Radeon Software Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.11.3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Eastcoasthandle, Nov 30, 2020.

  1. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,839
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Its so great you helping amd vanguard and amd driver section. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
    Jackalito, HD64G and OnnA like this.
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,461
    Likes Received:
    3,307
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i used to submit issues via their forum, but they changed to that new social media style all white thing that i noticed EA and others jumping on, its a pita to browse.

    and the amd reddit is full of not so bright fanboys that like to turn everything into pissing contest :D

    its something specific to D3D9 unity3D and RDNA cards as far as the threads discern.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,330
    Likes Received:
    2,676
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    It takes a while, D3D9 has had a lot of stuff broken reported about back as early as December last year.
    Seemingly this was silently resolved...in the 20.11.2 drivers.

    https://github.com/Cxbx-Reloaded/Cxbx-Reloaded/issues/1804

    Performance wise AMD's aware of this problem but haven't said much else to the best I've found at least and RDNA2's affected by the same problem as RDNA1 was with D3D9 and there could be other issues as well.

    EDIT: Wonder if the Vulkan issue mentioned in ReShade was ever resolved, Crosire contacted AMD but after a short response it's just been silence and the workaround code is still there so I presume it's not been fixed.
     
  4. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    Can only recommend you DXVK instead of native D3D9 with RDNA. E.g. Dishonored has severe slowdowns when rapidly moving the camera, which is completely gone with DXVK. While the AMD Vulkan driver can have some CPU overhead issues with it e.g. in Mirror's Edge, DXVK still boosts CPU performance in Borderlands 2 by ~40-50%.
     
    HD64G likes this.

  5. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    Yes, I'm still in Vanguard team.
    Thanks mate, will be investigated.
     
    Jackalito likes this.
  6. boombastik

    boombastik Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    rx580 SapphirePulse
    @SpajdrEX take a look at post 13 also if you have time.
     
  7. PrEzi

    PrEzi Master Guru

    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    476
    GPU:
    AMD 6900XT
    Just wanted to let everyone know that there are still problems with the high cpu usage of radeon settings in the background. Also with 20.11.3
    Hope the brand new branch that will come in Dec. will fix that....
    Already reported too... However what I don't like in the new reporting tool is that I am required to select an App/Exe even if it involves internal problems with the driver and has impact e.g. on performance/power usage or simply e.g. display corruption under windows...
     
  8. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,533
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    and this nasty bug in BFV (objects shimering when You have hammer "building mode" in hand, things to build just disappears, also Medic trap is sometimes not visible)
     
  9. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,438
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    Doesn't this "problem" occur when using Radeon Software Slimmer? Specifically when disabling the host service?

    From the change log of the app.

    Changes to Existing Functionality

    • Removed the option to disable host services to avoid CPU issues with RadeonSoftware

    My usage right now by any AMD process is literally 0%
     
  10. Digilator

    Digilator Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    122
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT
    I've seen it @ 0.1% for brief periods. I have "System Tray Menu" and "Animation & Effects" off - may have something to do with it...
    Not using the Slimmer.

    You can select the "AMD Radeon Software" and fill in the details in "Symptoms" and "Description" - both are required anyways.
     

  11. PrEzi

    PrEzi Master Guru

    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    476
    GPU:
    AMD 6900XT
    I don't use any kind of slimming nor used it even once....
    Install on top, DDU, clean install... tried virtually everything. Also tried blocking it in firewall and/or unblocking it. Still the same.
    Also tried to disable the animations&effects and tray menu /// still 2.5 - 3% usage in the background....

    It is driving me crazy since.... 20.9.1 I think....

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  12. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    Is that with Vega card? do you have any video showing this issue?
     
  13. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,533
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    Yes Vega, no i don't have movie.
    But other Vega 56/64 users have the same issue, last good driver was 20.5.1 WHQL
     
  14. Digilator

    Digilator Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    122
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT
    Just checked - using 31.8/9 MB here. You may want to try making an exception for all the files/folders involved in the install process if using an Antivirus(might be messing things up during install)...unless it is supposed to be using that little and is too much in my case. Could also temporarily disable it while installing.

    EDIT: ...maybe it simply depends on the number of game profiles...)
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  15. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    281
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    Vega here and no such issue. No slimmer used or any AMD services disabled
    [​IMG]
     

  16. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,438
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    I remembered something.
    Do you have the folder this folder "Radeon ReLive" in C:\Users\USERNAME\Videos ?
     
    GSDragoon likes this.
  17. Digilator

    Digilator Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    122
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT
    ?
     
  18. Digilator

    Digilator Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    122
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT
    Am I missing something..?
     
  19. PrEzi

    PrEzi Master Guru

    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    476
    GPU:
    AMD 6900XT
    Yup. But empty. I disabled all the relive / streaming stuff...

    UPDATE: Now I have deleted it.... it has not been recreated anymore after killing Radeon Software and running it again via right-click, but still high CPU Usage after closing the settings.

    UPDATE > after a complete restart the Folder has reappeared, but still high CPU Usage...
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  20. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,839
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Basically many if not all fidelityfx features will only be available on rdna2 cards only.
     

Share This Page