Rainmeter plugin for MSI Afterburner

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by stangowner, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Krzychu23

    Krzychu23 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 580 TF II/OC
    guys im using this skin: http://browse.deviantart.com/customization/skins/sysmonitor/rainmeter/?qh=&section=&q=gpu#/d3el1b7
    dll: from the first post 64bit version as i have win7 64bit
    and latest msi afterburner v. 2.2.0 beta 9
    problem is that gpu monitor doesnt read all the info for gpu, what could be the problem?
    from what i c from the creator's screenshots he gets all the info
    here is what im getting...
    http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/5117/76094754.jpg

    EDIT: ignore this post, problem solved :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  2. SoCalDJ

    SoCalDJ Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 770GTX 2GB Dual
    My old skin used to utilize Rivatuner.

    http://browse.deviantart.com/?qh=&section=&q=ultimate+system+monitor#/d30r5sl

    You still have to download the plugins but all the info needed is on the link in the notes.
     
  3. Vodkaholic

    Vodkaholic New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI
    Stangowner Ive tryed to get this to work without any luck some parts work and some don't

    [​IMG]

    as you can see only Gpu usage and gpu temp works
    I run two ati hd5700 cards this is the ini

    Code:
    [Rainmeter]
    Update=1000
    Author=dcrutgers
    ; Much thanks to poiru for (Gnometer) and stangowner for (MSIAfterburner Plugin)
    
    
    ; ---------- variables ----------
    
    ;Metadata added by RainBrowser
    ;http://rainmeter.net/RainCMS/?q=Rainmeter101_AnatomyOfASkin
    
    [Metadata]
    Name=
    Config=
    Description=
    Instructions=
    Version=
    Tags=
    License=
    Variant=
    Preview=
    
    ;End of added Metadata
    
    [Variables]
    skin.Style=Horizontal
    @Include=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#SETTINGS\Variables.inc
    
    ; STYLES ======================================
    
    @Include2=#ROOTCONFIGPATH#SETTINGS\Style#skin.Style#.inc
    
    [sPopup]
    Hidden=0
    
    [sTextL]
    Hidden=0
    
    [sTextR]
    W=(#skin.Width#-20)
    Hidden=0
    Postfix=°C
    
    [sSeperator]
    Hidden=0
    
    ; MEASURES
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUName]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    GPU=1
    GPUDescriptor=DisplayName
    UpdateDivider=3600
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUVoltage]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU voltage
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Core clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=860
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerShaderClock]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Shader clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1720
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Memory clock
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1990
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerFramerate]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Framerate
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=200
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 usage
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryUsage]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Memory usage
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=1024
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUTemp]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=GPU1 temperature
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100
    
    
    [MeasureMSIAfterburnerFanSpeed]
    Measure=Plugin
    Plugin=Plugins\MSIAfterburner.dll
    DataSource=Fan speed
    MinValue=0
    MaxValue=100
    
    
    ; METERS
    
    [Line]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sLine
    
    [Icon]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sIcon
    ImageName=speed.png
    MouseActionCursor=1
    
    [Title]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTitle
    Text="MSI Afterburner"
    
    [Subtitle]
    Meter=STRING
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUName
    MeterStyle=sSubtitle
    
    [Subtitle2]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerFramerate
    StringAlign=Right
    Postfix=" FPS"
    fontsize=8
    y=2
    x=195
    
    
    [Popup]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sPopup
    H=((#h.Other#)+112)
    
    [Item1Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=#h.Item#
    Text="Core Clock"
    
    
    [Item1Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock
    Postfix=" Mhz"
    
    [Item1Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerCoreClock
    
    [Item2Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="Shader Clock"
    
    
    [Item2Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerShaderClock
    Postfix=" Mhz"
    
    [Item2Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerShaderClock
    
    [Item3Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="Memory Clock"
    
    [Item3Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock
    Postfix=" Mhz"
    
    [Item3Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryClock
    
    [Item4Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="GPU Usage"
    
    [Item4Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage
    Postfix=%
    
    [Item4Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage
    
    [Item5Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="Memory Usage"
    
    [Item5Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryUsage
    Postfix=" MB"
    
    [Item5Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerMemoryUsage
    
    [Item6Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="GPU Temp"
    
    [Item6Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUTemp
    
    
    [Item6Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUTemp
    
    
    [Item7Label]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextL
    Y=5r
    Text="Fan Speed"
    
    [Item7Value]
    Meter=STRING
    MeterStyle=sTextR
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerFanSpeed
    Postfix=%
    
    [Item7Bar]
    Meter=BAR
    MeterStyle=sSeperator
    MeasureName=MeasureMSIAfterburnerFanSpeed
    
    [Gap]
    Meter=IMAGE
    MeterStyle=sGap
    
    
    I changed the

    GPU=0 to GPU=1

    any ideas why the rest is not working ?
    Thanks
     
  4. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC

  5. Vodkaholic

    Vodkaholic New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI
  6. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    You are showing the core clock, memory clock, gpu usage, fan speed and the text description headers in my skin in addition to the temp that you were getting before.

