1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Post your broadband speed

Discussion in 'Network questions and troubleshooting' started by lmimmfn, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. SickBoy254698

    SickBoy254698 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 780 OC
    Phoenix, AZ....

    $83 a month

    Cox offers another tier above mine but for me it's overkill. In Phoenix you only get 3 choices. Cox, Centurylink, and Comcast. My speed is about double the fastest Centurylink will give me. Don't know about Comcast but I've always been happy with my Cox.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2014
  2. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    891
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Choice Cable TV Puerto Rico - 20 Down Mbits / 2 Up Mbits only $38.99 a month uncapped - unlimited :D , not bad at all consider I'm in a very small island in the Carribbean. Fibre optic is coming soon.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2014
  3. DeDeMouse

    DeDeMouse Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 6950 2GB
  4. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,814
    Likes Received:
    80
    GPU:
    GTX 980/290X
    [​IMG]

    $75 CDN, unlimited.
     

  5. holystarlight

    holystarlight Master Guru

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    Nvidia 2080 TI SLI
    [​IMG]
    Virgin Media - Central London, £30 per month
     
  6. holystarlight

    holystarlight Master Guru

    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    Nvidia 2080 TI SLI
    that's pretty sick speeds. Never heard of that company before either!
     
  7. Loobyluggs

    Loobyluggs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    455
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070 FTW
    I stand to be corrected, but there are only 2 companies offering 1GB up and down in the UK using FTTP, and, not using the BT Fibre network 'Colossus'

    Gigaclear (whom I shall be connected to soonish) who deal in small, remote village clusters & Hyperoptic, who deal in towerblocks in select cities.
     
  8. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,013
    Likes Received:
    665
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    And here I'm perfectly happy with my 50/25 connection....
     
  9. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Crapcast + VPN = soo much better
    [​IMG]
    I was lucky to get 30 down before.
     
  10. Andrew LB

    Andrew LB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080@2,025
    I just got a BIG boost in speed from Time Warner Cable. Previously I had their "Extreme" internet which was 30/5Mbps and as of yesterday, they upgraded my tier to 200/20Mbps.

    Unfortunately the Motorola SB6141 Modem I bought a while back which WAS listed as compatible with 200Mbps, has since been removed from the TWC list. So I'm stuck with 100/10Mbps even though Motorola's site says it will do over 300.

    The issue is the number of bonded channels. For over 100Mbps, TWC requires 16 channels bonded downstream. The SB6141 Only has 8.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

  11. Loobyluggs

    Loobyluggs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    455
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070 FTW
    ^^

    How does that cost, if you don't mind me asking?
     
  12. War child

    War child Master Guru

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gainward 980Ti SLI
    [​IMG]

    Not bad for something I dont have to pay for right? :)
     
  13. Andrew LB

    Andrew LB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080@2,025

    Right now I have a package which includes:

    HDTV (2x HD-DVR's, 1 converter box)
    -200+ HD channels, HBO, Cinemax, Preferred TV, and Variety Package
    Ultimate 200/20 Mbps Internet
    -Customer Supplied modem
    Home Phone
    -Nationwide free calling + western europe
    -MTA VOIP modem (no fee)

    After all the fees, taxes, HD-DVR leases, and more taxes... it winds up costing $149/mo with the current promotional price i'm on. When that runs out, they're going to try raising my rates up to about $205/mo. I always renegotiate the price every year.



    I just took a look on their site and it seems for at least a year you can get "Standard Internet" for $34.99/mo + $19.99 to upgrade to the Extreme speed level (30/5) which in my area just got increased to 200/20 Mbps.

    So... $55+ taxes and fees for internet at 200 Mbps.
     
  14. Loobyluggs

    Loobyluggs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    455
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070 FTW
    Nice.

    Just had it confirmed that I'll be getting FTTP by the end of next month.

    1GB up and down, for £37 p/m inc tax unlimited - that's about $65 inc tax.

    Once installed I'll run a speed test.
     
  15. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,013
    Likes Received:
    665
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    I just got a free upgrade of sorts.....


    Old...
    [​IMG]

    New...
    [​IMG]

    Advertised download rate didn't change, but my upload went up nicely.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014

  16. keasy

    keasy Banned

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    d1cK
    Thays a great upload. I get up to 160 mb downloads but my up is only 12.
    I'd love a higher up.

    The Days of low up high down are over.
    We all use or upload as much as our download these days. Especially with the uptake of
    Cloud and social media.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
  17. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,013
    Likes Received:
    665
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    I got my upload speed increase early. Verizon just recently announced that they were gonna increase upload speeds to match download speeds but offered a chance for current subscribers to get the "upgrade" early. It was supposed to start with new subscribers and roll out to current subscribers over a period of time. With as much as I upload to my google drive account on a regular basis, it was hard not to take the offer when presented.

    Wish my connection at work was as fast....lol
    This is my connection at work...
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
  18. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    My ISP is ****, but when it's working ok these are my speeds.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Andrew LB

    Andrew LB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080@2,025
    I just replaced my Motorola SB6141 modem which only has 8 downstream channels with a leased Arris DG1670a from TWC which has 16 downstream channels and here are the results!

    [​IMG]
     
  20. biggerx

    biggerx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,588
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
    You're getting Time Warner in Irvine? I thought all we had was Cox?
     

Share This Page