Post your broadband speed

Discussion in 'Network questions and troubleshooting' started by lmimmfn, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,761
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
  2. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    i could post them but id be wasting your time. Ive had BT engineers out and they aren't willing to really do the leg work and sort the problem out its almost certainly the line splitter card or a poor crimp but nothing ever gets done at the D end :( however i have a suspicion that its the old underground cable contributing as when it rains the whole thing can slow and cut more.

    also sad to hear about orange not doing llu i suppose everything is going 21cn now Kitz says it is llu though?


    LLU
    AOL Available
    Be* Available
    C&W/Bulldog Not available
    Edge Telecom Not available
    Homechoice Not available
    Lumison Not available
    NewNet Not available
    Node4 Not available
    O2 Available
    Orange Available
    Pipex Not available
    Smallworld Not available
    Sky Available
    TalkTalk Available
    Tiscali Available 25.07.07
    UK Online Available
    WB Internet Not available
    Zen Not available


    my estimated speed has always been 2.0 - 2.5meg but i have had 4.0 meg for a few years, i moved from 02 because my broadband was unstable when the handset was lifted. then went to sky which was same speed with a bit more stability but the trade off was 80ms minimum ping with interlieving and not able to use my own router.
    so went from 420k a sec (sometimes 470k on 02) and 72.0 upload to a VERY unstable 1.4mbps on plusnet

    furthermore my snr went from 5-6db to 12-15db !

    at this stage i have nothing to lose my connection is ****ed and there is little anything that can be done other than moving home (but i like where i live)
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  3. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    .. btw just read the thread on Orange, since i havent got my mac until friday and havent paid any setup fees im going to cancel the initial account setup with orange and have already setup a DD with BE broadband :D

    seems like it might be my best choice, slightly better than 02 even. If my line is intermittent then it may aswell be intermittently fast as opposed to slow, however I will post the results when I get setup so we can compare genuine 21cn to llu comparisons on my arse connection.
     
  4. angershark

    angershark Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD

  5. *Bio*

    *Bio* Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6620G
    Try get on BEs SRA trial it could benefit you.
     
  6. Jar0

    Jar0 Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD5850
  7. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,761
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Wouldnt be a waste of time posting them mate, do it :D

    What modem are you using? Can make a difference.

    As Bio said, the SRA trial would be good (especially when running the most aggressive profile they offer :D).
     
  8. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    bio / aircool im interested in this so called SRA, what is it and what does it do?


    The router i use is a TP-Link Wireless-N 300Mbps ADSL2+ Modem/Router (TD-W8960N) Im sure there are models better than this but for wireless it seems pretty honest. its only short term until I finish my cab and can fit some rack mounted hardware inside.

    I also use a shielded RJ11 cable straight into an ADSL V1.0 max faceplate which is into a new BT master socket (part of the changes made by BT in order to try improve my connection and save the engineer actually going underground and having to do some real work ;) )
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  9. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,761
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    SRA is Seamless Rate Adaption.

    As the name implies sync speed is adaptable to the current line condition, however unlike the modem resyncing at a percentage decrease or fixed figure (of Noise Margin) it does so on the fly i.e. constantly.

    So you don't lose connection and maintain maximum throughput in poor line conditions.

    Still no line stats? :(

    TD-W8960N should be good to be fair.

    Now getting this.

    [​IMG]

    Needs some tuning :D

    Not bad for line around 2km long.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  10. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,457
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Tuf 3070Ti / P1000
    Getting this now

    [​IMG]

    My router seems to be crapping out lately. (Have a D-Link 655) any ideas on which of the new ones are any good ?
     

  11. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140

    what did you do to improve your speed so much?

    that speed would be a dream for me ! :nerd:
     
  12. angershark

    angershark Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD
    Have you guys tried http://testmy.net/?

    It seems to give a more accurate result for sustained download speed, at least for me it does.
     
  13. zipper

    zipper Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    GTX 680M
    Not here on the other side of the globe... (1/3 of the real speed here).
     
  14. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,761
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Changed ISP so I could, finally, get ADSL2+.
     
  15. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,164
    Likes Received:
    1,413
    GPU:
    RX 6900xt / RTX3090
    Finally my cable company did something and since yesterday im getting this all the time same speed 12Mb/down 512Mb/Up , a speed bump for free once in a while its good :) im happy.

    [​IMG]
     

  16. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    6700xt @2.7ghz
    im 12 years old and wat is this

    [​IMG]

    (now you all know where i am! o****)
     
  17. S3rgin

    S3rgin Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX2080Ti FE
  18. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,990
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    6700xt @2.7ghz
    im grape jelly over your upload :S
     
  19. *Bio*

    *Bio* Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6620G
  20. Ali-K

    Ali-K Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290X
    My net speed

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page