Rampage 5 Extreme not even posting?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by fantaskarsef, Oct 15, 2019.

  1. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,536
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Hey fellow gurus, here's my issue:

    Board runs fine, does the OC well (4.5 on my 5930K, running 2x8GB RAM at XMP 3200MHz). System is stable (as in, I did not see any major issues or crashes at all) during use, and doesn't behave differently once it's running. But...

    Last Friday I started the PC for a short time, shut it down normally. Came back home later in the evening and started up the rig, and the PC only went until it showed error code "B7" on the Qled. So...
    In the manual it's not listed (reserved for future AMI codes...), a bit of light research points to things like instability with the RAM / OC.

    But here's the thing: I press the safe boot button which loads default BIOS, and the rig still doesn't get past error code A2 (IDE detect), no post.
    When I press safe boot a second time right after, the PC boots into post and enters BIOS without issues, reads all the values and has the saved settings applied (just booted with defaults, but runs like set). When I exit the BIOS without saving the PC boots perfectly normal, starts windows, and lets me use the rig (play) without the least issues.


    So what do you say gurus, what's the culprit here?
    I could imagine that the mainboard's degrading.
    I could imagine that the BIOS might be corrupted.
    Is the BIOS battery getting weak so it isn't able to load the settings 100% afterwards?
    Is there an issue with power delivery via the PSU?
    Would it be smart to put in a little more voltage to the RAM and CPU (system agent) because the instability prevents a clean boot?

    Thanks for any comments, I'm not sure what to do. Since using the PC after it's booted via the before mentioned procedure does work 100% like I'd expect it, I don't think I need to tackle any major issues here, e.g. no new build necessary. I just want to avoid having to use safe boot button twice etc., and not risk any real issues down the road.

    edit:
    Here's what exactly happened right now before starting:

    Pressed safe boot, came into post, but NOT BIOS since it was stuck at A2 while doing so.
    Another safe boot, posted, went into BIOS, quit it right away (no changes), rig starts and runs fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  2. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Hi there

    This error B7 or 67 is usually or often related to DIM/RAM on X99/X299 and I would try reflash BIOS to newest or earlier BIOS which you are used previously

    I assume you are using XMP profiles for RAM, if yes can you try use manual settings

    Hope this helps

    Thanks, Jura
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  3. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,536
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Hey @jura11

    Thanks, that's pretty much what I figured as well. Thought about running memtest a bit too just to be sure, will do a flash to the latest BIOS (if it's not already on my board).

    Yes I'm currently using XMP, but setting the things manually isn't an issue.
     
  4. Always a good idea to re-seat memory , cards, etc when you have stuff like that.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

  5. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC
    Rats - I was hoping yours was dual BIOS it's not but it does support the following: USB UEFI BIOS Flashback® Refresh your BIOS in a flash, even when the system is off give this a try


    see if you have any toggle switches like besides the one in this photo and revert them all to the default state
    [​IMG]

    last resort another psu perhaps
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  6. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,536
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Yeah could give this a try as well, although the GPU is a little bothersome, custom loop and all :D


    That switch is for slow mode, e.g. LN2 booting. Not sure if it would help, but one can always try. I still believe it's just a "software" issue since gaming works like it does all the time, no different behavior at all from the moment the system boots into BIOS on second "safe boot".

    And I probably am a sucker, trying what I can do besides buying new hardware, more like saving it up for the next build right away, which probably will happen next year... maybe I can hold out until AMD's next offering, bring the 2080TI and 4x8GB 3200MHz CL14 along :cool:
     
  7. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC
    Safe Boot eh... Maybe BIOS having trouble loading a component in your system - have you tried component isolation? One by one remove makeup of your hardware config to see if affects BIOS booting smoothly? (I'd start with RAM modules / slots)

    EDIT: We are referring to SAFE BOOT as in the BIOS's SAFE BOOT or the Operating Systems's Safe Mode?
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2019
  8. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,536
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Yes, it's BIOS safe boot, not OS safeboot. The second I start from BIOS everything runs and boots normal, including windows itself.
    And no I haven't really had much time to invest into that this weekend. Lacking behind on "maintenance" there :(
     
  9. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC
    kk :) (well - best of luck)
     
  10. pharma

    pharma Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    212
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    It could be your bios's became corrupted.

    If everything was working fine prior to your issues I would suspect a corrupted bios. Since you have 2 bios's and if you never used the other bios, switch and see if the issue is still there but if at one point you made a backup of your primary bios the secondary bios might be corrupt as well (as was my case).

    I've had some weird issues happen like all of a sudden like the ethernet adapter became disabled every time I it ran in Windows 7, and MEI was non-existent. The only way to get the ethernet adapter to work was to Disable/Enable it manually. I also noticed I could not "restart the computer" from windows 7 but had to power off then start the computer otherwise it would just hang at error code 78 without booting. Booting also took much longer than normal when starting the computer.

    I knew it was not a Windows issue since I restored a year old working Win 7 image and the same happened. I figured my bios's were corrupt (primary and backup) and resolved this by buying a BIOS Chip ($15) for the ASUS Rampage V Extreme on Ebay (BiosDepot). Once I confirmed the ethernet adapter worked, I removed the new bios after copying the new bios metadata to the old bios's. I then flashed the old bios's with the latest 4101, read in my saved 4101 settings and currently everything is working fine.

    Edit: Did not realize this thread was pretty old! :oops:
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

  11. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,536
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Ahh thanks for replying anyway, I fixed it with flashing latest BIOS again, seems to work for now. Should get me through until the next upgrade.
     
  12. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    907
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    I had almost the same issue like you by getting a post code which was reserved for future use. My platform was x79.
    My motherboard died soon after that (1 or 2 months) because of dust which came into a tiny spot at the top side of my ram slots.
    If you got the same issue it would be sufficient to remove ram and clean the slots a bit, including the ones which usually aren't occupied.
    Probably it helps. ;)
     

Share This Page