    The only things you are missing is voltage, framerate, memory usage and PCB temp. So you have either not enabled these in Afterburner or your cards do not support them. Everything appears fine to me.
     
  7. Vodkaholic

    Vodkaholic New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI
    Any ideas how I can find out if I have them enabled or if my card supports them?

    edit. Ok I have FPS working now and the others are also ticked but not showing, Does that mean my card does not support them?

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  8. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Yes, if you've enabled them in the monitoring settings and are still getting nothing then your cards must not support them. One exception is voltage which also needs to be enabled on the general tab. Please the tooltip before deciding to enable this. And again, it will only work if your cards support it.
     
  9. Vodkaholic

    Vodkaholic New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI
    Thanks stangowner :)
     
  10. dhaider

    dhaider New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor HD7950
    Is there a Core clock max?

    Using the plugin and like it, thanks.
    Are there any other values that can be used? What I'm after is the GPU Clock max, rather than the current value. E.g. my core clock shows 500mhz, but on usage it will max out at 880 or 1000 depending if I have it overclocked or not. I would like to be able to tell at a glance whick mode I'm in. The alternative would be for me to be able to read what afterburner profile is activated. Are either of these available?

    Thanks
     

  11. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Nope, sorry, you can't get the max values or current profile with this.
     
  12. Plug2k

    Plug2k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    [​IMG]

    been working on mine, managed to get my GPUS working correctly as i run crossfire :D
     
  13. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Looks great, thanks for sharing!
     
  14. PantherX

    PantherX Folding@Home Team Leader Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Click to view the full image (1680*1050)
    [​IMG]
    Download
    I was recently introduced to Rainmeter and really love it. I decided to combine skins from different suites and tweaked them into a single suite. Hope you like it as this is my first attempt :)


    Additional Applications:
    Below is the list of applications that are needed to ensure that all components of the skin work properly. Do note that if any application is not installed, the skin will have missing data but will not cause any issues or system instabilities.

    Core Temp (http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/)
    MSI Afterburner (http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm) for Nvidia/AMD GPUs
    SpeedFan (http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php) On Windows 8, select compatibility for Windows 7 for installation (http://www.forumswindows8.com/tutorials/windows-8-compatibility-mode-5264.htm)


    Instructions:
    Manual tweaking for some of the skins are required due to the unique configuration of each system. Please note that I have marked those sections clearly and provided instructions where necessary. For further information, please read the easy-to-understand Rainmeter guide (http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/getting-started). I might be able to provide some help if possible, however, Google seems to know the answer to almost all questions if asked nicely ;)


    Skins Available:
    Below is the list of available skins

    Application
    - 10 customizable shortcuts
    - Left click central orb to hide/show shortcuts
    - Middle click central orb to load/unload skins layout
    NOTE: Once you have loaded all the required skins, you must save the new layout with the name "Blue Overview" which will overwrite the default layout (which has the same name) and you will have your desktop layout permanently saved http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/user-interface/manage#LayoutsTab

    Battery
    - When charging, shows the charge level as percentage
    - When running on battery, shows the time remaining

    CPU
    - Shows total CPU usage as percentage and graph
    - Shows CPU Model (Core Temp required)
    - Shows current CPU speed (Core Temp required)
    - Shows maximum temperature (Core Temp required)
    - Shows top 3 process name and values

    GPU
    - Shows core frequency (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows driver version installed (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows fan speed as percentage (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows GPU model (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows GPU temperature (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows GPU usage as percentage and graph (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows memory frequency (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows PCB temperature (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows shader frequency (MSIAfterBurner required)
    - Shows used VRAM as value and bar graph (MSIAfterBurner required)

    Storage (HDD/SSD)
    - Auto hides when drive is not present (for removable drives)
    - Shows the drive letter and name
    - Shows the free, used and total capacities as percentages and values of the HDD/SSD
    - Shows the temperature of the HDD/SSD (Speedfan required)
    - Shows the transfer rate as values and graph

