Proof: Something is wrong with ATI Drivers

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by The General, Aug 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iarwain

    Iarwain Banned

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4890 990//1120
    Actually our eyes do use frames, and even pixel-like structures. This is provable by the fact that when put under stress time seems to slow, this is our FPS essentially speeding up, to give us better control of the situation. And THAT is proven by an interesting experiment where people were dropped off a bungie jump structure, and were able to read an extra frame of time on a rapidly changing display more than they were able to see on the ground. Of course, when FPS increases in a game, the game seems to speed up. But that's because FPS in a game is realitive to the speed of the game, while real life time is not dependent on our perception of it.

    EDIT: But all that's off topic. Sorry.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2008
  2. Legendary_Agent

    Legendary_Agent Master Guru

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD7970 DirectCU II
    yeah my resolution is 720p upscaled running at 25 fps ;) the eyes dont have a refresh rate they just have frames u know the eyes take the picture on a frame then our brain makes the band keep running and if it jams we have to switch video tape :p
     
  3. weston

    weston Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 275
    My eyes have a resolution of 640x480...time for an upgrade? :)
     
  4. Thunderball

    Thunderball Member Guru

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5870+Twinturbo Pro
    No just get binoculars and you´ll be fine
     

  5. AnarKhrist

    AnarKhrist New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 1900XTX
    I always thought that camera's operated at a slower refresh rate then computers, and thats why computer screens flicker or jump because they are refreshing faster then the camera can capture. And if we use camera's to record real life, and they operate at 30 fps......

    Ah the hell with it, I'm using stupid logic, not the normal kind.
     
  6. Legendary_Agent

    Legendary_Agent Master Guru

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD7970 DirectCU II
    lol there are cameras that operate at more than 150fps... but sure our eyes have 25 fps and we have pixelated resolution, oh ya i forgot to mention eyes AA is set to Edge detect and x24 maybe thats the reason i get to low fps... that and to many objects in this world to process :p
     
  7. Iarwain

    Iarwain Banned

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4890 990//1120
    Your problem is draw distance, I'm sure. You should be able to handle AA.

    We're off topic. This guy still isn't back with his reviews. Wonder why.
     
  8. Legendary_Agent

    Legendary_Agent Master Guru

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD7970 DirectCU II
    maybe he took my advice on buying a new cpu,mobo and psu xD
     
  9. Iarwain

    Iarwain Banned

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4890 990//1120
    Or his house has burned down, once his OCed PSU burst into flames.
     
  10. Thunderball

    Thunderball Member Guru

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5870+Twinturbo Pro
    He´s still figuring out why he only gets a black screen.
    Hmmm maybe it´s got something to do with not meeting the minimum system requirements for his brandnew gfx card :)
     

  11. elkosith

    elkosith Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    AsRock RX 570
    Out of topic
    Just for general knowledge. A camera works almost like the way our eyes work. Infact, our eyes capture millions of pixels through millions of cells on the retina. Our brain then combines the pixels to form a complete image without we realizing it.

    Our eyes have very limited 'refresh rate' or 'frame rate'. That's why when we shake our hands, the fingers look blur, because our eyes aren't fast enough to capture the movement. We see a flying fly as a long black line the air.

    Crysis is playable in 20fps is mainly bacause it uses motion blur. Blurry moving images are natural to our eyes.

    Back to topic
    eeerr....don't know what to say anymore
     
  12. Spongebong

    Spongebong Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX980 SC
    I started reading this post for some reason it reminded me of Vegas Vacation.
    The part when Clark went down to that cheezy Casino where they had games like,choose a number 1 to 10 and war.
     
  13. Spongebong

    Spongebong Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX980 SC
    Made it to page2 and seen this sticker,I couldn't stop laughing for 5 minutes.
    Thanks!
     
  14. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,288
    Likes Received:
    708
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    Same here, 1.5Amps xD
     
  15. TDurden

    TDurden Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390 Nitro
    Did he post the new 8400 review already? :)
     

  16. FULMTL

    FULMTL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,704
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    AOC 27"
    Well probably already too late for me to say it, but when buying a VGA to play games decently with, usually they have a "6" as the 2nd number. For example ATI 2600XT, ATI 3650, 8600GTS, 9600GT, etc etc....when you hit the 2nd digit with a 4, that just means its good enough just to watch movies with.
    For him to build a new cheap gaming PC, I would recommend him the 780G/ATI chipset computers. The integrated graphics on that board should be fast enough to play every game out there on low/med settings at a small resolution. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-780g-chipset,1785.html
    You can find those mobo's for around $70-100
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2010200022+107191003+1071937261&name=AMD+780G

    The power consumption of the 780G chipset is actually below 75w during load (according to what im reading), so a 90w PSU might actually work with it.....but come on, a 300w generic PSU is like $30.

    Nvidia recenlty released a similar chipset, but it has an integrated Nvidia 8200, which im not even sure a 8200 card even exists. Id go with the 780G chipset tho as it seems to have better performance results.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2008
  17. AnthraxPants

    AnthraxPants Banned

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 4890HD 1GB
    1.5 amps can't even stop your heart! I have more powerful batteries than that PSU.
     
  18. philheckler

    philheckler Master Guru

    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx470 SLI
    I Just read all 8 pages of this thread - i'm in work and my boss just asked me why i'm crying - i just pointed at this thread.....:bang::bang::bang::bang:
     
  19. domen

    domen Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE HD4890
    33mA can. That is 0.033A.
     
  20. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,139
    Likes Received:
    1,728
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I can't believe the thread has stayed open for THIS long.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page