1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

R7 3700X + MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC / Voltages

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by xcat2008, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. xcat2008

    xcat2008 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Hello guys.

    I got one 3700X yestarday, and got just scared by the Stock voltages.. Running the last beta bios on my mobo... And at idle is doing 1.45 ~ 1.488v ?? When stress test, or benchmark on Cinebench all cores drop voltage to around 1.256V but got like 3.6GHz?

    I can do 1.3V 4.2Ghz all cores, still confused by "safe" voltages...

    It's normal, should be afraid? I have set manual OC, feeling like is more safe 4.2GHz all cores 1.3V.

    Any tips, or is just the bios giving to much juice for the chip?

    First time running all stock:
    https://imgur.com/ZGMMIfc

    After few test's Stock again:
    https://imgur.com/opKcMxe

    Manual OC, Volatge 1.3V 4.2Ghz:
    https://imgur.com/VCgJVDQ

    My memory is G.Skill 3000Mhz CL 15... Got already anothers Team Group 8Pack 3600 CL 16 but need to get them at the shop lol

    Should i wait for better bios, or this is normal? Seeing 1.488V at idle jezzz..
    My heart...

    Thank you all ;)
     
  2. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    that voltage is normal under light load. Run something like prime 95 and take a look at your all core load voltage. It will probably be around 1.36 or so. That's what my 3700X is at when it's not busy throwing BSoDs because of an unrelated issue.
     
  3. xcat2008

    xcat2008 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Yeah, but still you sure it's normal idle above 1.4V ? I'm afraid because some are dying already.. and i see all bios betas ... Funny thing is, Stock got little better Single Scores and low multithread... All Stuff turned On PBO etc.. Manual OC 4.2Ghz 1.3V lower single but better multi score.. humm by the way do you know the Safe Voltages for our chips? Thanks for the reply ;)
     
  4. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,628
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Not sure but haven't the bigger chips (3900X) already been boosting to above 4.2 with over 1.4v?
    That said, 1.488v does look like a little over the top...
     

  5. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I've heard it's 1.325 but no one really knows for sure as AMD never stated directly

    this is the explanation Robert Hallock gave for the "high" voltage readings.


    https://www.techpowerup.com/257312/...xaggerated-a-case-of-the-observer-effect?cp=2
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  6. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    452
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    High voltage in light loads are normal for all Ryzen CPU's 1.5+ and high temperatures are also normal.There is no official max temperature for Ryzen CPU.
    These CPU's are designed to work for years at the voltages and temperatures/voltages even with the supplied cooler and I am sure that does not ease anyones mind but it is reality.

    AMD has different built in overclocking for these CPU's and they even state that you use these features it voids your warranty but I still would not be worried.
    The CPU'S are different but work great and they supplied a tool called Ryzen Master which is a very good tool and if you want you can control the Voltage/temperature as you want when outside default working of CPU.

    What I would not do is immediately lower voltage to lower temperatures because it can lower performance.

    Not sure if you know who The Stilt is,he's a smart guy and knows his stuff.A quote from him and i suggest if you want to go read some of his post over at overclock.net .I will link a video and below and quote what he said in one post. So try to go read and get better context and how the CPU's work.Hope this wall of text helps somewhat.

    https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-...uch-over-max-boost-you-have.html#post28044514
     
  7. Caesar

    Caesar Master Guru

    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    "F"RYZEN

    https://www.techpowerup.com/257312/...age-exaggerated-a-case-of-the-observer-effect

    ...monitoring software appear to be polling each processor core for load by sending it instruction at a high rate of speed - sending them a workload of 20 ms every 200 ms. This causes the processor's embedded firmware to think that the cores are being subjected to workload, and it responds by increasing the clock-speeds, and proportionately voltages of all CPU cores. Monitoring software poll each CPU core, and so core voltages are raised across the chip....
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
    insp1re2600 likes this.
  8. xcat2008

    xcat2008 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti


    Thnak you for the replys.

    My only problem is Windows Power plans, AMD High Performance is not dropping voltages.. Or even AMD Balanced power Plans..


    Only the default Windows power Plan Balanced works..
     
  9. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    are you running the latest chipset drivers?
     
  10. xcat2008

    xcat2008 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Hey. Yes i'm, did a format yestarday and install all new drivers. Everything from windows is clean and updated.. Something is wrong on those bios... Even my 1080Ti is sufering.. While at 3D Mark stays at good fps for like 3 minutes, and then the usage from the card drops.. Like from 98% for 50%.. Instead of getting 14K on FireStrike Extreme got 5k...

    5K???? ->
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/19892308

    14k ->
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/19904312

    I guess the solution was going at Bios and change the PCI-E to gen 3... Auto gives me that problem.. Dunno if is normal.. Had before one R5 2600 and happend sometimes... Now is always with the 3700X... The fix looks like to change the PCI-E GEN..

    And i hould like to get my Computer working like on the video... But nope, it's constant agressive voltages... only the balanced plan from windows works.. Dont know what to do more.. Honestly.

    Sorry about my english, not my main language.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019

Share This Page