    Storage (USB/RAMDisk)
    - Auto hides when drive is not present (for removable drives)
    - Shows the drive letter and name
    - Shows the free, used and total capacities as percentages and values of the HDD/SSD
    - Shows the transfer rate as values and graph

    Storage (ODD)
    - Auto hides when drive is empty
    - Shows the drive letter and name

    Media Player
    - Auto hides when media player is closed
    - Provides some control of the configured media player
    - Shows the title, artist and album of the currently playing track

    Network
    - Shows the total upload and download stats
    - Shows the upload and download rates

    Power Panel
    - Hidden by default to prevent accidental clicks
    - Shows the uptime
    - Support for shutdown, restart, hibernate, logoff, lock and sleep

    RAM
    - Shows the free and used as percentages and actual values
    - Contains an editable line of text which can be used to display the RAM model information
    - Shows top 2 process names and values
    - Shows total RAM

    Recycle bin
    - Shows the total number of items
    - Shows the total size

    Time Zone
    - Shows the day and date of the time zone configured


    Special Thanks & Credits:
    Below are the list of authors who have helped me and/or whose work I have used:

    g3xter: For giving me permission to mod his skin, for the prompt and kind email replies and creating the wonderful icons for SSD, USB, ODD, RAMDisk http://fav.me/d2oqh0a
    Aroche: For giving me permission to use the recycle bin icon http://fav.me/dwj067
    ch_rob @ Rainmeter Forum: For allowing me to use his TopProcess plugin http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/82306
    DigitalDJ @ Rainmeter Forum: For allowing me to use his TopProcess plugin http://customize.org/rainmeter/skins/82306
    Kaelri: For helping me with some of the coding
    Mordasius: For helping me with some of the coding
    Newmanhyde: For making a wonderful battery skin http://fav.me/d4v9b2i
    Seclipse: For giving me permission to mod his skin http://fav.me/d31bebt
    Stangowner: For giving me permission to mod his skin and allowing me to use the MSI Afterburner plugin http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3535490&postcount=1
    UrulokiBurning: For making the wonderful Mass Effect skin http://fav.me/d4d3wtm
    Zeek-Aran: For making the wonderful Mass Effect skin http://fav.me/d4hwsk0
    z-design: For making the tech brushes http://fav.me/d1pre4n
    And last but not the least, the wonderful people here at Rainmeter Forum for guiding me.


    Note: Feedback and suggestions are welcomed. Moreover, please inform me if you use my work/part of it anywhere else :)
     
  15. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Nice work on the skin! It all came together very nicely. Very well done for a 'first attempt'. Thanks for sharing! I hope other users will like it as well.

    - Nick
     

  16. Celrond

    Celrond Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found this thread while trying to get ForceX skin for Rainmeter to read the GPU Temps from Afterburner instead of Speedfan.

    [​IMG]

    Getting it to read the CPU temp from CoreTemp was no problem at all but I cant get the GPU temp to work with Afterburner.

    I do have the Afterburner plugin in Rainmeter.
     
  17. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Looks like you have 2 issues.
    1 - The DataSource for [MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage] looks invalid. It should be the exact name as in Afterburner, or the ID. See this post and this post for instructions, or copy it from the sample skin.
    2 - The MeasureName for [GPU1_Temp_Bar] and [GPU1_Temp_Text] is not right. It should be set to the measure - MeasureMSIAfterburnerGPUUsage.

    - Nick
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  18. Celrond

    Celrond Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You for responding!

    Like this?

    [​IMG]

    Except it's still saying %1 instead of the actual temperature.

    Honestly I'm just randomly guessing here because I have no clue what I'm doing, lol! I figured if I could get the CPU Temp to read from another plugin, the GPU Temp shouldn't be so hard. I guess I was wrong.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  19. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    No, when I said the DataSource for the measure was invalid, I meant correct the value you were providing it, not remove it entirely. You need to put that back in. Did you look at the sample skin provided?

    The meters look better.
     
  20. Celrond

    Celrond Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I did check out those posts. Dunno why I'm having such a hard time with this. I'll play around with some more, I'm bound to get it right at some point.

    Ooof! Now one of the other skins I had downloaded previously that did show the correct info from Afterburner suddenly quit working. And I wasn't even editing it, I was just using it as a 'template. I think I'm just gonna stick with whatever stock skins, without editing anything. I seem to be breaking more than accomplishing. :bang:
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013

Share This Page