Powercolor AGP HD 3850

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Paladinchan, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. Klaus_1250

    Klaus_1250 Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 AGP
    But where do you get your drivers? I've been doing some research, but I found many complaints from people that the only drivers that worked with the card were those of XFX and they were not up-to-date.

    Do the official nVidia drivers work for your card? (and the ones in *nix?)
     
  2. jbgoode

    jbgoode Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    275GTX /GTX580
    Wow best oxymoron ever : Ultimate system & ASROCK mobo!
    !LOL!!
     
  3. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead


    have you ever had one ? , this is the first i have had and it works as it says on the box :wanker: . runs crysis fine and also supports the new phenom cpu and all the x2 am2 amd cpus "running an athlon x2 6000 in it atm" . but running a 7800gs 256 so these cards should run better "depending on drivers"
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  4. alcpe

    alcpe Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7950GT AGP
    at the moment I have original nVidia 169.09, all games running - no exceptions.

    btw: HD3850 available here: http://azerty.nl/producten/product_detail/162/65169/radeon-hd3850.html

    price ~180E.
     

  5. Benito82

    Benito82 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor Hd3850 AGP 512
    Well guys I got the Powercolor HD 3850 AGP last thursday for 185€ so yes...the card is (was) out there. The Etailer I got it from is Mindfactory but they don't list the cards anymore (took it off the website 2 days after I purchased it). I guess the rumors about a sales stop due to lacking driver support are correct because I can verify that the card does not work with the latest 8.1 drivers and the agp hotfix doesn`t help either! I have to admit though that the drivers from Powercolor (they come on a CD-R without label..talk about a fishy release) work just fine for me.

    I had no problems installing and running the card. Powerdrive lets me clock the card at 720 GPU and 950 the RAM...can't go further because either the BIOS or Drivers don't support any higher settings under Powerdrive. ATITool does NOT work so far with the card and neither does RivaTuner!! So for now i'm stuck with the 720/950 settings which is by all means enough for me right now.

    I can tell all you doubters that this card is pretty damn fast, it sure gave my AGP rig a quantum jump. I love being able to play all the latest games in 1920x1200 resolution which was impossible with my older card, Gainward 7800 (the one with the G71!).
     
  6. MJay27

    MJay27 Master Guru

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 2GB DDR5
    That´s really good that the card works at least for one user. How much Points do you get in 3DMark2005?

    But the fact is still that the PowerColor Drivers are unstable and incompatible with many configurations. From what I Found on the Internet other users are complaining about non working Drivers for the HD3850 AGP right now too and can´t get it to work like me either.

    I just can´t imagine that the card would be incompatible with my Hardware when the X1950 Pro AGP runs fine and stable with the same PCI-E to AGP bridge Chip.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  7. honestjohn

    honestjohn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
    Just in case you missed my reply to your other post where you mentioned this .....

    7900 series AGP users can use any driver set they wish to if they know how to edit a simple text file. All they need to do is add a couple of lines to two of the install files and they can use any driver set they want to. Most 7900 Series AGP users are already aware of this, but for those who are not, all you have to do is copy and paste the info below into the "nv4_disp.inf" and "modes.txt" files located in the Nvidia Driver Setup Folder. Sure it's a hoop to jump through, but it's a very, very small one. The information below is widely available using a simple Google Search and I picked it up myself from the XFX Support Forum.

    Most users won't even have to mess with the fix below as XFX is very current with their modified driver releases and they're usually available within days of the Official Nvidia Driver Set anyway. The only time I really needed to mod the files was when I wanted to tryout one of the Beta releases. I had a 7950GT AGP for quite a while by the way and it was my last AGP card.

    nv4_disp.inf (Fix)

    Under [NVIDIA.Mfg] add:

    %NVIDIA_BR02.DEV_02E4.1% = nv4_NV3x, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_02E4
    %NVIDIA_BR02.DEV_02E3.1% = nv4_NV3x, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_02E3


    Under [Strings] add:

    NVIDIA_BR02.DEV_02E4.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GT"
    NVIDIA_BR02.DEV_02E3.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS"


    Modes.txt (Fix) Add lines below to File

    // 02E4 - NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GT
    // 02E3 - NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  8. honestjohn

    honestjohn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
    That's great to hear, do you have any pics or benches? CD-R huh? Now that's a first, never heard of that one before.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2008
  9. another-user

    another-user Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x1950xt

    this goes with out saying, but...your our guinea pig, so get benching. i know it doesnt mean much, but id like to see some 3dmark 05/06, counter strike stress test, and some COD4 benchies if you dont mind.
     
