and more jaggies at the expense of sharper image. One isn't necessarily better than the other. Pick your poison.
     
  13. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    could be, crap i dont have a capable gpu to test if i disabled VRS thing
     
  14. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
  15. bobnewels

    bobnewels Master Guru

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <rage__fwuiSystemSettingsCollection>
      <version value="37" />
      <configSource>kSettingsConfig_Auto</configSource>
      <graphics>
        <tessellation>kSettingLevel_High</tessellation>
        <shadowQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</shadowQuality>
        <farShadowQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</farShadowQuality>
        <reflectionQuality>kSettingLevel_High</reflectionQuality>
        <mirrorQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</mirrorQuality>
        <ssao>kSettingLevel_Ultra</ssao>
        <textureQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</textureQuality>
        <particleQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</particleQuality>
        <waterQuality>kSettingLevel_Custom</waterQuality>
        <volumetricsQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</volumetricsQuality>
        <lightingQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</lightingQuality>
        <ambientLightingQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</ambientLightingQuality>
        <anisotropicFiltering value="4" />
        <dlssIndex value="2" />
        <dlssQuality value="2" />
        <taa>kSettingLevel_High</taa>
        <fxaaEnabled value="false" />
        <msaa value="0" />
        <graphicsQualityPreset value="0.500000" />
        <hdr value="true" />
        <hdrIntensity value="200" />
        <hdrPeakBrightness value="1000" />
        <hdrFilmicMode value="false" />
        <gamma value="15" />
        <hdrSettingsMigrated value="true" />
      </graphics>
      <advancedGraphics>
        <API>kSettingAPI_Vulkan</API>
        <locked value="false" />
        <asyncComputeEnabled value="false" />
        <transferQueuesEnabled value="true" />
        <shadowSoftShadows>kSettingLevel_Ultra</shadowSoftShadows>
        <motionBlur value="true" />
        <motionBlurLimit value="16.000000" />
        <particleLightingQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</particleLightingQuality>
        <waterReflectionSSR value="true" />
        <waterRefractionQuality>kSettingLevel_High</waterRefractionQuality>
        <waterReflectionQuality>kSettingLevel_High</waterReflectionQuality>
        <waterSimulationQuality value="3" />
        <waterLightingQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</waterLightingQuality>
        <furDisplayQuality>kSettingLevel_High</furDisplayQuality>
        <maxTexUpgradesPerFrame value="5" />
        <shadowGrassShadows>kSettingLevel_High</shadowGrassShadows>
        <shadowParticleShadows value="true" />
        <shadowLongShadows value="true" />
        <directionalShadowsAlpha value="false" />
        <worldHeightShadowQuality value="1.000000" />
        <directionalScreenSpaceShadowQuality value="1.000000" />
        <ambientMaskVolumesHighPrecision value="true" />
        <scatteringVolumeQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</scatteringVolumeQuality>
        <volumetricsRaymarchQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</volumetricsRaymarchQuality>
        <volumetricsLightingQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</volumetricsLightingQuality>
        <volumetricsRaymarchResolutionUnclamped value="false" />
        <terrainShadowQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</terrainShadowQuality>
        <damageModelsDisabled value="false" />
        <decalQuality>kSettingLevel_High</decalQuality>
        <ssaoFullScreenEnabled value="false" />
        <ssaoType value="0" />
        <ssdoSampleCount value="4" />
        <ssdoUseDualRadii value="false" />
        <ssdoResolution>kSettingLevel_Low</ssdoResolution>
        <ssdoTAABlendEnabled value="true" />
        <ssroSampleCount value="2" />
        <snowGlints value="true" />
        <POMQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</POMQuality>
        <probeRelightEveryFrame value="false" />
        <scalingMode>kSettingScale_Mode1o1</scalingMode>
        <reflectionMSAA value="0" />
        <lodScale value="1.000000" />
        <grassLod value="3.000000" />
        <pedLodBias value="0.000000" />
        <vehicleLodBias value="0.000000" />
        <sharpenIntensity value="1.000000" />
        <treeQuality>kSettingLevel_Ultra</treeQuality>
        <deepsurfaceQuality>kSettingLevel_High</deepsurfaceQuality>
        <treeTessellationEnabled value="false" />
      </advancedGraphics>
      <video>
        <adapterIndex value="0" />
        <outputIndex value="0" />
        <resolutionIndex value="21" />
        <screenWidth value="3840" />
        <screenHeight value="2160" />
        <resolutionIndexWindowed value="22" />
        <screenWidthWindowed value="3840" />
        <screenHeightWindowed value="2160" />
        <refreshRateIndex value="6" />
        <refreshRateNumerator value="120" />
        <refreshRateDenominator value="1" />
        <windowed value="0" />
        <vSync value="0" />
        <tripleBuffered value="true" />
        <pauseOnFocusLoss value="false" />
        <constrainMousePointer value="false" />
      </video>
      <videoCardDescription>NVIDIA NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080</videoCardDescription>
    </rage__fwuiSystemSettingsCollection>
    
     

  16. DocStr4ngelove

    DocStr4ngelove Master Guru

    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    705
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super G

    Yesj, it works! Just tried deleting the settings folder, turned off all notifications in SocialClub settings as well. Restarted pc and played the game without issues.
     
  17. AdamNortonUK

    AdamNortonUK New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG 2080 Ti
    Set all the cache files [sga_vulkan and sga_win32] that get created in [Documents/Rockstar Games/RDR2/Settings] to read-only so they cannot be written to, solves most of the issues with the game crashing!

    Before doing so though, it's it also best to open the files with notepad and clear the contents and save them as then it will be a blank file, as this will also prevent the game from reading which still may contain the bug that crashed the game.

    I've done this since the game came to PC and it's never given me any issues since!
     
  18. AdamNortonUK

    AdamNortonUK New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG 2080 Ti
  19. MaXThReAT

    MaXThReAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    94
    GPU:
    2070-SOC 2Ghz
    Well I've gone about another 10 hours in. I'm enjoying the extra performance from DLSS.
    Previously I was using custom settings @4k Almost everything maxed out with 2xAA This would net me a good 30fps.
    With DLSS at the same settings I'm seeing 50-60+.
    Of course I just maxed every setting out and now I'm using quality DLSS, keeps me back around 30fps.
    Is it as good as 2xMSAA?...No... but almost and it kinda has this quality to it. Different from MSAA.
    It's nice to max out the game settings and at a playable level now.
    No crashes yet.
     
    Maddness and DannyD like this.
  20. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    398
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    Apparently turning off TAA sharpening helps reduce the aliasing on straight edges when running DLSS, haven’t had time to try it myself.
     

Share This Page