QUAKE II RTX For Free This week

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 3, 2019.

  1. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,539
    Likes Received:
    2,752
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Even that 1.5gb vram usage is insane considering cards at the time had 8-16mb. Rtx is indeed vram heavy.
     
  2. metagamer

    metagamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    639
    GPU:
    Palit GameRock 2080
    RTX version uses better textures and the game is running at higher resolutions than back in the day. Also, there's other improvements to graphics.
     
  3. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,029
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    TheDeeGee and Undying like this.
  4. mackintosh

    mackintosh Master Guru

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Armor
    I remember my Voodoo 2 SLI rig ran Quake II @ 60fps perfectly fine.
     
    Undying likes this.

  5. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,570
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    You've got to watch Jokers vid on it, hes getting 19fps in it on his Ti at 4k, its funny as hell :D
     
    Undying likes this.
  6. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    He's not alone. It's pretty slow. I'm gonna drop the scale to 75% and see how it runs.
     
  7. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,646
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Not sure what Nvidia is trying to prove here. This is more an embarrassment for them than any benefit they may gain from showcasing RT on it. Its gonna be a meme.
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  8. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    GPU:
    EVGA XCUltra 2080Ti
    Played the freeware, was really cool. Never played a quake game before, remind me of DOOM on Playstation, a very long time ago.
    Doesn't look like a 22 years old game anymore tho :eek:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    4K originals in spoiler below

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,539
    Likes Received:
    2,752
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    8gb+ vram usage @XenthorX this game is pushing your card more than Star Citizen :D
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  10. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    GPU:
    EVGA XCUltra 2080Ti
    think i had chrome/photoshop on the side also :3 Find it really cool. Considering buying the game.

    On the topic of 4K, current gen doesn't have enough computation power to do a lot of things at 4K with raytracing, that's just a fact.

    Quake 2 here is doing a lot, especially if using the high preset for ray tracing with Multibounce GI AND Reflections.
    Multibounce GI is what most current gen games spend hours baking offline before shipping, but here it's realtime and dynamic.

    That being said, dropping resolution scaling to 70% at 4K, i got a nice experience playing on ray tracing high preset.

    You can denoise as much as you want, this is what the 2080-ti is delivering at 4K in best case scenario, coded by Nvidia itself:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019

  11. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,674
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    considering your card I find 50fps to be ridiculously low framerate. so either RTX implentation was done horrible or RTX really isnt anywhere near ready
     
  12. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    GPU:
    EVGA XCUltra 2080Ti
    With Ray Tracing you can achieve flawless lightning like modern movie CGI quality, ideally. Not only aren't we there yet, but modern movie aren't at 4K, far from it.

    I maxed out their demo at 4K, because i love the eye candy, could have settle for a more performance friendly ray tracing options: out of low, medium, high, i went with high.
    Meaning, Multibounce GI, Reflections, Soft shadows.

    There's no 4K Ray Tracing ready GPU out yet. Next GPU generation maybe. We're just getting started with ray tracing afterall.

     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  13. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    259
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    Tried this on my GTX 1070, ran at anything from 12-26 fps with RTX enabled depending on level of detail of RTX I selected. GPU load at 100% the whole time, so it's doing something. This was at 1080p. Uninstalled! Wasn't expecting it to run properly on a non-RTX card.
     
  14. UZ7

    UZ7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,515
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX2080S
    9700K @5GHz
    2080 @ 2GHz undervolt

    70-80fps @1080p :eek::eek::eek:o_Oo_Oo_O:(:(:(
     
  15. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    2,545
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Path tracers in general require more Memory because it also renders out of frame scenery.
     

  16. MegaFalloutFan

    MegaFalloutFan Master Guru

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti 11Gb
    Its only first 3 levels shareware version [but if you own full quake II their download will upgrade it to RTX fully] and it was doing 30fps on my 2080ti/9900k So i dont know what they did there its ancient game, i reduced the render to 90% to get 45-50ish fps
     
  17. MegaFalloutFan

    MegaFalloutFan Master Guru

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti 11Gb
    Am I the only one or the corridors in the first level and the second room after you start the game [with 2 enemies and stairs down and water] are pitch black?
    WTF? I quit just for this reason, i tried every setting and its not, its the game and there is no flash light [you get 4 flash bang grenades that can light for maybe 20 seconds and then they turn off]
     
  18. XP-200

    XP-200 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    946
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1080 Mini
    Well that was interesting, so this makes Quake II on my i7 core, GTX1080, 16 GIG, W10, run like how it did on my 386 25mhz 2 megs with MMX support back in the late 90's, how nice of them. lol
     
    Undying and Maddness like this.
  19. Loobyluggs

    Loobyluggs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,801
    Likes Received:
    776
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070 FTW
    I turned it up to eleven, and it looked great - but fps was 3-10 !

    Just goes to show....
     
  20. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,980
    Likes Received:
    487
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Not sure if it was lowering the settings from 100% resolution scaling to 70% (of 2560x1440) and the Global Illumination from High to Medium or switching to the v435.27 beta driver with the new VRR Graphics setting enabled in Windows 10 v1903 build 18362.145 but I am astounded by how playable Quake II RTX is now on my GTX 1080 Ti despite the framerate hovering between 24 and 34 fps (previously is was around 7-10 fps). Maybe it's G-SYNC doing its thing but I am using a mouse and keyboard and the game feels fine to play. Weird, eh?

    Not a game that I would buy an RTX card for but being able to check it out for 'free' is nice on the old GTX cards.
     
    eGGroLLiO and Barry J like this.

Share This Page