RadeonPro BETA (Automating 3D Settings) #2

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sekta

    sekta Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    That sounds better than AMD APP and Nvidia ShadowPlay. Or does it use these? I hope it records SweetFX.
     
  2. japamd

    japamd Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970Ghz
    hahahaha, I was going to post it here but you beat me to the punch :D

    Quite awesome, isn't it? Here's some performance figures at current optimization stage for recording at 60 FPS/1080p full frame/50 Mbps target bitrate. The performance drop at 30 FPS is a bit lower.

    DX9 games: 1~5%
    DX10+ games: 0~5%

    Those are numbers from several automated benchmarks (Thief, Bioshock Infinite, Street Figther IV, Resident Evil 6, Tomb Raider, Hitman Absolution etc.), in practice - while gaming - the hit is almost unnoticeable thanks to AFbC (Advanced Framebuffer Capture), a new technique developed for RadeonPro infinity to extremely reduce the performance hit seen in previous RadeonPro builds and some game capture softwares as well.

    I've uploaded a Street Fighter IV benchmark video on Youtube showcasing AFbC:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVBx7G3DvC4

    A comparison between a normal benchmark run and another run recorded by RadeonPro results in a performance loss of just 2%. F1 2013 internal benchmark shows no drop in performance at all, in fact the result while recording the benchmark was 1 FPS higher - inside the error margin.

    AFbC actually looks a lot like NVIDIA's framebuffer grab + encode. Obviously they're completely different techniques but the result is quite good for RadeonPro as it is for NV cards/Shadowplay. And yes, SweetFX is recorded, you just need to configure RadeonPro to keep post-processing/OSD (if visible) in captured screenshots/videos.
     
  3. japamd

    japamd Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970Ghz
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  4. dox_aus

    dox_aus Master Guru

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi 290 Gaming CF
    Shaping up nicely (vid worked fine btw)

    It looks like you have a work around for broken gpu usage on the 290 series?
     

  5. lycanwrath

    lycanwrath Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    AMD RX480 8GB ref
    Looking nice :)
    And it seems we will be able to compress the audio on the go as well :)

    Wondering if we will have the ability to get audio from 2 different sources? (i.e. sound channel + mic channel)
     
  6. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    -
    Oh, that sounds like I will theoretically not need Dxtory anymore.
     
  7. xacid0

    xacid0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti AMP! Omega
  8. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Am always ahead of RP development haaa :banana: More and more I see the more I can't wait for this JapAMD.

    Superb work mate.
     
  9. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,836
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    @japamd, how u do des.

    Fantastic news. Guessing this reduced overhead is limited to 1080p based on AMD's encoder? Or will the same apply to 1440p and above?

    Oh and what about >60FPS recording?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
  10. onemoar

    onemoar Master Guru

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1060SC @2250/4550
    400MB for 1Min of video ?
    what at that size you might as well use uncompressed raw video
     

  11. japamd

    japamd Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970Ghz
    Cool :)

    As suggested by Alex, RP is now using D3DKMT performance counters. I found it to be as precise as the default ADL GPU usage (when it works)

    Yes, audio is encoded as AAC up to 192 Kbps. Currently it's not possible to record more than an audio channel (into separated streams) due to container restrictions.

    :D

    VCE accepts up to 1920x1080 so bigger resolutions will be resized down to 1080p or at size requested by the user.

    >60 FPS recording won't be possible.

    At 1920x1080, an uncompressed/raw NV12 video recorded at 60 FPS would result in about 180 MB/second or ~10.5 GB/min. A raw RGB32 would be about 2.6x times larger than raw NV12.
     
  12. plywood99

    plywood99 Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64 Liquid Cool
    Woooo, very nice to see the progress Japamd. :)
     
  13. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    Is this a hardware limitation or a driver thing?
    I'm running a 1440p setup myself but I'd be more than happy to put up 1080p videos just to have a smooth recording process :)

    Thanks for your work!
     
  14. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    VCE Hardware limit.
    Anyways, good to hear about this news. :)
     
  15. Makurth

    Makurth Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GALAX - GTX 970 EXOC
    @japamd

    Thanks a lot for your work!!!

    I've just discovered this app (Radeon Pro). This weekend I'll give a try.

    Any advice or "recomended game" for testing?

    Thanks again.
     

  16. Scarecrow7

    Scarecrow7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS R9 280X / 3GB
  17. Octopuss

    Octopuss Master Guru

    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    -
    Eh, I was really hoping RadeonPro would eventually replace CCC for me - if it ever gets released (I don't use beta/whatever versions of stuff anymore). Well I guess that question was just answered :(
     
  18. shankly1985

    shankly1985 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    @japamd
    The news about radeonpro development been put on hold and you joining raptr. First congratulations on taking your work to the next level while am also very sad to see rp 2.0 cancelled.
    Will we see radeonprro features added to raptr that would be nice.
     
  19. Scarecrow7

    Scarecrow7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS R9 280X / 3GB
    As far I understood, RadeonPRO Infinity was not "cancelled", just delayed until further notice. At least is what I hope for, lol
     
  20. Parsnip

    Parsnip Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 2GB OC 2.0
    To be honest, that news is a little disappointing as a fan of RadeonPro. I guess as long as the current version works I shouldn't get too upset.

    Best of luck though, maybe you can make the Raptr client better than what they are capable of doing right now. With each update Raptr has becomes more of a bloated piece of bull that they need all the help it can get.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page