Radeon VGA + Geforce Physx works on XP but not on Vista

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by janos666, Aug 15, 2008.

  1. Wes Barfog

    Wes Barfog Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    680 GTX
    I found the answer :

    Monitor 2, on 8800 Gts need to be activated ... Dual screen must be activated
    More than 4200 o3mark, that's fun :D
     
  2. Robschina

    Robschina Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gtx 1080 sli
    This might sound absolutely insane but would it be possible to run a 4870x2 as the main graffics card and a gtx280 as the physics card? I ask this because I just switched to the 4870x2 and still have the gtx280 that I am planning on selling...I am running the 4870x2 on my 780i motherboard so crossfire is not an option. So what do you guys think? And which pci-e slot should I put the gtx280 card in...the one furthest away from the first card or the slot right below the first card? Thanks
     
  3. c[00]LsPoT!

    c[00]LsPoT! New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS ATI Radeon 2900XT 1GB
    @ Robschina

    This should be working. But it only works on Windows XP! NOT ON VISTA!!!
    I think you have to put the 4870 X2 in the primary PCIE-slot and the 280 in the second or third slot...

    c[00]LsPoT!
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2008
  4. king-dubs

    king-dubs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    TITAN X (Pascal) + X34
    That sounds awesome :)
    I might grab a cheap 9600 GSO or something to run as a PhysX card.

    I'm still running XP... I probably will NOT downgrade to Vista in the future. I'm running XP x64 SP2 for my 4 GB RAM :D
     

  5. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    I won't go back to XP x64. I have some bad memories from the time of first x86_64 CPUs. And I could buy a GTX-260 if I would not have any DX 10.1 so I am waiting for a new x64 build of Windows 7 and I will buy the best short VGA. (I would keep with my old chassis and keep my HDDs in their place so I need a VGA which is shorter then 18.5cm, like a 8600GTS, maybe a custom 8800/9600 with shorter PCB...)
     
  6. Lluis

    Lluis New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 8800GTPhysx
    I've tried this with a Sapphire 4870 and a MSI 8800GT for physx but, after installing drivers the pc reboots and when windows is starting the blue screen appears and reboots the pc again. I use Windows XP X64.
     
  7. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb

    You need XP x86, Vienna x86, or Vienna x64 to be able to use different cards. XP_x64 is the same **** what Vista is (more restrictions and more driver issues then with the old XP x86 or beta builds from 2008).
     
  8. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    Ohh. Hardspeel.com made an article about this Radeon_VGA + Geforce_Physx combo today. Of course, they did not say who was the original source of this idea. :)
    I know, they could invent it themselfs, but I posted the idea with screenshots on various forums some weeks ago. So they only re-invented some existing stuff.
    Should I let them know how they can run some Vantage tests? :)
     
  9. Lluis

    Lluis New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 8800GTPhysx
    Thanks Janos I've installed the 32bits version and it works really well
     
  10. Demagog

    Demagog New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon / HD4870 / 512MB
    Anyone got an idea for making it work under vista?
     

  11. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    GTX 260 oem 1792MB
    Kidnap Bill Gates and ransom some support for drivers.???
     
  12. bakalu

    bakalu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for you help. Here's my result

    Mainboard Asus Rampage Extreme chipset X48
    Ram 2x1GB DDR3 Corsair
    CPU Xeon 45nm X3320 2.5GHz 6MB Cache L2
    VGA Single Asus HD 4870 @ 880/1150 with stock fan
    VGA PhysX Asus 9800 GTX TOP


    [​IMG]
     
  13. japamd

    japamd Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970Ghz
    Nice! The workaround works on Vista 64 SP1?

    Did you ran Vantage on Vista 64 using hardware PhysX?
     
  14. ottoyu34

    ottoyu34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX480 2-way SLI
    @bakalu

    Thats is a crazy cpu score on vantage.
     
  15. jho9001

    jho9001 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys , I just bought an ATi 4870x2 and I was willing to give a shot to the workaround posted by Janos666 . But I've got major problems: first of all , when I have both the new ATI and the old 8800gtx plugged in , only the 8800 seems to produce a video output ( I've got a 850w Toughpower so it must be enough ) . I've tried to switch the two slots but the 8800 is always the only video that sends a signal to my monitor. And the second problem is that even in windows I can't seem to choose the "Primary display adapter" . In the screen properties I've got only the 8800 listed, is there anyway to fix this? Or maybe I'am not getting in the right menu? Is there a way to have the 4870 give an output instead of 8800? Sorry for all the questions :nerd:. Thx in advance
     

  16. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I have an X1950XT sitting in a box on my shelf. Would it be possible to use this as a Physx card and have my 8800GTX as a primary card? Using XP 32bit
     
  17. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,691
    Likes Received:
    417
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    No and never will be since X1950 XT can not support CUDA.
     
  18. LuxZg

    LuxZg Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD4890
    Windows 7 beta1

    Hi everyone!

    Sorry for picking out this ancient thread, but I had it saved in my favourites for this occasion :)
    Windows 7 Beta 1 is out, and pretty soon we can expect RC1 as well (in a couple of months as it seems). So - has anyone tried the above trick on Beta1, some of the newer cards (like ATi HD4870 1GB + nVidia GF 9500/9600GT/GSO) and new Physx/Catalyst drivers?
    EDIT:
    Or maybe even nVidia PCI or PCIe x1 cards like these?
    http://www.sparkle.com.tw/product.asp?id=94
    http://www.sparkle.com.tw/product.asp?id=65

    I'd just like to know before thinking about investing into something like this, even though investment probably won't happen soon (as there are still no games worth the extra $$, but anyway)..

    If this still works on Beta1 with new cards and drivers, than we can assume it will work in final Windows 7 as well - and that's what I'm aiming at.
    EDIT: Perfect solution for everyone would probably be the VGA of their own choice for graphics and secondary low-end PCI or PCIe x1 card for physx - so you can do it on any motherboard, and with any card as a primary card.

    Thanks for bearing with me :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  19. Ellisdee

    Ellisdee Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x4870x2 1x8800 Ultra
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  20. LuxZg

    LuxZg Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD4890
    Well, if RC1 is close, it will be on my machine the same weekend, card or no card. But I hope that more people will succeed in activating Physx in Radeon+GeForce combination..
     

Share This Page