Powercolor AGP HD 3850

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Paladinchan, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. honestjohn

    honestjohn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
    Yup the Gecube X1950XT was fastest AGP card I had ever owned as well. Just referenced an old post of mine ...

    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=9074980&postcount=68

    Gecube X1950XT TEC Turbo Fan 256 MB AGP / Gecube Recommended Overclock - Core 675 Mhz. / Memory 1400 Mhz. effective

    3DMark05: 9617
    3DMark06: 4860

    Gecube X1950XT TEC Turbo Fan 256 MB AGP / Overclocked / Core 675 Mhz. / Memory 1600 Mhz. effective

    3DMark05: 9818
    3DMark06: 4987 (Score in post above is wrong)
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  2. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    Nice, I got 4,933 on 3DMark06 with my Sapphire X1950 Pro 512mb at 580/1400 and 9,592 in 3DMark05
     
  3. Imperious

    Imperious Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX1070
    Thanks for that, as it seems to prove that the older 3D mark software is more cpu limited whereas the newer ones are more gpu limited(with modern video cards that is)

    my scores are as follows. (pentium m@2.8ghz, 7800gs@various speeds)
    3dmark01 32733
    3dmark03 16235
    3dmark05 7585
    3dmark06 3676

    old cpu p4 2.6c@ 3.2ghz, rest of system exactly the same
    3dmark01 19814
    3dmark03 14109
    3dmark05 6297
    3dmark06 3228

    Its definitely looking good for my current system with the 3850.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008
  4. Dustpuppy

    Dustpuppy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    integrated - fffffffuuuuu
    I'm quite happy with the card. I just put it in with a proper system and got much nicer benchmarks.

    Core2duo e8400
    DDR2 1066

    3dmark 06

    Main Test Results
    3DMark Score 9609 3DMarks
    SM 2.0 Score 4003 Marks
    SM 3.0 Score 4298 Marks
    CPU Score 2710 Marks

    I don't think my cards overclocked, but specifically I have a http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814103051
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008

  5. masterman

    masterman Banned

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek 1950pro 635/790 Omega7.10
    Ocing the CPU helps , but not by much ... OCing the GPU caused big gains in test scores , OCing the Vram seems to do the most good !!
     
  6. xixou

    xixou Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    inno3d 1070 3x (4)
  7. masterman

    masterman Banned

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek 1950pro 635/790 Omega7.10
    SO why do we need PCI-e 2.0 , If AGP is so good ??
     
  8. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,792
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    Good way to make more money.
     
  9. another-user

    another-user Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x1950xt
  10. Benito82

    Benito82 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor Hd3850 AGP 512
    The question is how much does his CPU contribute towards those 17357 Marks

    Consider my 3dMark05 Score again with the HD 3850 on my P4 single core prescott @ 4Ghz of a mere 9389

    By the way, I scored 6482 on 3DMark06
     

  11. honestjohn

    honestjohn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
    It contributes a lot. He's using a dual-core overclocked to 3.4 ghz.
     
  12. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
  13. evolucion888

    evolucion888 Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 64 LC
    Hi, I'm surprised that your system doesn't reach the 10k score with your CPU, I score 10384, but since I reformat, for some reason, now I score only 10,196, weird. Will I see a severe CPU bottleneck with the HD 3850??
     
  14. evolucion888

    evolucion888 Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 64 LC
    Nice overclock with that CPU!! I see that even with that, you are CPU bound, I experienced the same thing with my Pentium 4 EE 3.4GHz, when I upgraded from the X800XT PE to the X1950XT, my 3DMark05 score went up from 6,184 to 7,784, I saw that people with X1950PRO's scored much higher, so I changed my P4 to this CPU and now I score over 10k in 3DMark05, and about 4,926 in 3DMar06 (With my Pentium 4 EE I scored 4,702, not a big improvement though), but in games in general, the performance boost is nice, I just feel sorry that I'm not able to overclock this CPU beyond 2.6GHz and I see people going beyond 2.7GHz up to 3GHz!!
     
  15. evolucion888

    evolucion888 Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 64 LC
    Hi!! How did you manage to overclock that CPU that far!! Which V-Core is your CPU running currently at?, I'm at 1.46V, with the previous Pentium M 780, I wasn't even able to go beyond 2.46GHz. Sometimes I think that the V core readings aren't completely accurate due to the adapter or BIOS, not sure. If you can enlight me!! :bang:
     

  16. Imperious

    Imperious Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX1070
    I run my cpu at a stable 2.71ghz (226x12) and 1.5375v bios, I can bench at 2.8 but it isn't stable, even at 1.6v.
    Before I fitted the Dothan I did a vcore droop mod to the mobo, which stops the cpu voltage dropping when under load, but I'm not certain that has any effect with the ct-479 fitted. Other than that I would say the bios voltage is very accurate.
    I fitted a Zalman 7000cu cooler which likely helps a lot, and also flashed my mobo's bios to that of a P4P800se, which gave me multiplier adjust and full Pat (mam) enable as well as extra Ram speed settings.
    The way these motherboards overclock the cpu's is the main issue, as they apply the fsb before the multi, which in the case of the 780 means a 17x multi, so to get over 200fsb would mean being able to post at 3.4 before the lower multiplier gets applied. I am certain of this as I previously had a 715 and couldn't get anywhere near 200fsb. Had to settle with 162x15 = 2439mhz.
    My highest fsb is 250x11 for 2750mhz, but it rarely posts at that fsb, will do 246 though regularly.
    Your 750 has a 14x multi so that could hold it back slightly, try more volts, it won't hurt it, but I don't like the idea of 1.6v constant. some people have modded their ct-479 adaptors for up to 1.8v, they are very scarce now so mine is staying stock.
    A couple more ideas, You are running 4x1mb ram sticks?, It's always been said that 1 stick overclocks better than 2, 2 better than 4, so that could also be an issue.
    What heatsink are You using?

    Hope this helps..
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  17. evolucion888

    evolucion888 Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 64 LC
    Yeah, they're scarce, I found them on a Canada E tailer, and took almost a month to get here, I bought two of them just in case hehe. Yeah, I'm running with 4 High Performance DDR sticks, and I'm using the stock cooler that comes with the adapter, it idles at 39c and goes on full load up to 60c (Which is far from the Thermal Spec of 100C), How did you manage to fit the Zalman 7000cu? With such cooler, for sure I should be able to overclock slighly more, thanks for those tips, I will use them once I think that I need a better performance boost.
     
  18. honestjohn

    honestjohn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
    No, not that severe. Your CPU seems capable enough with its present overclock to make it a worthy upgrade, depending on the price of HD 3850 of course.
     
  19. another-user

    another-user Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x1950xt

    part of it may be in the ram. im only running 1gig where as your running 4gigs. im not sure how big of difference it would make, but im willing to bet some.
     
  20. easy2007

    easy2007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD RX470 4GB
    no you have not read it wrong the 3850 does perform very close and sometimes faster than a 8800GTS 320. which is really annoying i know coz when i got my car dit was so fricken fast. and cost nearly twice as much as a 3850 to. oh well still love my card.
     

Share This Page