Radeon Software Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.1.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Rambo, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    224
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    weird mate ,, its always been like that for me .. 120, 100, 85, 72, 60 all 200mhz

    144hz full speed
     
  2. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    894
    GPU:
    Null
    I can't wait for whql. If beta already "is" stable and fixed many, it will be a date to remember. Well done RTG. Next stop the 5600xt release driver. We are gonna have some serious fun!
     
  3. siriq

    siriq Master Guru

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 570 Classified
    Speedfan don't cause any problem. Well. not here.
     
  4. zeusola

    zeusola Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Yea probably, but isn't it meant to be just a problem with 5700xt? Videos are less smooth with HW accel disabled, it doesn't drop frames, but looks like it does :( I've disabled HW accel for now. Scrolling down Reddit or Facebook becomes a horrid tearing experience with it disabled.
    Even running Winamp and playing games its far less stable, ugh.

    I gave my friends kid my old HD7770 1GB that I had as a backup card and he had to disable whatever the HW accel option is in Discord or he would get crashes, so its the drivers that are borked for a wide range of AMD cards.

    Does anyone have a good uptime with any of these newer drivers? The lack of stability really irks me.

    If I use DDU now it doesn't get back into windows normally, I can hear that it got there, but the display is stuck on the windows loading picture. The built in driver reset works ok.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020

  5. Rufus1

    Rufus1 Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Rog Strix RX 5700XT
  6. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    894
    GPU:
    Null
    All videos, either browser or movies, even apps, are butter-like smooth on my freesync monitor.

    Driver just works for me.
     
    LocoDiceGR likes this.
  7. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    GB 5700XT Gaming OC
    Still rarely get a 5 second freeze in COD. I think someone had mentioned disabling a graphic setting. Which was it?
     
  8. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Driver release notes were updated with the hardware acceleration problem added as a known issue.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/eng16s/5700_series_users_amd_added_this_to_the_patch/

    There's more to it but it's good to have the HW acceleration issue itself acknowledged at least. :)
     
    rflair, Jackalito and Undying like this.
  9. UkOldGit

    UkOldGit Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    What worked for me was setting the in game textures to normal instead of high. Other in game graphics seem to have no impact to the freezing.
     
    MaCk0y likes this.
  10. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    So, boost and anti-lag features are mutually exclusive?

    Guess there is a technical reason behind it.
     

  11. Nicked_Wicked

    Nicked_Wicked Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    5700XT Red Devil
    Yep the only fix for me too, some people said disabling sun shadow/spot shadow cache helps with stuttering as well.
     
  12. Digilator

    Digilator Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700XT
    Just had a hard system lock-up because I opened a 3rd tab in Firefox...ugh
     
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Hmm all of these at least in earlier Call of Duty games had a pretty significant impact on used VRAM, guessing 10 GB is a thing then and not 8 GB but monitoring would have to be used to confirm how much actual VRAM is utilized.
    Preferably by the process itself and actually in use instead of just reserved or cached and not total system VRAM usage but eh if it exceeds the 7.5 - 7.8 GB limit - OS and other stuff taking a bit after all - then yeah that'd confirm it just the same.

    EDIT: Well shadows or shadow map texture impact on VRAM isn't new but the amount used can be a bit of a surprise if measured or if the game has some early approximation on VRAM consumption where higher settings or toggling options on can see a surprisingly large increase on the total estimated VRAM usage. :)

    Modern texture maps and diffuse, normal, albedo, specular, metal and more can also add up if it's going for high-res BC7 type near lossless compression and then even for 1920x1080 or thereabout for display resolution exceeding 4 - 6 GB isn't too uncommon in current games.

    BC5 or DXT5 more lossy can still build up a respective usage of texture memory too in games that either don't use or support BC7 D3D10+ DDS formats.


    Well that's making it a bit more complex than need be, COD using a ton of memory is also not exactly knew far as I know.

    Tons of shaders too! Earlier driver from AMD even removed the prior 128 MB cap on the individual shader cache files for one of these games some years ago and hitting that limit at all when the files are around 4 - 10 MB or so is quite a lot of cached shaders.

    Though it would do since it keeps it per level or something and building a game specific cache the first time a map is opened and how that adds to AMD's single per-process cache if enabled and then doing it all over after every update hopefully invalidating the older files also to avoid problems.
    (Think AMD's drivers are a bit better at that at least now in later drivers, early ones well manual deletion at least works and AMD does clear these folders on a driver update also so that'd do it too.)

    Adrenaline 2020 also has a somewhat more visible setting now for clearing said shader cache for troubleshooting purposes as one of it's improvements though outside of using regedit the setting to disable caching for D3D somehow got lost, OGL and VLK is as usual enforced same as before. (Which far as I know is a good thing.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    Jackalito likes this.
  14. PrEzi

    PrEzi Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 64 LC
    Disabling HW acceleration in the web browser solved all issues for me. Black screens - gone.
     
  15. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    Getting a 1604 error upon installing these. Tried DDU and AMD cleanup in safe mode. The drivers seem to have installed anyway but haven't run a game yet...
     

  16. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    GB 5700XT Gaming OC
    It does reach 8172MB VRAM with high textures.
     
    JonasBeckman likes this.
  17. Haldi

    Haldi Master Guru

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    R9-290 CF
    Not useable on Call of Duty Modern Warfare!
    At least not on my Vega64

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    When i installed the new 20.1.1 Driver i saw that something felt strange during Gameplay.
    And indeed it looks horrible:
    [​IMG]

    So i installed the old 19.12.2 Driver and everything is back to Normal!
    [​IMG]

    But it seems like i'm the only one with this Problem?



    Edit:
    As always... DDU helps with most issues -.-
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2020
  18. PrEzi

    PrEzi Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 64 LC
    I don't play CoD, but just a thought --- have you tried to play a little bit with HBCC and anti lag settings under the new driver?
     
  19. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,311
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Getting 16.6k graphics score in firestrike with this driver, one of the best performers so far.

    Although 580 is overclocked (1500mhz, memory timings lvl 2, 2100mhz) thats basically same as rx590 and gtx 1660.
     
    OnnA likes this.
  20. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,194
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    I've been playing ALOT of CODMW and I have to say, it's super stable and no problems whatsoever with this drivers.
    Try this.
    Go ingame, configure the game graphics as you want it to be.
    Exit and go to Documents\Call of Duty Modern Warfare\players\
    There, delete ppsod.dat
    Do the same for Documents\Call of Duty Modern Warfare\players2\
    (File might not be there)

    Then, start the game again, and sit on the main menu, let it completely generate the cache.
    Once it says that it's done, exit the game and start it again.

    Try a few rounds and see how it works.

    Also, do not use Enhanced Sync, only use the In Game frame limiter and Anti lag if you want/need to.
     
    OnnA likes this.

Share This Page