possible microstudder fix

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by padishah, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,049
    Likes Received:
    569
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    If you hover the mouse over the "Processor performance core parking min cores" setting it states that it specifies the *minimum* number of unparked cores as a percentage. That logically means you have to set the number to 100 in order to ensure no cores are parked.
     
  2. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,049
    Likes Received:
    569
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    To test whether the cores are parking or not then open Resource Monitor and click on the CPU tab. At 100% no cores will be parked and will show as 100% used. If you set the "Processor performance core blahblahblah" setting to 0 then you'll see that after a short time of inactivity cores will be shown as "Parked".
     
  3. padishah

    padishah Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2X Pny 470gtx's
  4. Detection

    Detection Banned

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 6850 - CrossFireX
    Well I tested this for a few days and in my experience it seemed to really effect multitasking -

    example, I was watching twit.tv live stream in my browser, browsing the net and burning a dvd and the entire PC locked up until the burn was done, other similar things have been happening too so I have reverted back
     

  5. Domingo

    Domingo Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 (EVGA)
    It didn't do anything for my couple of games that have stuttering and when looking at CoreTemp it gave me lots of random spikes for no apparent reason. While I'd randomly see spikes from 2-5% CPU usage, with this enabled it would go to 15% here and there for a second or two randomly.
    I just scrapped it after seeing no real benefit.
     
  6. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3070
    tried it,entire system felt sluggish,cpu usage was up definatly tooooo much imo,reverted back all is well,not so keen on this tweak
     
  7. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    270
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    ValueMax 0 or 100?
     
  8. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3070
    ValueMax 0
     
  9. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    270
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Try 100 instead because i think that's the right setting.
     
  10. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3070
    let me know how that goes
     

  11. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    It says "Specify the minimum number of unparked cores/packages allowed" which means when set to 100, it puts at least 100% of the cores unparked. It would make sense that you felt problems with it set to 0.
    Also deleting the same attributes from the "ea062031-0e34-4ff1-9b6d-eb1059334028" keys gives the max core option, would look like this,
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Detection

    Detection Banned

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 6850 - CrossFireX
    No, your mis-understanding

    There are a few ways of doing this trick, one of them is changing the value 64 to a 0 in the registry
     
  13. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    no he did it right, its available in power plan that's all you need to know, if you tweak in reg with those values like you mentioned now, then you tweak for all power plans..

    i did that too now and the funny thing is it was at 100% by default..


    so this 2nd new value (max core parking) is 0%?.. maybe that's why i didn't see a difference, because now i had both at 100% or what? now im confused too lol :D


    well looks like yea 0% is ok, i checked other plans; balanced, high perf. and by both its like so

    min core parking 10%
    max core parking 100%
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
  14. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Well the max options says "Specify the maximum number of unparked cores/packages allowed" which means when set to 0, it puts at least 0% of the cores parked.
     
  15. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    270
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    So the right settings are processor performance core parking min cores : 100%
    and processor performance core parking max cores : 0% ??
     

  16. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    yea looks like :nerd:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. paradox

    paradox Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d GTX 470 on HDTV
    Sorry for this but a parked core means that a core isnt used/in use?
     
  18. Infinity7_00

    Infinity7_00 Banned

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX580SC 1536mb
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
  19. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,049
    Likes Received:
    569
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Yes, core parking means the power to the core is disabled and thus it is inactive. This is obviously more useful for laptops running off of battery power. On desktops there no real need to park (i.e. disable) cores anyway (unless you're desperate to save every penny you can on your electric bills) and the benefit of having all the cores active is that some applications and games may have more consistent performance.
     
  20. paradox

    paradox Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d GTX 470 on HDTV
    Thanks for the explanation! so if say I disable parking...what should I see in the Task Manager's Resouce Monitor?that all cores are always in use(jumping up and down) even when I dont have any program running?
     

Share This Page