Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,885
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Isn't there some save setting in the options menu when mid mission though maybe it does the old back to last checkpoint and it just saves general character data and other progression outside of the mission itself because well it's quite heavily scripted and loading and saving could break things if not handled carefully.

    I remember a few games had that problem at least when forcing manual saving or the lovely thing Morrowind had with quicksaving too frequently not fully buffering out or completing so the result was a corrupt file.
    (RIP quick saving, well it's not quite dead yet I suppose.)


    EDIT: Well I'll just look it up, will pick up the game eventually after a few more patches and working down the existing backlog a bit as the bigger priority.

    Mods for convenience and usability should also pick up in the meantime, throwing out the RGSC and fun little script loaders in general. :D
    (Well I guess it's no longer called the Rockstar Game Social Club now since it's a full game client and digital store front.)
     
    cerebus23 likes this.
  2. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    444
    GPU:
    5700XT/ 1070/ RX580
    It works exactly like the GTA series. In a mission, you cannot save the mission progress. You complete it prior to exiting the game or start the mission again. I'm not saying it's the best way, it's just what R* has always done in these open world games.
     
    Solfaur likes this.
  3. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    866
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Ga.X
    Finally caved in and bought the game through steam. To my surprise, I literally had 0 issues with it so far (~5 hours), no launch fail, no crashes and after some tweaking with a mix of Medium/High (even some Ultra) I can say that I have a steady ~75FPS average on 1440p with a 1080Ti. It took me a while, and there's probably space for even more tweaking, but I'm happy with the result so far. I did crank most settings on Ultra at first, but imo, the visual eye candy you get vs the huge performance hit, isn't worth it.

    As for the actual game, I had little doubt that I'll love it, as I am a big Western fan, a big GTA fan, so a combination of those can only mean greatness. I can see how it is way too slow for a lot of people though, I'm not one of them, but I get it. The checkpoints/saving problem, while annoying, it's something I got so used to over the years from GTA, that it doesn't bother me that much. At least I don't have to go to bed to save, like it used to be in GTA before V, or in games like KDC.

    One question though, how exactly do I ride in formation/pace with the gang, or just other riders? Is there a particular button/buttons I need to press? Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, tapping Shift that is.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  4. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    I hold space or A on the 360 controller. Double tapping A will advance to a posititon near the leader, tapping RB will let you fall back a bit
     
    Solfaur likes this.

  5. DocStrangelove

    DocStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080 Super
    Lol really? The internet is full of self proclaimed professors who like to think they know what ppl want, yet Rockstar games sell bigtime. If this is due to "outdated" game design i would love to play more outdated games.
    Seriously that guy is just full of himself. Sorry it's true.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  6. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,075
    Likes Received:
    949
    GPU:
    1080Ti + Xtreme III
    Saving in stages adds an element of better planning/more careful play.
    Makes a game more interesting and extends play time.
    I baulk at first (feeling slightly out of my depth) but quite like it this way.
     
  7. MikeG

    MikeG Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti
    Can you get a decent increase in graphics quality with MSAA? I think it looks noticeably better at 4x MSAA. It's choppy but for the sake of the conversation I just want to know if it improves IQ a lot for other players even though the fps suffers quite a bit.
     
  8. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    51hrs in.. Just got to Chapter 4.. Have caught all but 3 Legendary Fish... The last 3 I can' catch till later in the game when Blackwater opens up.. On to Legendary Animal hunts...
     
    Grimbarian likes this.
  9. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    571
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Finally finished the mission of going into town. Can now go do what I want :) I'll probably be on Chapter 2 a while.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  10. haste

    haste Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    293
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 @ 2.1GHz
    Before anyone starts exploring I'd suggest progressing further through story missions in Chapter 2 to unlock at least Dead Eye level 2.
     

  11. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,596
    Likes Received:
    3,408
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    For me I used TAA at medium and never noticed one jaggie. I tried MSAA and not only does it take a bigger hit on performance but I also noticed way more jaggies.
     
    Solfaur likes this.
  12. MikeG

    MikeG Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti
    ^ Yes I did notice some jaggies with 2x Msaa but they were practically gone in 4x Msaa. But maybe at the time I had some sharpening going on in some shader or Nvidia control panel. Actually not sure if sharpening makes jaggies go away so I could have it backwards in that regard.
     
  13. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,093
    Likes Received:
    571
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Didn't do much of anything for me but kill my frame rate. I'm at 4K though, so don't really need it. TAA and FXAA do the job.
     
  14. Syranetic

    Syranetic Master Guru

    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    Strix RTX 3080
    I use TAA + sharpening filter. Works wonders.
     
  15. MikeG

    MikeG Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti
    I tried the Taa and Taa sharpening earlier today and my fps went from 25 to over 40 but it doesn't have the nicer contrast when I use Msaa. Like interior lighting from lanterns is better for example. It may be that the shader I'm using is giving the better contrast or something else.

    Anyway I do love 40-50 fps with the Taa & sharpening with Ultra settings. It's at 4k btw on a I7 7700 with the Nvidia card just above the 2080Ti which I can't mention by name or get laughed at for paying its price for a few extra fps in some games. I still have a 2080Ti in another pc so I can list it under my avatar.
     

  16. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,681
    Likes Received:
    281
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    I'm not going to laugh at you for using a Titan. ;)
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  17. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    866
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Ga.X
    For me, at 1440p AA wise, the best performance impact/image quality ratio is with TAA Medium, FXAA On, MSAA Off, and TAA Sharpening in the middle. It looks good (to me at least) and the performance impact is small.

    I'm still in the process of tweaking though, I'm at the point where I test whatever setting I can squeeze in to maintain the benchmark average above 70 FPS. I started at ~77 and noticed that in-game there are instances where it goes in 80s-100s (lowest was mid 50s). It's one of those scenarios where I can't decide if I want more frames or better image quality, but also taking into consideration that some of the very demanding settings don't actually offer a proportionally better image quality to warrant the huge performance hit.

    I still am inclined towards higher FPS, but not crazy high, if I can keep it at ~65-70 average with minimums in low 50s, I think I'm good.

    TL'DR, it has been a while since I've done so much tweaking with graphics settings in a game. On one hand it annoys me, but on the other it's kind of fun too... :rolleyes:
     
  18. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    FXAA with TAA? That's just blurring the blur.. TAA medium is all you need.
     
  19. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    866
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Ga.X
    Yeah for some reason it looked better to me at one point. I tried with FXAA off now and I agree, the picture is clearer. I also turned Motion Blur off.
     
  20. GarrettL

    GarrettL Member Guru

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2070S
    I just have to say I went from an AOC 1080p TN display to the 1440p Asus PG279Q IPS display.

    And the game looks even better!
     

Share This Page