R9 295x2 gameplay jerky

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by mpr505, Sep 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpr505

    mpr505 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus R9 295x2
    Hi,

    I recently decided to upgrade my video card to a Radeon R9 295x2. I am currently having an issue with multiple games where it does not appear that both GPUs are being employed to run. CPU-Z reports that one GPU is active, the other is greyed out. It also says that "Perf Level 0" has the first GPU at 300MHz and memory at 150MHz. "Perf Level 1" shows both settings to be the stock 295x2 speeds.

    What I have been seeing in games that should be able to be played at the highest settings is random frame rates, sometimes around 70 and then dropping massively to around 20 pretty much instantly. If I start up Planetside 2 and just sit in a base looking at a force field without moving my character, the frame rate will move up and down and show jerky or choppy behaviour. As soon as I move, it also occurs regardless of how many objects are on the screen. Same thing happens with Star Citizen, Skyrim, and Crysis (2 in my case). I've played around with shadows, vsync, and AA settings but nothing I do seems to change the behaviour. I've been using driver 14.4 but have just reverted to 14.1 to test. Also, the AMD auto detect and "gaming evolved" applications don't recognise the video card in order to provide drivers.
    The card is running at about 65 degrees C when gaming.

    Any advice very much appreciated.

    My setup is:
    Intel i7 3770K
    Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe MB
    Asus Radeon R9 295x2 (in PCIE 3 slot)
    16GB DDR3
    Silverstone 1500w PSU
    Samsung U28D590D 4K monitor
    Windows 7 Professional (64 bit)

    CPU-Z Output of Graphics Cards:

    Display Adapters
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Display adapter 0
    Name ASUS R9 295X2 Series
    Board Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
    Memory size 4095 MB
    PCI device bus 3 (0x3), device 0 (0x0), function 0 (0x0)
    Vendor ID 0x1002 (0x1043)
    Model ID 0x67B9 (0x0484)
    Performance Level 0
    Core clock 300.0 MHz
    Memory clock 150.0 MHz
    Performance Level 1
    Core clock 1018.0 MHz
    Memory clock 1250.0 MHz

    Display adapter 1
    Name ASUS R9 295X2 Series
    Board Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
    Memory size 4095 MB
    PCI device bus 4 (0x4), device 0 (0x0), function 0 (0x0)
    Vendor ID 0x1002 (0x1043)
    Model ID 0x67B9 (0x0484)
    Performance Level 0

    Win32_VideoController AdapterRAM = 0xFFF00000 (4293918720)
    Win32_VideoController AdapterRAM = 0xFFF00000 (4293918720)
    Win32_VideoController DriverVersion = 14.200.1004.0
    Win32_VideoController DriverVersion = 14.200.1004.0
    Win32_VideoController DriverDate = 08/11/2014
    Win32_VideoController DriverDate = 08/11/2014
     
  2. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    is this behavior present in all the games u play or juste those u mentioned
     
  3. evasiondutch

    evasiondutch Banned

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x-MSI gaming 290x 4gb OC
    I think skyrim is not suited for 2 AMD GPU´S i got 2x 290x ive np most games but when i try xfire in skyrim it won´t work properly.

    These are old games skyrim and crysis 2 so maybe there just not good with these newest AMD cards for double GPU´S.

    Plus why not go for latest beta driver it´s stable and up to date 14.4 already older driver.

    If im correctly the review for this card here also showed some games only used 1 gpu instead of 2 and had bad score because of this.

    Not all games specially older ones are optimized for 2 GPU´S.

    But im no expert eather so don´t take my word for it maybe im talking nonsens, i just try to come up with maybe why your card behave like this. I seriously doub it´s your card it proly are those games just not optimized for 2 GPU´S?

    Try newer games like metro last light or some benchmarks i found out that Skyrim is not that good example then did some benchmarks and metro last light and Thief got superb performance with 2 GPU's. This way you know you card is at least fine, just not in those games.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2014
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    theif is also mantle, it should be buttery smooth.
     

  5. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    is gpu in the main pcie slot?
    one closest to cpu.
     
  6. MacT

    MacT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Sapphire HD 7970 OC
    Sounds to me like a driver installation problem.

    When you put in the new GPU, did you uninstall the driver that you were using and install new driver (or reinstall same driver even). You just can't swap in a new card and expect it to work without a fresh re-install of driver.

    Did you use some sort of driver cleaner before installing (or re-installing ) driver for the new card? I suggest DDU.

    Not sure how the 295x2 card works but with my system (2 x 7970 in crossfire) sometimes crossfire is not selected with a new install. I have to enable crossfire within CCC after a driver install. Not sure if that is the case with a single 2xgpu card like the 295x2. You can check in CCC to see if that is an option (enable crossfire).
     
  7. Slikar

    Slikar Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 WF3
    Return it and pick 2 980s for SLI when they come out. They way AMD supports their top end hardware is disgusting , people spend more time looking for problems solution than gaming.
     
  8. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    No issues here whatsoever.
     
  9. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2
    Shhh.

    You're talking nonsense.
     
  10. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    Agreed.AMD is much better on single gpu setup.

    I have both R9 290 CF and GTX 780 TI SLI and really CF has dam a lot of issues on DX 9 and cpu extensive game with a massive amount stuttering.

    If u like AMD than go for Single GPU option and if u cannot than go SLI option.
     

  11. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    Can u stfu u dont even own AMD high end card.
     
  12. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2
    Care to provide evidence? For DX9 sure, there's problems. Regardless, I'm used to people lying about some things. So... pictures? Evidence?

    Not that you would know.

    Evidence of your spew, where is it?
     
  13. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    He talking about AMD high end gpu (R9 290 and R9 290X).
     
  14. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
  15. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2

  16. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    It is my forum and my id.I am from Anandtech
     
  17. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2
    Which doesn't mean balls considering you didn't post your name on an image. There's nothing but blind pictures. As I said: Provide some evidence or bugger off and stop the nonsense.
     
  18. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    Kid really..............

    Lol go search Anandtech i am ranked at 5th best score and benchmarkers at that forum.

    U dont even know why AMD cf has issues because idiot i daily chat with AMD roy and tell CF issues.


    https://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/2104x1177q90/674/cvkYoQ.png
     
  19. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,126
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2
    I've already admitted they do, you barely literate fool. You're spewing poop on here why? I've asked for a simple proofing, your name on a photograph. Show or do us all a favour and piss off. Pretending to be someone you're not makes you a bigger fool.
     
  20. Desprado

    Desprado Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 TI SLI
    I am not pretending kiddo and i mention above that i sold my 1 R9 290 because CF was a waste with majority of AAA games.

    I only bought R9 290CF to test Mantle with BF4 which also has a lot issues and memory leak and stuttering problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page