Quad Users, will you upgrade to Thuban X6?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by C4ampere, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    or another way, by the time the quad is utilised and 8 is the norm at least you will only be 2 behind :)
     
  2. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    It's just the fact that it's been the first time in a long time that hardware is progressing faster than software.

    deltatux
     
  3. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    anyways thinking about thuban..

    if the Phenom II x4 965BE (c) has a 3D Mark score of 4669 & OC`d @ 4ghz = 5487

    and yet a core i7 975 stock = 5949

    then you can probably expect that an OC`d 6 core thuban will go beyond the top level i7 and I dont here people complaining to much about the performance of that chip @ £750-£855 !

    so if the 6 core amd is under £250 (given the top quad amd is under £150) it will be a very good buy imo
     
  4. Axkingz

    Axkingz Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 4000 / GT 650M
    No, i stress my I7 at 30% at the most. Hope this build is going to last me until summer 2012, so i'll see whats out then :D
     

  5. ASLayerAODsk

    ASLayerAODsk Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 580 8G
    just go into your bios and turn off your ACPI option..and see how your quad performs with only ONE core :) i dare ya :D
     
  6. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    well all i can say if for me when im emulating the extra horsepower is needed. I tried a game cube emulator and my dual core cpu was 100% top line all of the time apart from running extremely low windowed resolution so i know another 2 cores would help run beyond 10fps and for me it would be another 4 cores will make the emulator work much faster.
     
  7. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    discussing console emulators is generally illegal...

    but anyway, are you sure youre not just getting low fps because you havent enabled directx hardware acceleration in the program?
     
  8. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    sounds like 3D acceleration wasn't turned on or the fact that it's only multithreaded for dual cores. We all know that most programs can take full advantage of dual cores. We're now talking 4 cores vs. 6 cores and not dual cores.

    deltatux
     
  9. allesclar

    allesclar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    nice progression in the market, but i think i will wait for it to mature out and see what intel release :)
     
  10. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    its running/downloaded the emulated games that's illegal i am running Public domain software not official releases :nerd:


    but i take your point i wont discuss (Apart from to say if i run a glitchy emulator for a 25year old console with games that would otherwise never get played, and would float into non existence and 0% profit would be made from company even on re-release if the title even was remembered let alone the company being still alive, or even the people who made it still alive as the whole thing is so dated then pushing the issue of piracy becomes very thin and certainly has no moral context)


    :)



    btw looking forward to 6 core, i have money ready for msi 890fx and 6 core just waiting for reviews
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010

  11. Barry J

    Barry J Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    RTX2080 TRIO Super
    i am waiting x4 does everthing i want will wait for more software that will use x4 never mind x6 before i upgrade further.
     
  12. Erqury

    Erqury Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1060 6GB
    if its cheap enough i guess.. also would need my motherboard to get a bios update....
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970
    I'm interested in the differences of the CPU besides the increase in cores. More to the point, the PII X4 960T (Zosma). What will be the difference between that and a Deneb X4.
     

Share This Page