Post your broadband speed

Discussion in 'Network questions and troubleshooting' started by lmimmfn, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. Ali-K

    Ali-K Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290X
    Seems like we gots some fast internets in Romania :banana: 10MB download, 10MB upload, unrestricted, "unmonitored" for just 12 Euro! No wonder piracy is sky high...
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  2. TARNY

    TARNY Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  3. Chillin

    Chillin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,814
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    -
    Sweet!

    [​IMG]

    Was fooling around with some options on my PC, got the ping down to 5 from 15. :banana:
     
  4. airbud7

    airbud7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,835
    Likes Received:
    4,744
    GPU:
    pny gtx 1060 xlr8

  5. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    Ok as promised :nerd:


    that was then ^


    This is now, although im still in my 10 day profile period and i had lost Internet for some time due to losing sync in rainy weather :(

    [​IMG]

    same everything, from plusnet on 21cn equipment, to BE broadband on LLU equipment.


    I still have noise on my line at times and can experience disconnections which through much investigation is looking like a crossed wire or break in the insulation on the pole wire outside my house so will one day soon get this sorted and build up a better rate.

    my router stat:

    Attainable Rate (Kbps): Download 4798 Upload 1083
    Current Rate (Kbps): Download 3745 Upload 1079

    Im really impressed with the upload it was 370kbps before !

    SNR has dropped from 18 to 6 !

    so i think a few days and i will get the speedtest.net upto 3.7-4.0 and iam very happy with this considering everything. So there you go its official on my line LLU rules now to sort my BT line fault
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  6. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Nice one matey :D

    Did you get the line stats including attenuation ?

    e.g. mine are:

    Current Rate: 15541 kbs 972 kbs
    Max Rate: 15541 kbs 1004 kbs

    Current Noise Margin: 4.5 dB 7.2 dB
    Current Attenuation: 36.3 dB 17.1 dB
    Current Output Power: 20.4 dBm 12.3 dBm
     
  7. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    my upload is as fast as yours! crazy.

    current line stats:

    DL UL
    SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 59 63
    Attenuation (0.1 dB): 590 312 (6db and a weirdly low 3db up?)
    Output Power (0.1 dBm) 176 124
    Attainable Rate (Kbps): 4702 1079
    Current Rate (Kbps): 3745 1079

    Its the low upload db that leads me to belive that once my line noise is cured and disconnects don't happen then my DL SNR should drop to 5-4.5DB and i should get the proper 4.0meg maybe a wee bit higher :)

    I will get there in the end, its been nearly 3years getting bits of my line up to scratch and started off with 105k a sec should prep me well in the (mega distant) future when the village will get fiber to cabinet
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  8. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    [​IMG]

    todays are slightly up ^ although had to reboot router when first coming in from work as it was displaying 0.500kbps ? once i had done this it was faster still (notice how i now chose newbury to test as that was the original test server i posted (although all were as bad back then)

    SNR Margin (0.1 dB): 62 61
    Attenuation (0.1 dB): 590 312
    Output Power (0.1 dBm): 189 124
    Attainable Rate (Kbps): 5451 ! 1092
    Rate (Kbps): 4152 1092

    so again moving from the bt side kit on plusnet to llu has seen me rise from 1.8-2.0meg to a theoretical 5.4 :O

    Anyone who uses that kit where I live is unlucky I guess :(

    with regards to SRA BE told me that there working to implement it but it is not available yet (got this via a support call)
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  9. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    What modem are you using as those stats are confusing lol.

    Your doing well for the line though.

    Are you using a filtered face plate at all?
     
  10. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    hi the stats are 60 is 6db :)

    last year when i was with 02 on llu (hence remembering the previous speeds) we arranged for BT to test the line, typically they came out and did the easy bits only which involved a new master socket. Fair play to plusnet they did get an engineer out from BT (same one who lived locally and also happened have his service commissioned onto new lines) he fitted an ADSL 1.0 MAX faceplate onto the master socket which is to say a straight connection no separate micro filter and they are meant to be really good at filtering noise? the wire i run is a UTP cat 5 RJ11 cable to my TP-link too and there is no other connections in the house or noise.

    downloading Unreal Gold on steam :O and im getting about 450kbps as opposed to 180-190 max on previous i know for some people they are beyond the 200-300-400 range worries but for me it makes a real difference especially getting 1MB upload!
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011

  11. *Bio*

    *Bio* Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6620G
    450KB/s do you mean?

    if so thats great for the line stats

    also my work

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Psychlone

    Psychlone Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD5970 Engineering
    30Mbps/4.5 up
    Optimum Cable

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (don't know what happened on the major dip, while watching, it was maxed out on download speed at >30Mbps but ended at 8 for some reason...)

    Just switched to this from an ADSL line. Couldn't be happier, and I'm spending literally HALF of what I was paying before for 7.5M/896K.


    Psychlone
     
  13. gamerk2

    gamerk2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
    At home, 15Mb/1.7Mb down/up. Thank you cablevison :D
     
  14. *Bio*

    *Bio* Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6620G
  15. John Dolan

    John Dolan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX 780 SLI

  16. maleficarus™

    maleficarus™ Banned

    Messages:
    3,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX460 800/1600/4000
    [​IMG]

    To test packet loss:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  17. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    [​IMG]

    Mild tune up for a little more upstream :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  18. JJayzX

    JJayzX Master Guru

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Evga RTX2070XCUltra
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Verizon Fios
     
  19. mad_one3000

    mad_one3000 Member Guru

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx 7970 ghz editon
  20. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,932
    Likes Received:
    1,135
    GPU:
    RX 6900xt / RTX3090

Share This Page