Possible? If so, how? FX5900->Quadro / 6800->Quadro

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by DarknessGFX, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Name is not important, as long as the chip is NV40, the cards are practically the same thing.
    You cannot do SLI on AGP only because the downstream bandwith is much lower than the PCI-E and because there are no dual AGP slots on any motherboard.
     
  2. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Why is there almost no difference between an FX4500 and my quadro under Spec8.1, and so much difference (twice as much) under Spec9? Are the bench results "tweaked" to suit the FX4500?

    Concerning SLI I was talking about PCIe, I know that SLI doesn't exist for AGP cards.

    EDIT: ok I got it, FX4500 is based on g70 gpu.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  3. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    I have just found an excellent website showing test results under Specviewperf9 and different quadros.

    Moreover, the CPU actually is VERY IMPORTANT!!! There is a comparison between a PentiumD930 and a C2DE6600, and there is almost +50% increase in the test results!!!!

    These Conroes are tha' bomb'! I am glad I got myself one :D

    The link to the tests: http://www.servodata.com.pl/testy/cad.htm
     
  4. chalamadad

    chalamadad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    He was referring to performance - said it was actually more comfortable. I ordered a 6800 Ultra today and will try to find out what the truth is. After all, even unmodded, it's still a good card given the low price. Worth a try I guess.

    And if you're interested in this, I also asked the guy if SLI would enhance Cinema4D performance. This is negative and is not supported in the near future.

    Did you use the latest version of Cinebench? Do you think it is possible Cinebench is behaving differently compared to real Cinema4D? I wonder if those quadro driver profiles are valid for both apps. If not, it is fairly clear that there is no difference being shown.
     

  5. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Yes, it's possible Cinebench is behaving differently but since I don't use Cinema4D, the only thing i can run is Cinebench. ;)
     
  6. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    more info

    ok well i am reporting back after trying the

    6800 U OC @ FX4000 with new strange motherboard Asrok Dual-VSTA this lets you put the conroe with AGP card. My idea was/is to get top performance for rendering, and still have Quatro like graphic OpenGL power.

    using also 2gb of 667mhz ram. 500 watt power supply (wondering if this is the problem or the strange $50 mobo or ????

    The frame rate in Specview Perf. 7.1 did not change much. However in Solidworks rendering time is about half, opening closing files half the time. Very nice.

    I am getting some stability issues. Specview is crashing half way through some of the tests! (pc reboots)

    Open GL games crash to desk top.

    I had to reinstall drivers, and solidworks once solidworks started crashing during render. (freeze up)

    was not getting this kind of problem with my old intel 875pbz motherboard and P4 3.4ghz. I am wondering what is up. Where might this instalbilitly suddenly be coming from this frankenstien motherboard?, i dont think the CPU is too hot its about 35cel.-50cel.

    Looked around in RivaTuner again at what options could be tinkered. V-Sinc is off in nvidia panel. using 77.56 drivers.

    kind of an open ended question but anyone got an idea why getting some crashes like this suddenly.


    side note.
    Also other info. my FX5950 on the other machine appears to be rendering soldiworks in realview without having modified the 77.56 drivers. just rivatuner was enough. however not getting true 3500fx frame rates so its not really true Quadro mod. This machine had the 6800 in it before so something inadvertantly started working there, as result of previouse hardware mod? strange.

    R
     
  7. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    NV30 and NV35 cards can also be modded with the same NVStrap procedure as the NV40 cards. That's why the mod can be "inherited" if you put an NV30 into a slot previously occupied by NV40.

    GeForce FX 5950 cannot be compared to Quadro FX 3500 because FX 3500 is a 20 pipeline G71 card with 7 vertex shaders while the GeForce is a 4x2 pipeline, 3 vertex shader NV35 card.
    You can compare GeForce 5900 and 5950 to Quadro FX 3000.
     
