Radeon Adrenalin Edition 20.12.1 driver download & disccussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 8, 2020.

  1. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    94
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    Sadly. I’m AMD Beta tester and I really wish Enhanced Sync would get fixed because ES+FS is the ultimate combo but we just aren’t getting any progress
     
    HD64G and Hypernaut like this.
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    94
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    Turn off 10bit it’s NOT what you think it is will just cause issues also as said in my previous post don’t use Enhanced Sync it’s unreliable despite me wanting it fixed
     
    GSDragoon, Embra and CPC_RedDawn like this.
  3. xubeiga

    xubeiga Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    guys, few days ago i posted about bad performance on Ori and Will of the Wisps on this driver, and even on the previous one.
    My fps in game was like 50% of what it should be
    all i know is that after a lot of things i've tried to get performance in this game, the only thing that solved it was going back to 20.4.2
    Performance is so damn good right now and my fps stays like all the time in 142 (limited by riva to stay on freesync range)

    so weird tho...
    now i dont know when i'm gonna update driver again :p
     
  4. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,715
    Likes Received:
    3,167
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    10Bit Pixel Format OFF (i have true 10Bit monitor and im turining this OFF for compatibility reasons).

    Try to use CRU to set Your custom resolution (Use monitor specs PDF for that).
    Monitor is 144Hz try to set it as 142Hz or 120Hz (try that first).
    Rest can be On as You wish.
    Freesync range: 35-142 or 35-120
     
    CPC_RedDawn and INSTG8R like this.

  5. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    847
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Turned off 10Bit Pixel format.

    I have used CRU to edit my monitor's freesync ranges to 35-142Hz @ 2560x1440 and set the color depth to 10bit max

    image_2021-01-20_161449.png
    You can see this here.

    However, now I can't select 10Bit colour in Driver panel, the option is there but everytime it just reverts back to 8bit.

    Untitled.png
    You can see here that the freesync ranges have changed correctly but I just can't change the colour depth...?

    Going to test some games out and see if this has fixed my jitter/stutter issues. I now have the Variable Refresh option in Windows 10 graphics settings now, whereas before it was missing?????



    EDIT: OK, I loaded up Destroy All Humans as this is a quick loading game to test out and the jitter/stutter was super visible in this game.

    I can confirm this has completely fixed my stutter issue with freesync enabled! :D Instantly the game felt loads better! This game is also capped at 120fps (by the game not by me), and the monitors on screen display now reads 120Hz and during load screens when fps drops to like 50-60fps the display updates as normal and displays the correct Hz synced with the game :D

    Now to just solve the 10Bit issue?
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2021
    OnnA likes this.
  6. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,715
    Likes Received:
    3,167
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    10Bit issue could be (and is) related to bandwidth starve.
    Try to fidle with settings more to see if this change things.

    I have the same issue, 71Hz is max for my monitor w/10Bit
    74Hz and 8Bit only.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2021
    ms178 likes this.
  7. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    No issues with 10bit color setting, 120hz@1440p and 10bcc profile. I do not care for freesync, I do not use it either on PC or console. I care only for pure colors and HDR.
     
    DanielRX likes this.
  8. ms178

    ms178 Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Just as OnnA said, we have to thank the display standard spec groups which couldn't come up with 10+ bit color + high refresh rates + high resolutions all at once with their older revisions.
     
  9. itpro

    itpro Master Guru

    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    Radeon Technologies
    And as just I said above, image quality is superior with 10bit output and it works with all resolutions, high refresh rate and hdr. Perhaps freesync is a no go but we shouldn't care. Adaptive sync is overrated and overblown. Feel the clarity of billion colors, not a delusional smoothness.
     
  10. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    I won't turn of 10bit it's so much nicer picture quality but really stuttery in 3d and it has some lod issues as well which is too bad.
     

  11. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    who cares about 10bit color?

    just give me a driver AMD .. pretty please
     
  12. Cryio

    Cryio Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    AMD RX 5700 XT
    They're blue balling us at this point.
     
  13. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    Just wait a little longer :D
     
    Krteq and Passus like this.
  14. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,806
    Likes Received:
    2,748
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    [​IMG]
     
    Passus likes this.
  15. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    297
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    Hmmm.. today? This week? Next week? Soon™? :D
     

  16. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,227
    Likes Received:
    4,271
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    We didnt get a Hitman 3 ready drivers yet game runs so good on amd hardware. Magic.
     
    HD64G likes this.
  17. LM2014

    LM2014 Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    RX 6800 XT
    Cryio, INSTG8R and Jackalito like this.
  18. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,227
    Likes Received:
    4,271
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    INSTG8R likes this.
  19. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    847
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    I think you are right, I kept the same settings you recommended me to use (35-142 @ 142Hz). If I step down and set 120Hz in Windows.... boom 10Bit is now working. Strange how at default monitor settings 1440p 144Hz I can select 10Bit. But this could be, as you say a bandwidth issue as I have now altered the freesync range which I would assume would require more bandwidth going from 48-144 to 35-142. Either way I can settle for 120Hz with 10Bit with 35-142 but I might switch this and try for 30-120 and see if I can still enable 10Bit.
     
    OnnA likes this.

Share This Page