Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 17.10.3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Rambo, Oct 28, 2017.

  1. Meccs

    Meccs Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
    Getting a lot of "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered." Never had this before.
     
  2. GeRmAnOs

    GeRmAnOs Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    StriX Vega64
    Looks like this driver is only for fall creators update!!
    Quote from amd reddit:

    1) Exactly the same issue on RX480 with both 17.10.2 and 17.10.3. Looks like they've just modified the drivers for Fall Creators update and "forgot" about previous builds of Win10 :\ Bravo, AMD! I wonder if by saying "support for the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update" they actually meant "will work only on Windows 10 (Fall) Creators Update"
    2) I updated to Creators and it seemed to have fixed it. I will continue testing it.
     
  3. TUMIK

    TUMIK Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    RX470
    yeah you need update to last version windows .
     
  4. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    I think the newer wattman could have bugs with certain polaris cards....you could try a clean driver install with never opening wattman and only using afterburner to set clocks. Im only testing Wolf2 at the moment but i have had several of the same driver crashes....Im going to try a fresh driver install with never open wattman and see if that goes any better. My guess is its screws up the voltages and what not but trying to dick around with all your cards default settings. I know i had this issue before on other drivers and never opening wattman usually 99% fixed it. Its like everything from 17.7 on up has wattman issues on mine.
     
    AlleyViper likes this.

  5. Meccs

    Meccs Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
    That is what I did before and still had the amdkmdap problem. Also sometimes after watching Youtube and Twitch the GPU usage jumps to 100% and never goes down again, even when I close everything. This also never happened before... not sure what is going on but I will revert back to a previous driver and see how it goes.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
  6. niczerus

    niczerus Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GamingX 580 4GB
    I have a few restart with this driver , i dont see this kind of problems on years .
     
  7. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    What sucks balls is i really needed this dam driver for Wolf2....Guess i might as well revert back to a "stable" 17.7 driver and just take the performance hit. AMD is creating future nvidia buyers with these crap drivers for a card still selling in there channel. God i miss he days of the practically perfect 280x/7970 for years!
     
  8. mtdew332

    mtdew332 Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390x
    You only need Vulcan drivers updated for Wolf2.....Im running the 17.1.2 drivers with updated Vulcan drivers for Wolf2.
     
    primetime^ likes this.
  9. Keff91

    Keff91 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro R9 390
    So far so good for this driver.. Im using 17.10.3 for since it's released. Overwatch no crash , evil within 2 ok so far (but weird I use the low setting it just reach max 40-50 fps in openworld area, no difference set to ultra, getting the same fps)
     
  10. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    So how i go about this? DDU then Install last known perfect driver and after update the vulkan part of 17.10.3 only when doing the driver update?
     

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Good performance. As always.

    But the amount of baby sitting and well... praying that the Crimson needs is annoying as hell:

    Example 1) From time to time Wattman simply ignores my Voltage settings and sets them to... whatever.
    2) Refresh rate at which the game starts (Wolfenstein Colossus), same as above, is anyones guess. And If I pray real hard, I get the higher one.
     
  12. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    [​IMG]

    Why the hell is my GPU clocks running at 1485mhz? For fucks sake no wonder the driver keeps crashing. I try changing the clocks to default? under clocking, Dynamic, its like it runs a what ever it wants to. I clocsed afterburner to see if it was doing it, and it didnt matter. I think AMD's driver team needs to get there crap together.

    And running an older driver is out of the question since the game wont even start up without 17.10.2 or newer
     
  13. mtdew332

    mtdew332 Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390x
    1: YES... DDU all drivers.
    2: Install the drivers you want. (the "good" ones)(SEE NOTE below!)
    3: Extract the 17.10.3 drivers
    4: In the extracted 17.10.3 drivers look in Packages / APPS / VulcanRT64 / VulcanRT folder and install using the VulkanRT.exe file.

    To be honest, this isnt how i did it, I copy/pasted the vulcan files manually, but this method should work and be the easiest for you....my method would take way too long to type out instructions....LOL

    note: I also copied the following files from the 17.10.3 drivers into my 17.1.2 drivers before i re-installed my 17.1.2 drivers after DDU...(im not sure this is needed but it did it anyway)
    amdvlk32.dll , amdvlk64.dll , amd-vulkan32.json , amd-vulkan64.json
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
  14. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,843
    Likes Received:
    5,930
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Infraction added to your account. You're on English written forums, talk in English, please.
     
  15. AlleyViper

    AlleyViper Master Guru

    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    2070S Stx A/RX480 X
    The image isn't showing on your post.
     

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,162
    Likes Received:
    2,195
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Anyone Playing Forza H3 on these?
    Is it OK? Short Loadings and good performance?

    upd.
    Back to 17.9.3 whql ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017
  17. Framani

    Framani Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 8G
    Does anybody have frequent crashes with wallpaper engine when the screen returns from stand by? I have a sapphire nitro+ RX 470 8GB (if it's needed).
     
  18. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    Believe it or not (Xeon x3230, LGA 775) and my 4 GB DDR2/ASUS 2GB OC 7790 all combined (well obviously, duh lol) play new Wolf on all maxed settings 1080p but video quality set to one below Ultra and it is playable and not shabby by any means! I can't tell framerates yet because Fraps won't overlay it and I was too tired to run MSI and see. Gonna play later today with it. I watched all the intro crap. It's cool!

    I originally changed from 32 bit 7 SP1 to 64 for the previous iterations of the game. That's what finally caused me to bite the bullet. I didn't beat them yet and play a little at a time here and there, but I beat the one before last 2 games' gen on max hardness a million times lol.
     
  19. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    ok no idea why it wasnt...but my gpu clocks were running at 1485mhz while playing wolf2....no where in the amd wattman or afterburner was it set to overclock that high. AMD wattman was for some reason boosting clocks to 1485 and i still have no idea why. It would explain why my card is so dam unstable in at least certain situations.
     
  20. AlleyViper

    AlleyViper Master Guru

    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    2070S Stx A/RX480 X
    Could you please try to DDU, install the driver and never accept the Wattman EULA, and then rely only on AB (btw, final 4.4.0 is out) to set your clocks and then confirm if the problem remains? Just to exclude a problem with wattman doing stuff on his own.
     

Share This Page