  10. Benito82

    Benito82 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor Hd3850 AGP 512
    Alright so I'm back with a little bit more information. I'm not much of a benchmarker but I installed 3dMark 05 and ran a test at standard settings. First of all, the programm recognizes the card correctly in the settings as HD 3850 but it shows the GPU frequency as 337Mhz and the RAM frequency as 416Mhz *scratches head*. Also of note is the fact that 3dMark reads the drivers date as the 25th December 07. Wow...looks like Powercolor just went ahead, fiddled with some unsupported drivers and rushed out the cards to beat the other companies

    Bear in mind that first of all, my mobo sucks it's only DDR1 and not even dual channel and second I ran the tests at 1024x768 which doesn't do the 512MB RAM on the card justice, it would need 1920x1200 to dust other cards that have 256MB.

    Anyway, so the first test gave me a result of...9389 points at standard clock 669Mhz GPU and 829 RAM.

    After that I went to Powerdrive and set the speeds to 720 GPU and 950 RAM and behold the result of my second test was...9197 points.

    HUH?!?! Yea that's what I was like. No idea whats going on but overclocking obviously does not work yet with the card...it's probably those drivers so we will really have to wait for 8.2 to unlock this babies potential
     

  11. another-user

    another-user Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x1950xt
    could you put up a link for your test results? id like to compare the numbers to mine. i score almost 10k with my 1950xt, but id be willing to bet your cpu scores are much lower then mine (4758)
     
  12. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
    thats not much lower score than i get with my setup , looks like a good replacement for my other system which uses a 7800gs
     
  13. Imperious

    Imperious Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX1070
    My system did a best of 7585 in 3dmark 05 with my 7800gs, so I should get over 10000 when I get one, hopefully.

    Good on Ya Benito, You're the first person on the planet as far as I know to post any results at all. Keep em coming.
     
  14. josef109

    josef109 Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7600 GT 256MB AGP
    What's the difference between 3DMark 05 And 3DMark 06?....My itty-bitty score was 3417 in 3DMark 06...Should I have used 3DMark 05 instead?...As I'm typing this I get the feeling I should be on the freaking newbie forum asking this question...
     
  15. exiges

    exiges New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there!

    I had the same problem as you .... HD3850 AGP with XP64bit. Managed to get the powercolor ppl to come out with this driver. This fresh from oven. You can try it. Let me know if it works!

    Please download requested driver for Win XP 64bit from this link:



    ftp://driver1.cptech.com.tw/Driver/ati845/8452XP64AGP.zip



    Or download driver from Ati website in this link:



    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/hotfix/xp64_8.451.4_57941.exe



    Please also make sure have install newest .net frame work software (64bit edition) from MS website before install vga drive.

    Thank you help
     

  16. MJay27

    MJay27 Master Guru

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 2GB DDR5
    The Problem is that I have both XP and Vista 32 Bit Edition and a 64 Bit Driver driver won´t work with it anyway.
     
  17. Benito82

    Benito82 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor Hd3850 AGP 512
    Unfortunately it won't let me save the results online because the driver is not certified by the program.

    My CPU is rated at 4414

    I really hope ATi will get the card working correctly with the 8.2 drivers and that I may start overclocking it soon ;)
     
  18. Imperious

    Imperious Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix GTX1070
    Whilst we're on the subject of 3DMARK 05, I have dug up my old result from when I had my old P4 2.6c in my mobo, and compared it to my current Pentium M 740 cpu. I am trying to give an idea of how different cpu's might compare with these benchmarks, to even things up I ran my 7800gs at the same speeds I had it running when I did the P4 test. Only discrepancies would be different drivers used, and different versions of 3DMARK 05, 1.2vs 1.3.

    1. P4 2.6C@3.25 (unstable) 7800gs @ 495/1462

    3dmark05 result 6297 cpu score 4242

    2. Pentium M 1.73@2.712 (stable) 7800gs @ 497/1458

    3dmark05 result 7329 cpu score 5237

    edit... just ran with gpu at 513/1579 (cpu 2712) and overall is higher at 7513, but cpu much lower at 5055, so I can conclude that the 3dmark05 cpu score is not exactly trustworthy.
    edit again... if the cpu fps score changes by as much as 0.1fps for these tests it will make a large difference to the cpu result. Futuremark should have designed a cpu test that gives a higher fps to make the result more consistent. where I got 5237 I had exactly 0.1 fps higher for both tests than I did with the 5055 result.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2008
  19. MJay27

    MJay27 Master Guru

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 2GB DDR5
    The PowerColor Driver must be really an unstable piece of junk. I found out that they seem to work only on Intel MoBo Chipsets.

    How does it come that I score 9045 Points on 3DMark2005 with my X1950 Pro which is almost the Score that Benito scored with the HD3850 AGP?

    Please ATI make Driver Support for this card!!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2008
  20. Benito82

    Benito82 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor Hd3850 AGP 512
    I have 2 possible answers to your question. The first as you already mentioned is the driver...the Powercolor driver in it's current state is first of all...not up to date and second to be considered BETA at best.

    Another possibility is that at such a low resolution as I was able to benchmark (1024x768) my CPU is the bottleneck, not being able to shovel enough data to and from the GPU. I`m sure that at higher reoslutions the card would already (even with the crappy drivers) beat your X1950 by a big amount of fps.
     

Share This Page