Quantum Break for PC?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Havel, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. Havel

    Havel Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    RX 580
  2. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    That's because the game still uses an always on 4xMSAA.
    Until Remedy give players the option to disable that always on MSAA, performance is going to be dodgy.
     
  3. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    425
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    The forced MSAA is an engine thing.
    Has to do with alpha transparencies or something like that.
    The same as it was with Alan Wake. Which forced it to 2xMSAA.
     
  4. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,130
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    But on alan wake american nightmare they got rid of the forced 2xMSAA, you could have 0x.

    Makes not much sense to put that limitation back in.
     

  5. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    425
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    Oh, you are right, forgot about it.
     
  6. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    The upscaling is also an engine thing.
    The engine is designed for consoles, it's why it's built the way it is.

    But, the upscaling, 30fps lock... all able to be turned off on PC. There's nothing showing any reason for the MSAA not being an option on PC.
     
  7. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,657
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    http://www.escapistmagazine.com/new...PC-Crashes-Require-a-Windows-10-Update-to-Fix

    http://community.remedygames.com/fo...tum-break-state-of-the-game-updated-28-4-2016

    Apparently, 4xAA can now be turned-off. Does it help performance?

    Also, GTX970 crashing...refer to this;

    Quote "Added 27.4.2016: Microsoft has identified a Windows 10 memory management issue which may cause Quantum Break to crash on some GPUs. This crash is seen more frequently at higher game settings. Microsoft plans to fix this in a future Windows Update."
     
  8. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    The game hasn't updated yet.

    Lauri is saying the AA option in the menu is the 4xMSAA, and the always on AA is a temporal based one.
    Which... seems backwards from what everyone that has done any in depth looks into the game and it's engine.
     
  9. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,744
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    As soon as this game cost 35euros grab it.
     
  10. Havel

    Havel Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    RX 580
    Any news about forced MSAA? Any plans for an option to completely turning it off?
     

  11. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Supposed to be an update at the end of this week... we'll just have to wait and see what it brings.
     
  12. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    SOURCE

    While disappointing there won't be an update this week. I'd rather they take their time and release the updates when they are ready. I'm glad they are doing so and caught this issue before the update was released.
     
  13. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    511
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    good , i wanna get that 1080 gpu and finish whatever game i haven't finished yet
     
  14. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    so does this game support 21:9

    doesnt give option for 2560x1080

    and stuck with black bars on the side.

    Im wondering if its because im on inside build of windows. because changing resolution doesnt actually change monitor resolution. just make image clearer or blur er..

    it wont even stretch across the screen.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
  15. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    At this time, it does not support 21:9.
     

  16. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    :bang::bang:
     
  17. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
  18. Havel

    Havel Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    RX 580
  19. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    Yeah, at this point I think there's nothing to do in order to make this game run properly, it's designed for xbone and that's it. Even a beast like the 1080 manages to get barely 6 fps more.

    Regarding the patch, I read nowhere there's gonna be an option to turn msaa 4x off, actually the devs said the msaa can be already disabled in the video settings (on/off).
     
  20. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,741
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    A lot of people are questioning that.
    Port reports people have done have pointed to the menu AA option is a temporal one. Stating the engine is hard-coded to always have on MSAA to improve the visual quality since the game upscales it's resolution by default.

    People have also pointed out that if the in menu AA option was MSAA, users would be seeing a difference performance wise with it On or Off. As of right now, I can turn that setting on and off all day, and not see a single change in FPS.

    The upcoming patch, nobody outside of Remedy knows what it'll address. They've made no statements about what it includes.
    And, they won't until the update releases. It's how they've always handled updates, even from the Max Payne days.
    We just have to wait and see what happens.

    It's a great game, and they've already fixed the initial performance issues. At launch, the game struggled to maintain 30FPS, after the last patch... players can now hold a solid 60fps.
    But, if you turn off resolution scaling, you take a hit performance wise. This could be an area of focus for optimization in this upcoming patch.
     

Share This Page