  8. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    ic

    ** edit ** got it stable now was a setting in bios enable flexibl RAM..

    quick question:

    in RivaTuner when toggling back from the Quadro to the Geforce should the card have professional unchecked? and uncheck straps? or just select Geforce and apply? Also is a reboot manditory?

    also should Reinstall be clicked!! or is apply enough. Seems I am getting real stability issues now when gaming with it on Geforce select. Thanks again..
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006
  9. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    This means you were overclocking your Ram to timings/fsb it couldn't handle. "Flexible" option means that if the Ram can't keep up, it can underclock itself automatically thus avoiding crashes.

    Can you post some Spec 8.1 or 9 results using your E6600?
     
  10. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    7/8/9spec the E6600 / 667 Ram 2gb / 6800U@FX400 / Asrok dual vsta mobo

    Bechmarking the E6600 / 667 Ram 2gb / 6800U@FX400 / Asrok dual vsta mobo
    upgrade $465 (pc3200 ugrade optional since mobo takes both dd2 and dd1)

    did a couple animation renderings in sw07 last night works fine quite stable, after tweeking the bios (off onboard stuff etc) game test was not so stable but that might be the rivatuner hack etc. game might not like 77.1 forware Quadro base drivers.

    1280x1024 32bit color no programs runing clean install xp pro sp2 vert sinc off all other options default..

    Here is results for 7 8 9 spec views: what do you think? there is huge x2 speed increase opening closing, saving, rendering solidworks files.

    my older system P4 3.4, 875 chipset, pc3200 2gb. i posted below in quote my 7.1 tests with my older system dont remember my fps in 8 and 9 test with older system.

    7.1

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 42.80

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
    drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 186.5

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
    dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 157.6

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 36.56

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 56.15

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 79.27


    Here is previose results with P4 3.4 system.
    8.1

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 46.41

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 34.51

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 23.82

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 32.59

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 75.59

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 0.00000

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 30.24

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 41.12

    8.1 on older p4 system
    9.0.3

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 23.60

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
    catia-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 27.34

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    ensight-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.55

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 26.77

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
    maya-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 22.93

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 23.99

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 29.88

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\TCVIS\SUMMARY.TXT
    tcvis-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 5.421

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGNX\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugnx-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.262

    can anyone can advise on posted quote below? thanks much!

     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006

  11. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Your maya result is too low, if you use maya you should consider changing drivers.
     
  12. rendes

    rendes New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know what driver is best for any Maya 6-8?

    I thought latest was usually the best like 91.36

    (6800 Ultra WinXP)
     
  13. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Check for special certified drivers @ the NVIDIA site.
     
  14. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
  15. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    The results I posted are from me, and I used the 91.36 drivers.
     

  16. Firstperson

    Firstperson Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 2070
    I would like to use CAD katia and UG. Will Going from a 7900 GT SS, to a 6800GT modded to a FX4000 give me better performance? If so enough to justify buying a used 6800GT.

    Thanks
     
  17. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
  18. Morillo

    Morillo Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3d 6800Ultra@Quadro4000
    Hey have a new card :)
    Some numbers :) and differences

    PC:
    Intel pentium 3.0Ghz@3,6Ghz
    1gb ddr500 a-data
    2x36gb raptor @RAID0

    OLD: Abit fx5900@quadro3000 (425/925)
    NEW:club3d GF6800U@Quadro4000 (425/1100)

    specview 8.1

    ------Abit fx5900@quadro3000------ driver 45.28
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 20.78
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.29
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.346
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.702
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 29.28
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 21.82
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 11.25
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 5.602

    ------Club3d GF6800U@Quadro4000------ driver 77.18
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 39.08
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 31.05
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 27.24
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 26.54
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 52.73
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 51.32
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 29.93
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 41.45

    :) pretty good improvements
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2006
  19. Praxis

    Praxis Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Elsa GF2 Pro -> Quadro2 Pro
    for PCI-e, i've read that 6800 GT / Ultra can be modded, but how about 6800 XT version as no one mentioned it before in the thread.
    thanks.
     
  20. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    No, the PCI-e version of 6800 XT can not be modded.

    For PCI-e, 6800 GT and 6800 Ultra are the only versions that can be modded.
     

Share This Page