Power Supply dead, x1800xt crumbled?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by tukm, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
    ok i bought an xclio 450w for my x1800xt 512mb. i replaced my old 300w with the xclio but once i turn the computer on, the cpu fan spin for 1 sec and stop and nothing else is seen. the gateway button light in front of my computer is lighted but nothing on monitor or anything. i cant hear even the power supply fan. i think its a dead psu? once i put my old psu on everything work fine.

    ok so i was pissed that i wont be able to use the x1800xt so i slapped it in with the old 300w. nothing bad happen. in fact im using it now as i write this. the thing is the 6900 3dmark05 score!!! this thing should be getting 8900+. lastest driver too.

    now the question is, can low power supply really ABLE to put out low performance? or is it something else.
     
  2. mrcrangle

    mrcrangle Master Guru

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 320MB(stock)
    Hi. Not sure exactly what the question in your last sentence is, but it's fair to say that if your system won't boot with the new PSU in but will boot with the old PSU in then it's highly likely to be a faulty PSU! I'd take a trip to RMA-land with it :D

    I wouldn't think it advisable to run a new high-end graphics card with all its power requirements on a 300W PSU. My own card is recommended for a PSU of 350W or over. My advice would be to slap your old GPU back in until the new PSU is fixed...
     
  3. Xaser04

    Xaser04 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    What strength 12v rails does that Xclio have? (never heard of that make before)

    The low score could be contributed to the psu and also partly to your processor.

    Mine stock scores 9.3k.

    The weak psu will cause the card to hold back on the clocks (throttle itself) and thus cause the lower score.
     
  4. foey

    foey Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia 7900GTO @ 720/800mhz
    The problem with running a lower end PSU on a high end system, normally results all the rails rising and falling and not providing enough power to all the hardware.

    Ive never underpowered a ATi GPU, but underpowered a Nvidia system, where the Nvidia software come into control, and slowed the GPU down to basic speeds. That was with a 5900XT
     

  5. Your card is starving for more power. What I think is happening is your card is not able to go into high performance 3D mode with clocks at 625/1500, but are staying at 594/1300 which is the cards standard 2D power saving mode.....
     
  6. foey

    foey Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia 7900GTO @ 720/800mhz
    Xaser, thats a good score for 3Dmark 05, is that all stock?

    Heres mine,
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1908892
    Everything at stock.

    tukm

    Can you post a link from the ORB to compaire the 3Dmark project. This will tell us what the cards clocked at.
     
  7. That's pretty good for a X1800XT at stock clocks, here is mine the X1900XT at stock clocks, but with a slight nudge on the CPU to 2.6Ghz


    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1908892

    If you OC your card a bit you can easily net over 10k, my X1800XT was closing in on 11k before I swapped it for this card....

    BTW with the clocks in my profile I'm at about 12.3k....
     
  8. Ekajaya"VaLvE"

    Ekajaya"VaLvE" Master Guru

    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770
    The problem is not on the PSU.Its the processor,look at the ORB for x1800 with pentium 4,the scores are all lower than with AMD and x1800,pentium does really sux at 05.I only got 9400 on 05 with p4 4.1 and my x1800xt oced to 750/850.And if you can ,for PSU,choose PSU with +12V at 30A or more at 400W or more.
    and dont be too worry,just enjoy your gaming.
     
  9. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
  10. netnexus

    netnexus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,156
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4870x2
    Wow, I never realised the X1800XT was so strong. Seeing as it was aimed to compete against the 7800GTX256, it seems to be getting scores the 7800GTX512 gets - that's a hell of a fast card.

    If my knowlege is correct, a STOCK 7800GTX256 only nets around 8k - and that's if you have a good CPU.
     

  11. Yeah, its a common mistake people make. The X1800XT was intended to go up against the 7800GTX 512 but missed the mark ever so slightly.

    7800GTX 512 = 9.8k
    X1800XT 512 = 9.2k
    7800GTX 256 = 8.2k
    7800GT 256 = 7.3k

    those are assuming stock clocks
     
  12. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
    SO WHY IS MY X1800XT 6900 :p is my 3ghz p4 that bad?
     
  13. Probably...lol, make sure all of you drivers are installed and that your PCI-E link width is X16
     
  14. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
    well i looked on the online result browsers for 3dmark05 and for the x1800 series all i find with people with p4 around 3ghz had like around 6500-7400 scores. well i thought it could be the x1800xl cause 3dmark05 doesnt say but there were ones that had 512mb has to be x1800xt. the 7900GT for p4 around 3ghz was also like around 7000 also...then did i waste my money and should have gotten a 7800gt or x1800xl or even a x850xt pe for half the price because its almost same score that i saw. Is it really possible a p4 630 2ghz can bottleneck 1500+ 3dmark05 score? i doubt it. the p4 630 is like 170$. or is it the psu. can i expect a 1500+ score jump when i get another power supply? my old x800 pro got 5000 so a x1800xt only 2000 more? :O man this is so weirde. i thought i should be getting close to benches i seen online...like 8500+ 3dmark05.

    And by the way, isnt it kind of amazing im running a x1800xt on my 300watt power supply? lol

    ps. i do notice great improvement in games but if i am able to get 8500+ on 3d05 then im sure it be way better. right now i can play 12x10 (by editing the settings.cfg to allow this res) fear at high/max (2xAA) and get 60fps on stress test. plays nice. i can also play oblivion on ultra high settings at 12x10. not super smooth but i say around 35-40 fps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2006
  15. Well, it's a combination to your crappy PSU and crappy CPU, when I had the X1800XT I was scoring around 9k stock with it and at the time I had a AMD 3500+.
     

  16. netnexus

    netnexus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,156
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    4870x2
    Ahh, I see. I did not know it was meant to compete against the 512. A common mistake indeed.
     
  17. nascarmike

    nascarmike Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 4870
    Just instaled my X1800XT but I was wondering what and where is the PCI-E link that is supposed to be set to 16 on width?
     
  18. tweakboy

    tweakboy Banned

    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS AX800XTPE@550/1215Mhz
    The minimum recommended from ATI and Nvidia for 7th gen boards is 450w ,,

    That is your problem son,,,,
     
  19. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
    yes but is it a fact that if the power supply is below the requirement then it wont be as fast? so you saying that right now its drawing little power yet its working but more electricity = more 3dmark scores?
     
  20. Altazimuth

    Altazimuth Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X 5870
    Re PSU:
    That's why you should get a decent brand. The 256MB version of that card can draw 300 watts (Total) when running 3dmark05- Proxycon, so the 512MB version will need even more.
    Also, I think those OEM type psu's are underrated or something. So maybe that's why it works. You can check the voltages and see if they're normal under load.

    Instead of all that faffing about... RMA the Xclio, and get a decent brand, dual-rail (with 20amps on 12V1, 20amps on 12V2) 550 watt -- because you'll need a bit of room for overclocking.
     

Share This Page