Ravenshield Critical Error - SetRes

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Barton C++, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    I need help with this error. Came out of the blue in Vista, never had any probs (2yrs ago) in XP.

    I have several friends with same problem: Startup rvs and it's 50% risk it crashes with critical error: setres

    Driver version doesn't make changes (all 3 of us have nvidia cards...and I had ┬Ęsame probs with my 3 last nvidia cards: 8800GTS 640MB, 8800GTS 512MB, GTX260.., all in x64 Vista 4GB)

    I think all of us run x64 Vista, all 4GB RAM. XP compability and run as admin seems to help some, but still too many crashes

    Origin of problem might be the in-game menus....800x600 rez, and switches to selected [1680x1050, 1920x1200, 2048x1152, anything you selected for 3D). Always at rez switch ofcourse, never mid gaming
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  2. StealthSilver

    StealthSilver Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GeForce 8800GT 512 SLI
    Sweet. Somebody still plays Raven Shield! :D
     
  3. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Well, it's an old, outdated game, so I guess getting it to work 100% with Vista x64 could be quite a challenge, if not impossible...

    Did you play with these setting already?
    Source: http://subscribe.igngamespy.com/tomclancy/faq.shtm

    Besides: are you all using dual cores? Disabling one of the cores (or setting the affinity) seems to make it a lot more stable, also.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  4. Sailindawg

    Sailindawg Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Power Color LCS 7970
    Christ I had a helluva time trying to run Ravenshield on my last rig which was an AMD dual core rig with an 8800GT. I haven't tried with my current rig. I was getting a lot of pixel corruption and graphics ran poorly and that was on XP. I got it to run a little better by turning off multicore optimization in the nVidia User Control Panel. I tweaked a few other settings, do not use AA and the game played a bit better. Still didn't run as well as I remembered on my single core rig. I was a bit surprised by that, all that new technology and Ravenshield ran like crap on a Dx10 card! I haven't tried the Steam version.
     

  5. blurp33

    blurp33 Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti on H2O
    I've played RvS once in a while in Vista 32bits without problem (just tried a couple a minutes ago to make sure nothing changed). I make no tweaking and AA is 8x. The only problem I had was extreme stuttering with my 9800GX2 .. sold .. problem solved.
     
  6. Sailindawg

    Sailindawg Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Power Color LCS 7970
    LOL.....I'm running Windows 7 64 bit beta build 7000, nvid drivers 185.2 and just loaded RVS Six 3 and patched to 1.6. Runs sweet! My earlier comment was with an earlier vid card and my AMD X2 cpu. Running a quad and RVS runs smooth as all hell. Back to Terrrorist Hunt!
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  7. Vector

    Vector Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770 FTW 4gb w/bkplate

    It might be possible go into the Properties of the executable and change the Compatibility to Windows XP.
     

Share This Page