Rainmeter plugin for MSI Afterburner

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by stangowner, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    Wow! Just what I was looking for last month, thanks!
     
  2. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    That's a really complete rainmeter job bro!
     
  3. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    Stangowner I got yours working and now I got the MSI one working one section at a time :)
     
  4. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    Finally finished it for now, you can see it's all working while I bechmarked my GPU's and CPU! Here's my Rainmeter set up now :cheers:

    http://f.cl.ly/items/112k3n171Y1C0c2f3W2Q/MSI AB Rainmeter plug in Benchmark.png

    I couldn't find how to increase the size of the background. When I added more items they extended past the transparent background square so I kept it at the default 7 rows.

    Thanks heaps for your work creating this plug in stangowner!
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014

  5. Huggi

    Huggi Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX Vega 64
    You have dual 290X's?! I AM SO JELLY RIGHT NOW... I'm still on HD 6950 Crossfire.
    In any case, about the background, not sure which skin you're using but some skins use an image file rather than having Rainmeter draw it. In cases like these, the .ini file shows the location of said image so you have to open it in something like Photoshop/GIMP and edit the size there.
    I can help you out if you point me to where I can download the skin from.
     
  6. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    hey I had a look and couldn't find any images of it in any of the folders.

    Below is the skin it's part of the Gnometer, then you add stangowner MSI plug in.
    http://dcrutgers.deviantart.com/art/MSI-Afterburner-for-Gnometer-175611672

    If you haven't changed any of the names in Afterburner you can use my one I edited, which is more suited to AMD cards :)
    You can change the info to suite yours like max GPU frequency and memory also display names.

    Took me a little while so feel free to use it as it could save you a bit of time.

    [​IMG]

    --------Copy from the next row that has info, don't copy this row... astrix-au-----------






    [Rainmeter]
    Update=1000
    Author=dcrutgers
    ; Much thanks to poiru for (Gnometer) and stangowner for (MSIAfterburner Plugin)


    ; ---------- variables ----------

    ;Metadata added by RainBrowser
    ;http://rainmeter.net/RainCMS/?q=Rainmeter101_AnatomyOfASkin

    [Metadata]
    Name=
    Config=
    Description=
    Instructions=
    Version=
    Tags=
    License=
    Variant=
    Preview=

    ;End of added Metadata

    [Variables]
    skin.Style=Horizontal
    @Include=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#SETTINGS\Variables.inc

    ; STYLES ======================================

    @Include2=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#SETTINGS\Style#skin.Style#.inc

    [sPopup]
    Hidden=0

    [sTextL]
    Hidden=0

    [sTextR]
    W=(#skin.Width#-20)
    Hidden=0
    Postfix=°C

    [sSeperator]
    Hidden=0

    ; MEASURES

    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUName]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    GPU=0
    GPUDescriptor=DisplayName
    UpdateDivider=3600


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 core clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1100


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock2]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU2 core clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1100


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 memory clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1350


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerFramerate]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Framerate
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=200


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU1Temp]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 temperature
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU2Temp]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU2 temperature
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100

    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 usage
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100


    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerCPU1Temp]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=CPU1 temperature
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100


    ; METERS

    [Line]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sLine

    [Icon]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sIcon
    ImageName=speed.png
    MouseActionCursor=1

    [Title]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTitle
    Text="MSI Afterburner"

    [Subtitle]
    Meter=STRING
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUName
    MeterStyle=sSubtitle

    [Subtitle2]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerFramerate
    StringAlign=Right
    Postfix=" FPS"
    fontsize=8
    y=2
    x=195


    [Popup]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sPopup
    H=((#h.Other#)+112)

    [Item1Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=#h.Item#
    Text="GPU1 Core Clock"


    [Item1Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock
    Postfix=" Mhz"

    [Item1Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock

    [Item2Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="GPU2 Core Clock"


    [Item2Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock2
    Postfix=" Mhz"

    [Item2Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock2

    [Item3Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="Memory Clock"

    [Item3Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock
    Postfix=" Mhz"

    [Item3Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock

    [Item4Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="R9 290x #1 Temp"

    [Item4Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU1Temp


    [Item4Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU1Temp

    [Item5Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="R9 290x #2 Temp"

    [Item5Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU2Temp


    [Item5Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPU2Temp


    [Item6Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="GPU1 Usage"

    [Item6Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage
    Postfix=%

    [Item6Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage




    [Item7Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="4770k Core#1 Temp"

    [Item7Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCPU1Temp


    [Item7Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCPU1Temp

    [Gap]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sGap
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  7. Huggi

    Huggi Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX Vega 64
    Tip: whenever you need to post RM code (or any code for that matter), use the "CODE" tags to collapse it into a small scrollbox. It's the # symbol in the reply editor or just use the [ CODE ] and [ /CODE ] tags (but without the spaces).

