Radeon Software Crimson ReLive Edition 16.12.1 Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by mtrai, Dec 8, 2016.

  1. BoMbY

    BoMbY Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X
    Installed it yesterday, but didn't do much yet.

    What I noticed:

    The new installer needs a lot of work.

    1. Language is stuck to system install language, not the current language setting, and can't be changed. (I installed Windows 10 on German, but I also installed the English language pack, and set this to be the default, but the Radeon Installer is still and only using German).

    2. The new Installer didn't manage to put Radeon Settings into auto start.

    3. The interface is very confusing, and doesn't abide to any common installer logic.
     
  2. Mere

    Mere Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    amd fury 3840 1100/500
    I've just tested OBS with a new updated AMD plugin and I didn't have any freezes in Dishonored 2 recording at 1920x1200 60 fps ( Indistinguishable preset).

    So, I guess there is something wrong with Relive.. But still, it's never a good idea to record a game using AMD GPU when almost all its VRAM gets used.
     
  3. Rambo

    Rambo Master Guru

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    RX 560 w8 4 Vega 56
    What about Async Compute with GCN 1.0? Is working or not? I heard they removed that feature.
     
  4. vidard2k

    vidard2k New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX 460 OC 4GB
    A new BUG of the Crimson ReLive Edition 16.12.1 driver is a white screen and windows (7 64bit) not responding when browsing internet on Google Chrome v54 (64bit). So the system must be hard reset. Happened few times already.
    Edit:
    So the crashes are not only happening on Firefox.
     

  5. Paulo Narciso

    Paulo Narciso Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    Exactly my experience. As long as the refresh is 144hz there´s no flicker, but 1440p vsr drops down refresh to 100hz, and when exiting the game the refresh must go back to 144hz. The problem is, memory clocks don´t get fixed to the highest value and fluctuate, causing the flicker.

    Like I said. I reinstalled the driver from scratch and haven't touched on memory clocks on primary card. In that case vram clock never goes down even when running games with vsr.
     
  6. prazola

    prazola Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
    How to set manual voltages in wattman?
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2016
  7. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    261
    GPU:
    .
    It's broken on my system. With broken I mean: zero or very small performance improvement with synchronization issues (stuttering) OR (logical OR) +100% frame time, depending on the context. So it looks not completely disabled, but the driver are screwed. I am not using any game to test but ad hoc code that should runs better with "async-compute" enable and correctly working, this to assure there are no strange feature selectors like actual games do.
     
  8. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,488
    Likes Received:
    1,933
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    You dont have to worry about that. You card is 1.2.
     
  9. THEAST

    THEAST Master Guru

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    HD7950 + HD7970 CF
    Of course, that is because Chill doesn't support 3DMark (it only supports 18 specific games) and testing with or without Chill doesn't make any difference.


    Why am I not surprised...

    Judging by all the stability issues people are reporting, especially with MSI AB, I guess will skip this driver.
     
  10. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Yeah lol was a minor thing I forgot and overlooked but thanks for the reminder. Since then moved onto the bigger issues the 290/390 and wattman and 150 memory locks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2016

  11. A2Razor

    A2Razor Master Guru

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Vega FE Liquid
    I can definitely understand the Afterburner behaviors as ADL looks pretty broken right now.

    Default performance levels being read by the 5 & 6 API fails on my Fury w/ Win7 and 8.1 (don't know about Win10 or other cards), whereas reading of "current" states still works. OD7 doesn't seem effected.


    -As you may have guessed this is ClockBlocker's issue as well.
     
  12. Vinnie

    Vinnie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,689
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290X
    Anyone? :)
     
  13. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    903
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 590
    Vinnie i have tried and tested this for you since we both using the same video cards and i cannot underclock the memory using wattman , it is not possible , and msi afterburner is broken with this driver :/ , maybe try Strixx or Asus GPU Tweak and report back your findings. I hope this helps.
     
  14. Rambo

    Rambo Master Guru

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    RX 560 w8 4 Vega 56
    Geez, dude, I know what I have in my case :banana: I'm just worrying about older cards owners.

    Thanks
     
  15. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I'm getting constant black screens when I use wattman or msi afterburner to overclock my R9 390. I have tried OC with just one or the other. And I always get a black screen. The PC doesn't crash, the screen just goes black.
    I have uninstalled, cleaned with DDU and reinstalled several times, to no avail.
    These drivers are just broken.

    Since these drivers don't seem to bring performance improvements over the 16.11.5, and I don't care about the new Chill and Relive features, I just quit removed these 16.12.1

    For my experience, it has been many years since AMD has released a set of drivers this bad.
     

  16. herpaderpa

    herpaderpa Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD
    yeah older cards got ported to newer overdriveN api
    which seems broken / not complete for these cards
    has amd heard of backward compatibility?
     
  17. Jankes

    Jankes Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6GB OC
    This driver is a no-go for me. GTA V/Online is crashing (ERR GFX D3D INIT) from time to time, sometimes im even unable to start the game, beacuse it crashes on first intro screen (simple app crash).
     
  18. AlleyViper

    AlleyViper Master Guru

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    2070S Stx A/RX480 X
    Even on Vulkan? How to test? Thanks.
     
  19. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    261
    GPU:
    .
    Vulkan users reports no performance changes under DooM.
     
  20. Vinnie

    Vinnie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,689
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2x AMD R9 290X
    Ah, thanks for testing! :) Is it possible to request this feature at AMD?
     

Share This Page