PSU requirement for Sapphire R9 280X

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Dumaw, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. Dumaw

    Dumaw Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX970 SSC ACX 2.0
    Hi guys

    I'm planning on getting a Sapphire R9 280X later this month and it says it requires a 750w power supply?

    Is this correct? I found it a lil bit odd so I decided to come here and ask you guys for some help.

    I currently own a Corsair GS 700w PSU, and I do not intend to replace my PSu soon.
     
  2. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
    I'd imagine a suggestion like that is complete nonsense.

    The thing is, everyone wants fast for cheap and since a psu won't make you fast the layman will purchase an inexpensive unit. Inexpensive units to not live up to expectation in most cases, thus the exorbitant suggestion of a 750w psu.

    ..just a stab in the dark. :)


    p.s. I would run 7970's in xfire without blinking with my current psu. It's all about quality.
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah only need (quality) 500W for one. Where did the 750W recommendation come from?
     
  4. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    You'll be fine with the psu you have.
     

  5. Dumaw

    Dumaw Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX970 SSC ACX 2.0
  6. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    lol, it's all about quality but lets not exaggerate that much. You surely have a $170 550W PSU but two 7970 CF=500W peak, lets say 80W for HDDs/fans/motherboard and 100W for the CPU. How would that work for you?

    It is conceivable that 650 watts of continuous loading is safe for the unit but hey, 500+80+100=680W, probably too risky i would say. But hey, it's yours to do what you want.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
  7. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    nah, you wouldn't. 45.5A on the +12v rail. Yeah I guess you could, if you kept everything at stock, but then you're limiting yourself big time in performance. a good overclock on a 7970 (talking around 1200/1600 or above) will draw a lot of power.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
  8. chilly willy

    chilly willy Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti
    there is an easy way to figure out if your power supply is good enough...
    A gpu can use no more than 300w max. Unless you have a super overclock and are running furmark or intense compute apps you will NEVER get to 300w with an otherwise properly functioning card.

    Typical tdp of a cpu is between 77-125 watts for high end cpus from amd and intel. server cpus from intel can get up to 140ish and the obnoxious fx9000 series from amd can sit at 225w tdp. but chalk those off the list for now.

    tdp is the absolute max something can draw under normal usage scenarios.

    cpu+gpu maxes=377-425+ around 10-25% tops for other components chipsets, drives, fans, sound cards or other pci devices = 471-531.25w TOPS

    ANY decent 550 watt power supply or higher will support ANY cpu/single gpu setup. Providing there are enough amps on the +12v rail(s). Ideally I always go for a power supply with a single strong +12v rail it makes high amperage a sure thing. amps+volts=watts.

    when i got my corsair tx650 im using back in maybe 2006-2007ish i only got the 650 because it was 3$ more than the 550.
     
  9. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,547
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    As said above, your PSU will be fine, im running an overclocked 7970 on a 550w PSU, and welcome to the forums Dumaw :)
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    It's OK to link.


    Jeez you weren't kidding, Sapphire have gone insane;

    Crazy stuff.... lol

    They prob just covering their asses from the people who buy $30 PSU's....
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013

  11. nivrob

    nivrob New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    h87 pro
    will 550vx cosair hold up for r9 280x?
     
  12. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Should be ok, unless you run massive overclock
     
  13. nivrob

    nivrob New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    h87 pro
    gigabyte ver will work ok?
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    What do you have now?
     
  15. nivrob

    nivrob New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    h87 pro
    cosair 550vx i got it like 4 years
     

  16. PieEyedPiper

    PieEyedPiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi HD7950 Twin Frozr/3GB
    I'm glad you guys are so sharp. ;)

    Really, I was just trying to make a point but your points are certainly valid.

    I don't have another card to test it with, but I'd surely do it with confidence. Just not with 1200MHz core clocks.. Stock for sure.
     
  17. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,511
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    I'm not sharp at all. It's just that I have no life so I spend a lot of time browsing the forum :)
     
  18. Ecurb

    Ecurb Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 290X 4GB @ XFire
    Just installed a little 450W (Silverstone ST45SF 450W) in my mates PC which is running a 2600K OC and the 280X without a problem. This is a good quality little guy. My general rule of thumb for PSU is if it's not reviewed and reviewed well on JonnyGuru don't get it :) I had a cheap 750W Corsair PSU that cooked some kit a while back and from then on its been good component PSU only. So good 450W plus will be fine for what you want.
     
  19. DSparil

    DSparil Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG StriX RX480, 8GB
    I think some of these manufacturers list overkill wattage requirements because they assume the average PC user is not buying a top of the line modular PSU with XXX amount of continuous power. So if a card really requires a good 400W PSU (whole system included), the manufacturer might say it requires 550W, just to be on the safe side for the general consumer! Then a run of the mill cheapo "550W" PSU could run it w/absolutely no problem.

    On a 550W? You would start blinking when your PSU sets fire to your entire PC from overloading it with two 7970's lol. You may not want to go by this guys advice OP.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2013
  20. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,922
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
    ^^There's no card that can draw even close to 400W.
    Yep. They put that stuff there because people go out any buy those pingpong PSU's with inflated wattage ratings because they think that bigger wattage number is better.
     

Share This Page