Radeon GPUs and HDR capabilities

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by itpro, Jan 6, 2021.

  1. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    410
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    I never paid attention, that switching from SDR to HDR causes my gpu mem clocks to go maximum frequency.

    Are there any workarounds? First, I decided to fall down to 120hz 10bit settings for lower clocks, now it doesn't work if I leave my monitor in HDR more. Can I find any solution to that matter? Does Nvidia behave the same?
     
  2. X7007

    X7007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    I have Nvidia and it uses a higher memory clock, using MadVR with Potplayer. so it needs power. 1080GTX

    I ordered 6900XT so I'll test it for you with it when it arrives.

    upload_2021-1-18_0-55-51.png
     
    itpro likes this.
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    Literally makes no sense...always on HDR 144hz 10bit. HDR does nothing to clocks...
     
    itpro likes this.
  4. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    410
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    Of course it does. You can't notice maximum memory clocks vs idle?

    Keep me updated when you change gpu. It is haunting me I cannot use HDR 24/7.
     

  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    Yeah I always have HDR on and I always have normal idle clocks HDR requires ZERO power....
     
    itpro likes this.
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
  7. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    410
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    DP or HDMI?
     
  8. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    DP of course. HDMI limits me to 100Hz
     
  9. X7007

    X7007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    I got the X6900 this is with HDR enabled, but it also with SDR, so it's not just HDR. maybe because of 120HZ? I'm using HDMI to OLED LG 55CX. using 3840x2160 resolution native
    EDIT: Yes changing to 60Hz makes ram to go lower. I think it's because FreeSync. or something else,

    upload_2021-1-19_8-7-50.png
    upload_2021-1-19_8-10-51.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2021 at 7:14 AM
  10. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,580
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    5700XT
    beware if ur using 2 monitors, they are known to cause memb clocks to skyrocket on AMD


    maybe also higher frequencies, theoretically they need to keep the memory at that speed to deliver a good experience (?)
     

Share This Page