Radeon HD4870 User Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by ottoyu34, Jun 28, 2008.

  1. Butcherski

    Butcherski Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7950 GIGABYTE
    just got my new stuff running ( <------- ) and starting to do some benchmarks :D unfortuantely my current monitor displays up to 1600x1200 but that will change soon too :D So far i played Grid, Serious Sam and GC2 and it all runes AWESOME. I've stepped up from celeron d and 6800GS so its like a whole new level of quality ... anyways ill post some benchmarks soon, aswell when i do some OC.
     
  2. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    hi mate can u also run CF at same settings as above post in crysis with ur max res 1600x1200
     
  3. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,033
    Likes Received:
    545
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800

    Its not about memmory size its about memmory bandwitch.
    With 512 GDDR5 you wont run in frame buffer limitation.
    It happend in few games and on very very high resolution, which 99.9% of gamers doesnt use. And with 100% i can say he wont be running in frame buffer limitation with 19x16 res.
     
  4. ottoyu34

    ottoyu34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX480 2-way SLI
    Sounds great.. I just had a big upgrade like yours a week ago. I was stepping
    up from a X850 XTPE and a AthlonXP. Looking forward for some OCed CF scores.
     

  5. crogers

    crogers New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870
    OMG...I laughed so hard my chest hurt after I read this. ROFL. Yeah, I hope he means F and not C...hehe.
     
  6. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    Dear Lord, that must be one heck of an upgrade for you! Congrats! :) That would be like going from a horse-and-carriage to a Ferrari. Enjoy.
     
  7. Elfa-X

    Elfa-X Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    AMD RX 6800 XT
    I definitely like the IQ on the 4870 better than the 8800GTX.
     
  8. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    cant wait to get mine, any new info on release date for the 4870X2, i want it now lol


    my upgrade path has been

    nvidia 256 6200TC
    nvidia 512 6800GS
    nvidia 512 7900gtx
    nvidia 512 7900gtx sli (two week then sold to meny problems sli)
    nvidia 768 8800gtx
    nvidia 512 8600gt (current - sold 8800 + setup to buy 9800gt2 then decided to wait for 4870 and now waiting for the 4870X2 lol)
     
  9. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    Don't wait too long ;)

    You may not get what you want :3eyes:
     
  10. ottoyu34

    ottoyu34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX480 2-way SLI
    Yeah. Cant even compare both new and old system. If i do, my old one would be off the scale.

    This summer is a awesome time to upgrade.
     

  11. Laykun

    Laykun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x EVGA GTX670 4GB
    Sorry dude, the card is being RMA'd, it fried itself. All I can tell you is that it was jumpy compared to a 1024mb 2900Pro. But this was only in parts where there was a LARGE open view looking down on a village or something. Where ever there was too much stuff on screen I'd run out of VRAM. Lowering the res to something like 1440x900 gave me silky smooth gameplay at very high settings. 1680x1050 was pretty good too, but it still suffered in parts. I guarantee it'll be fixed when they release a 1gb card.

    Incorrect. You see, on my 1024mb 2900Pro I was able to run GRID at 1920 x 1200 with 8x AA flawlessly. However, on my 4870 I needed to back down the AA to 4x so that it would slow to a crawl. Not to mention running oblivion + qarls texture pack III with 4x AA and 16x AF, on the Pro, smooth, on the HD4870, jumpy till I downed the AA and AF, and even then it was still jumpy. I don't know where you got the idea that you can compensate space for speed, but it's completely wrong.

    If you run out of space in the VRAM then the extra bandwidth isn't going to help you much ( extra bandwidth is the only thing that GDDR5 introduces, do not get confused ) because it's going to be bottlenecked by the PCI-E bandwidth and the system RAM bandwidth, because that's where you'll be fetching / storing your new / unused texture information to render the next frame, which holds up the entire card while it waits for the operation to complete. This effect is caused by the screen colour information reserving large portions of your cards VRAM (what you call the framebuffer), things like anti-aliasing can increase the size of the colour information alot depending on the level of anti-aliasing. This makes texture information a second priority, and gets pushed off the end of the VRAMs address space into system ram (technically, although a memory manager actually transfers information to system ram).

    With more VRAM you need to talk to the system ram less, meaning alot less lag and jumpiness.

    This is my personal experience with insights with personal knowledge based on real world personal experiences.

    Do I even need 1920x1200. While I'm at it, do I even need to play at max texture settings or max effects. When you spend your hard earned cash, you're spending that extra premium to have you cake and eat it too with all the icing on top.

    Also 512mb GDDR5 = faster 512mb GDDR3, you can never magically make up for lost space.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2008
  12. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    is this guy talking s@?t or what?? 4870 inferior to 2900pro 1gb???
     
  13. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    In terms of the amount of memory, yes, it would make sense that a 2900 pro 1GB gives smoother performance with high resolution gaming than a HD 4870 512mb
     
  14. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    somehow I just find it very difficult to buy that

    and it also makes it difficult to buy the card

    r u saying I should get gtx260 instead for hi-res gaming cos it's got 900meg of ram? or stick with my gtx cos it has 768?
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2008
  15. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    Well, the higher the resolution and the more AA/AF you apply (also count texture mods in there as well) increases the framebuffer, so the more memory you have on your graphics card the smoother the performance will be once you ramp up the image quality.
     

  16. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    every single 4870 comparison test I've seen @ 1920x1200 16af 4aa (and I could not look at one more!) makes a mockery of your argument

    I'm not sure you have a full grasp of how this card works.. :)
     
  17. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    Don't I?

    Okay then, so just because you saw a review means what I said wasn't true?

    Believe that if you want, but don't cry to me if what I typed up here turns out to be true :rolleyes:
     
  18. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Memory is an impact of performance, however the bandwidth of the memory is too. The 4870 only has 512 mb, however it makes up for it in gddr5 memory, which is great for bandwidth. But, when the memory of 512mb is doubled to 1024, between GDDR5 512 mb, and GDDR3 1024 mb, the 1024 mb will hold out some more. Now compare 512 gddr5 to like 768 gddr3 mb, the 512 will hold out more in that case. Now the only thing holding the R600 2900 back, is the r600 really failed..=\

    Look at the Ps3, the Ps3 only has about 256 mb of system memory, however the system memory is XDR, which is fast and has tons of bandwidth in it, which is how games like Drakes fortune, Metal Gear Solid 4, and Gran turismo are possible.

    But, guru3d did not run very high crysis with the 4870 single card test, but they linked to one that did.
    http://www.guru3d.com/news/ati-radeon-hd-4870-vs-geforce-9800-gx2-benchmark-results/

    Edit-They did! Just...Not very high results.
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-4870-review--asus/10
    Grid, they ran at 1920x1200 and 2560x1600, not x8aa, but x4msaa.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2008
  19. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    fella, I've forensically scrutinized and amalgamated about 25 reviews! - in an attempt to make the correct purchasing choice...
     
  20. ottoyu34

    ottoyu34 Master Guru

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX480 2-way SLI
    I personally play GRID at 1680X1050 all max with 4XAA. I tried to run 8XAA but it wasnt smooth with some jerking.
     

Share This Page