Ray tracing. Whats the trick?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by vestibule, Aug 14, 2022.

1. vestibule

vestibule Master Guru

GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    Hey lads, super newbie here to the ray tracing phenomena? :confused:
    So, ray tracing is supposed to synthesise light from the real world into the cyber world.
    But in my set up menu. In addition to ray tracing we have. HDR, shadows, god rays and the likes of HBIO++++++2.
    Do I disable all out side of ray tracing?
    Is HDR, shadows, god rays and the likes of HBIO++++++2. sucking up resources un·neces·sar·ily
    AND is HDR, shadows, god rays and the likes of HBIO++++++2 complimentary to the current raytracing prowess.
    U know, like a vacuum pump to a penis, kind of thing, :confused::eek::oops::rolleyes:o_O:D.

Last edited: Aug 14, 2022
  2. ulyxon

ulyxon Member

GPU:
    1030 2GB
    Ray tracing API needs huge rewrites and optimization. The best one is in Cryengine Neon tech demo. It doesn't have all of features but is more optimized and with balanced quality.

vestibule likes this.
  3. Trunks0

Trunks0 Master Guru

GPU:
    XFX Radeon 6600XT
    Usually when you an turn on RT if there is another setting in the game that interferes, does the same thing or doesn't work with it, it will disable that feature. So no worries there.

Not all games implement RT the same way. Some times it's just a hand full of effects. RT is often used to do shadows, reflections, Global Illumination etc etc. Very few games use only RT for everything. Examples of things that do, would be Quake 2 RTX.

Best to google or look for optimized setting on per game bases as there is allot of variation.

vestibule likes this.
  4. vestibule

vestibule Master Guru

GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    I forgot about this.
    Installing now. :)

5. ulyxon

ulyxon Member

GPU:
    1030 2GB