Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,569
    Likes Received:
    3,375
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    The game is way more stressful on the gpu than anything else.
     
  2. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    LMAO you remind of one of my colleges at work. We can sit there talking for any time period and nothing happens (we're in support) but as soon as he gets up to get a coffee his phone rings. Every - god - damn - time. You can see his coffee drips everywhere in the corridor leading to the kitchen. So funny.
     
    jbscotchman and Netherwind like this.
  3. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,834
    Likes Received:
    996
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    Tell your boss to get him a headset ;)
     
    cerebus23 and DocStrangelove like this.
  4. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Dude, we're in an old German Navy building. Oldschool stuff galore. No chance.
     
    Amaze likes this.

  5. shoja

    shoja Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2080 GAMING X TRIO
    Thanks for all the helpful info! I am going to give it about another month or two before making the jump. So that everything is stabilized even further.
     
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,372
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Wonder if he noticed he was half the man he used to be :D

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Master Guru

    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    I have a problem that when changing volume or hitting mute on the keyboard in RDR2 with HDR enabled (Windows 10 1909 with latest updates, GeForce RTX 2080 Ti with 441.66 drivers) there is a black screen as if tasking out and back in for a couple of seconds as if switching resolutions/Hz (they are set to the same thing in Windows and the game, though)?
    I'd imagine it might be caused by the Windows 10 volume overlay stealing focus from the game for a moment while you change volume/mute status. Does anybody know how to fix this as it's incredibly annoying that you have to wait seconds for the picture to come back when you either mute/unmute or change the volume (especially while playing Red Dead Online)?
    Is anybody else experiencing this?

    The problem disappears once I have Windows 10 HDR and thus HDR in-game disabled. Then I can change the volume just fine without getting black screens while doing so.
    I don't have the same problem with other HDR games like Jedi Fallen Order, where changing volume doesn't cause the screen to go black.

    Any ideas what I could try to make HDR work in RDR2 without these "blackouts" when using the keyboard volume controls (a way to permanently disable the windows volume overlay, perhaps, although I have yet to find one)?
     
  8. cerebus23

    cerebus23 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    560
    GPU:
    evga 8800gts
    hdr seems to have a bunch of bugs related around it, like causing the game to CTD when you switch settings, or you switch setting fine but then starts crashing on reboot. and when your games having mass crash issues you cant work out and it takes the launcher so damn long to launch you REALLY grow to hate the rockstar launcher as a thing.

    but run the in game benchmark once you fiddle with settings and your insta CTD will now magically vanish. reinstalled dx c+ .net video audio nope benchmark.

    games got some issues need worked out.
     
  9. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,303
    Likes Received:
    1,174
    GPU:
    EVGA XCUltra 2080Ti
    note to self: complete this damn game
     
    Xtreme512, Passus and big ROBOT bill like this.
  10. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    336
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    I have many games that i need to finish

    Only problem is I can't remember half of them no more ... old age lol
     
    XenthorX and cerebus23 like this.

  11. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,372
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Hence the name of the game ;)
     
  12. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,569
    Likes Received:
    3,375
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    lol
     
    Netherwind likes this.
  13. CalinTM

    CalinTM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    MSi GTX980 GAMING 1531mhz
    There are some tweaks besides messing with the in-game settings to make the game run a little faster? Even 1-2 fps.
     
  14. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Nah. Go online & write your own story
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  15. bballfreak6

    bballfreak6 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070S OC
    So I haven't played in about a week loaded up the game just now and my pre-order fully bonded thoroughbred horse has now disappeared and instead in its place an unsaddled Tennessee Walker?! Has this ever happened to anyone before? WTF? This is in story mode.
     

  16. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    Did you buy the horse thief DLC?
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  17. bballfreak6

    bballfreak6 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070S OC
    I...have no idea haha I pre-ordered and got the free upgrade to Special Edition would that be included?
     
  18. ShadowDuke

    ShadowDuke Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 970
    I have read something about that on reddit a few weeks back!? Did you check the stable if you can choose it again as primary?
     
  19. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700 8gb
    It was a very bad joke sorry, your horse was stolen...
     
    bballfreak6 and jbscotchman like this.
  20. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,853
    Likes Received:
    2,415
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Isn't that one of the existing story mode bugs where it can just disappear ot be replaced by a different horse.

    Can't find a definitive answer though and it seems the game might even remove the horse or move it elsewhere and it can then disappear or just die like when the game is being thoughtful and moves the horse off to these rail tracks and the player comes back and maybe finds a saddle in the vicinity.

    EDIT: Forgot if there was a list or something or where I saw that mentioned, basically a collection of known problems from the XBO and PS4 versions that carried over to the PC port and have never been fixed.

    Probably the Red Dead Redemption 2 Reddit or some source like that for where I found it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2019

Share This Page