Problem with GTX 460 SLI + GTS 250 Physx - cant enable SLI

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by HamidFULL, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    Today bought a 3-way SLI motherboard (NF200 based) + two GTX 460 1GB and I had a GTS 250 from old pc --> goal : GTX 460 SLI + GTS 250 dedicated physx processor

    but after installing 3 cards cant enable SLI - SLI option is missing !!

    [​IMG]

    Installed 260.63 Beta and 260.89 Beta/WHQL and no success
    Disabled GTS 250 from device manager, no SLI option
    disabled realtek sound and ethernet controller and no success (from BIOS)
    removed GTS 250 and could enable SLI but after installing that again disabled
    SLI bridge is ok
    Clean Install many times! :biggun:
    OS 7 Ultimate x64

    stupid drivers help! :bang:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  2. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    What mobo did you get, and what bios are you using?? Also make sure you have the latest Intel Inf drivers, as some have issues with SLI if youre Intel x58 isnt up to date with drivers, or thats what ive heard, not sure tho.
     
  3. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    Thank you MB is ECS P55H-AK and latest Intel INF is installed will flash MB BIOS now ...
     
  4. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Do that and let us know, also check that all cabels are attached correctly (power/fan/etc).
     

  5. Laykun

    Laykun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x EVGA GTX670 4GB
    You're not using the Tri-SLi bridge are you? If the GTS250 is connected to the SLi bridge then SLi wont work as it's an incompatible card. Use a normal two-way SLi bridge between your GTX 460s ONLY (if you don't have one you can buy bridges made with ribbon cables and they are cheap).
     
  6. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    MB BIOS flashed no success
    All cables checked no problem
    2-Way SLI bridge is installed for 460 SLI --> (GTX 460 has one SLI connector then only supports 2-way)

    :( and still :bang:
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2010
  7. RavenMaster

    RavenMaster Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    1x RTX 3080 FE
    I know tri-sli is not an option with the 460 cards - only 2-way sli can be done. Maybe because you have a third card in the machine alongside the 2x 460's they won't SLI anymore.

    Try taking the 250 out of ur machine and only running the 460's. If it allows you to go SLI then you know what the problem is
     
  8. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    It allows - with two GTX 460 installed I can enable SLI but its not my goal

    You think driver could not find that its not 3-Way 460??

    and have you any solution?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2010
  9. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    What driver have you tested? And make sure that the GTX460 on the top pcie lane is the default card? And what kind of pci-e lanes do you have, is it 2x16pci and last maybe x8 or x4, could be that the pcie lane you got youre physx card in does not support real x16, only looks like one? Make sure of that?
     
  10. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    Thanks.

    1. 280.63 Beta / 280.89 Beta / 280.89 WHQL
    2. one GTX460 is def at top pice lane x16
    3. I have PCIE16X_1/PCIE16X_2 /PCIE16X_3 runs at x16/x8/x8 speed - please look here :
    http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Pr...?DetailID=1155&CategoryID=1&MenuID=15&LanID=0

    any problem you think?
     

  11. foci

    foci Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX460 1024MB
  12. HamidFULL

    HamidFULL Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
    Yes bro
     
  13. FlinchingNinja

    FlinchingNinja Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 HAWK, 88GTS 4 Physics
    The board could be cutting the lanes on 2 out of 3 connectors when 3 cards are connected, shove the 2 460s in the bottom and see if you can enable sli then.
     
  14. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,640
    Likes Received:
    1,708
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Hi!

    What do you guys think; is it actually even possible to achieve what HamidFull is trying to do? My guess would be that a 3-way SLI mobo is designed to run in 3-way SLI mode only with three cards.

    It's probably due to a chipset limitation that you simply can't run 2 cards in SLI with the third card separate on a 3-way SLI motherboard. You can only either run 2-way SLI with the third slot empty or run 3-way SLI with three identical cards.

    If you had three 3-way SLI capable cards, you could enable 3-way SLI and THEN choose the card you wish to use for PhysX. Actually, that must be it. You cannot enable SLI mode with three cards if they aren't all alike. A 3-way SLI mobo cannot run two cards in SLI and exclude the third, it can only run your configuration in "non-SLI" mode. Buying a third GTX 460 wouldn't help either as it only supports 2-way SLI.

    This is of course only my guess, and it's not very helpful either, but I was hoping I could assist you in finding the cause of the problem. Or at least start a debate on the matter.
     
  15. Rjudgey

    Rjudgey Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HAWK GTX460 1GB SLI
    SLI issue

    Well funny thing is I'm having the same issue, have a Asus Sabertooth TUF X58 with two MSI Hawks in SLI and a 8800GT as Physx, with the old 259 and below driver was working fine, loaded new 260 and above and refuses to enable SLI on the GTX460's even with the 8800GT in or out. Now strange thing is i have an old Asus Formula Striker 2 with a Quad core heavily overclocked with a pair of Asus GTX460's and a 8800GT in there and with the latest drivers it works blinking fine!! Personally i think Intel haven't paid the bills to Nvidia lately and they've disabled the SLI function on all boards other than their own chipset! Even tried the extremesystems.com SLI hack and that didn't work on the new drivers either! I've had to revery back to the old 259 series drivers which is a shame as the 260 is noticeably faster on 400 series cards. My Quad core is benching nearly as fast as my new I7 system!! Any one else had same or similar issue?
     

  16. NightCrawler™

    NightCrawler™ Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 EVGA GTX460 1 8800GTSSC
    I've got no issues here on My Rampage Extreme II running 2 460GTX and 1 8800GT SSC..
    Running the 1504 BIOS and all the latest drivers...
     
  17. Zurech

    Zurech Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX xxx 6850 with 120mm
    You have to set in the bios the PCIE to 16/8/8 and run the sli on the 8/8. This according to the manufacturer via the link you provided should work. Try that and post back. I have the 261.00 installed but will be trying my own similar setup but with two 8800gts in sli and a single 8800gt ; To make sure it does work like its supposed to with the drivers (but diff mobo and cards.)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010
  18. TheSarge

    TheSarge Master Guru

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X
    The solution is: Buy a better motherboard. You need something that can handle having all three PCIe x16 slots in x16 mode if you want to run with three video cards. Something like the ASUS P6T7 WS Supercomputer is what you need.
     
  19. Zurech

    Zurech Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX xxx 6850 with 120mm
    He should not have to buy another mobo, the cards will run in 8x mode... he just has to set it manually in the bios to do so for SLI to work (and have them in the appropriate slot.)
     
  20. TheSarge

    TheSarge Master Guru

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X
    Sure, but he's going to narf the performance of his cards if he runs them at x8 mode.
     

Share This Page