    As for the background, it is being drawn by Rainmeter and is not an image file. If you open MSIAfterburner.ini, there is this section:
    Code:
    [Popup]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sPopup
    H=((#h.Other#)+112)
    Just edit that "112" to whatever height you want. "h.Other" has a value of 12 btw so take that into consideration.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2014
  8. Astrix_au

    Astrix_au Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA 64 Wave
    Hey thanks Huggi!
     
  9. Huggi

    Huggi Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX Vega 64
    @Astrix_au - No worries. The author really needs to fix up his naming system though...

    Also, for anyone else reading this, please take note of what the programmer for Afterburner said in regards to CPU monitoring:
    It's post #15 in this thread.
    AMD family 10h, more popularly known as the K10 architecture, was introduced in 2007 btw. In any case, since he specifies "temperature/thermal monitoring", I'm assuming usage monitoring still works with AMD processors. Still, I don't think I've seen an AMD user post in here yet so I don't think anyone has tested thermal monitoring on AMD yet...
     
  10. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    One of the guys has tested on AMD CPU temp monitoring, and it don't works.
     

  11. Huggi

    Huggi Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX Vega 64
    Damn... I was hoping it would work for AMD as well since my RM skin currently has two different variants for CPU monitoring (split via HyperThreaded and non-HyperThreaded due to the way CoreTemp measures temperatures). Ah well, guess I'll split it into AMD and Intel now.
     
  12. CheshireSphynx

    CheshireSphynx New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
    Is this still working for anyone? I'm kind of wondering if maybe versions don't match somewhere with either Afterburner or Rainmeter. :bang:

    I've tried it with both DLLs, using both the skins and meters I'd like to use, and the original post's meter and skin to no avail. Every value comes up 0 on both the skin in the original post, and my skins for Afterburner. Afterburner works fine, (Besides not being able to check the power supply and fans, which I imagine is probably because it's a laptop.) and I'd like to use it because without a -lot- of messy code this is the only way to monitor GPU temp and usage in Rainmeter, and it's also better than Speedfan because it can measure CPU 1-8 temps instead of core 1-4.

    Help?
     
  13. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    This still works fine for me. Windows 8.1U1x64, AB 3.0.1, RM 3.1.

    This plugin does require the VC++2008 runtime libraries to be install. Rainmeter installs 2010 now I think. But I believe if installed RTSS along with AB, then that installs 2008 so you should be good.

    If you have the VC++ 2008 runtime installed, then the issue must be on your side. Are there errors for this plugin in the Rainmeter log?
     
  14. CheshireSphynx

    CheshireSphynx New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
    Well, I finally got it working with the bar meters I've opted to use, and I think the C++ 2008 may have been part of the issue- I had it, but after reinstalling and reinstalling the plugins it's working okay now. Still no luck with the original skin, but that's alright. Thanks much.
     
  15. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    You're welcome. Glad you got it going.
     

  16. dapil

    dapil Guest

    Hi,
    I just want to ask a quick question, can I pack the DLL with my Rainmeter skin pack (with credit of course) or should I tell users to download it from here?

    Thanks
     
  17. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Hi dapil,

    Sorry for the delayed reply. I just got back from a business trip to India last night.

    Yes, you can include the dll in your skin. I just ask you help promote shared tools like this by linking your skin in this thread when it is ready so others may use it as well.

    Let me know if you have further questions. Thanks for your efforts.

    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  18. dapil

    dapil Guest

    Sure, I will post it here when it's online.

    Thanks for the answer and for this awesome plugin
    dapil
     
  19. Deckard

    Deckard Master Guru

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI 2080Ti Gaming X
    Thank you Huggi, working a treat here.
    Multi gpu setup here.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. dapil

    dapil Guest

Share This Page