Possible? If so, how? FX5900->Quadro / 6800->Quadro

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by DarknessGFX, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Cinema4D couldn't care less for Quadros. The results of equal GeForces are usually the same as their "big" brothers.
     
  2. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    I have to add this also: these are the test results done using my card on a friends computer, you can see that he also has this 60fps limit!!!

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\AWADVS\SUMMARY.TXT
    AWadvs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.20

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
    DRV-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 59.91

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
    DX-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.20

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    Light-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 41.13

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MEDMCAD\SUMMARY.TXT
    MedMCAD-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.31

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROCDRS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ProCDRS-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.20
     
  3. chalamadad

    chalamadad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    even while editing in the viewport set to wireframe/shaded mode?
     
  4. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Look again at page 2 of this thread,
    schorsch07 got low results at the beginning,
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1937979#post1937979
    but after he followed the advices in my reply
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1938029#post1938029
    he got the speed he should have..
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1938770#post1938770

    The advice I give in that reply will fix the 60 fps problem.
    Keep in mind, these settings are for testing with SPECviewperf only.
    After the tests, when you want to use your 3d/2d program,
    you should use the appropriate profile for it.

    BTW, by now, this has become a long thread, but it would be nice if you people
    would actually bother reading it before posting in it.. :D :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2006

  5. chalamadad

    chalamadad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, just a quick estimate then - Cinema4D and Quadro's, yes or no? The computer will 90% be used professionally for modelling and visualization purposes (huge resolution, high poly). Rendering will be happening mainly on other machines w/o graphics adapters.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2006
  6. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Once again the Master's words ring true!

    I turned off v-sinc and disabled monitor 2 (on pci 5200 and 3 on the seccond head of the 6800U).

    new results!

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 34.50

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
    drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 130.7

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
    dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 124.8

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 28.57

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 48.55

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 79.16


    Also I just got the motherboard in that lets me put the e6600 Conroe with an AGP GPU so going to post that up soon!
     
  7. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    I have been doing some overcloking tests on my mobo, and the cpu frequency doesn't affect a lot the opengl performance. You should get the same results with your Conroe.

    By the way I bought myself a E6300 and my 6800GT PCIe will soon be arriving, I will also post some results.
     
  8. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    that makes sense, how about things like rendering time and stuff wouldnt the conroe help with that?
     
  9. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Conroe kicks ash in rendering... ;)
     
  10. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    This is different. During rendering times, the "future" is known, so many processors can work at the same time and at full speed. Typically, you will see that a core renders the top half of an image and the other core renders the other half.

    While doing "real time" stuff, the future is unknown and therefore is it harder to program multithreaded softwares.

    By the way in games I think only Call of Duty 2 and maybe Quake 4 use a little bit the second core and the same applies for SLI.

    Same applies for CAD: Autodesk is absolute **** in using multicore systems!!!
    UGS NX is the best programmed regarding multicore/SLI systems.
     

  11. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Holly crap!!! Using Clokkevi's tips for unchecking Vsync, MemCAD went through the roof!!! 300fps!!!

    Actually the 60fps limit comes from the refreshing speed of my monitor which is as you guess 60Hz, sorry i didn't spot this one.
     
  12. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Yes, tested and confirmed. No difference between a Quadro and a GeForce in Cinema4D.
     
  13. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Specviewperf9 results on my 6800GT AGP@QuadroFX4000

    ugnx-01 Viewset
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
    # Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 9.00 47.0 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    2 9.00 24.2 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    3 9.00 4.36 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    4 9.00 4.35 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    5 9.00 9.69 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    6 9.00 5.60 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    7 9.00 3.30 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    8 9.00 21.4 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    9 9.00 15.4 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    10 9.00 2.14 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    11 10.00 6.22 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ugnx-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.483
     
  14. chalamadad

    chalamadad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is strange because I was talking with the tech support at Maxon today and he told me he would experience better performance using a Quadro. So he told me it's a good idea to get one. Maxon is listed on the Nvidia Quadro homepage too.

    Did you also copy the ...ws...inf files over like clokkevi suggested?
     
  15. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Could someone with
     

  16. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Could someone with a 6800GT PCIe @Quadro post some results with Specviewperf9 or 8.1?

    I think the FX4000 is being held back by the AGP bus, I'd like to check to be sure.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  17. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    My computer is an A64 3000+ @2.52Ghz s754 with 1Gb of PC3200 DDR. The driver version is 91.36

    SpecviewPerf 8.1

    POV 6800GT AGP @ Quadro FX4000
    3dsmax-03 = 35.55
    catia-01 = 26.06
    ensight-01 = 25.42
    light-07 = 23.90
    maya-01 = 52.15
    proe-03 = 43.01
    sw-01 = 25.77
    ugs-04 = 34.66

    Genuine Quadro FX4500, taken from here:
    Tested on a Dual Opteron 275 with 2GB of dual channel PC3200, 77.56 drivers
    3dsmax-03 = 41.51
    Catia-01 = 30.71
    Ensight-01 = 23.64
    Light-07 = 23.69
    Maya-01 = 57.47
    Proe-03 = 64.11
    Sw-01 = 32.12
    Ugs-04 = 50.29



    Specviewperf 9

    POV 6800GT AGP @ Quadro FX4000
    3dsmax-04 = 18.44
    catia-02 = 22.28
    ensight-03 = 13.93
    light-08 = 20.41
    maya-02 = 67.99
    proe-04 = 16.48
    sw-01 = 25.84
    ugnx-01 = 8.494
    tcvis-01 = 6.809

    Genuine Quadro FX4500, taken from here:*
    Tested on a Core2Extreme X6800 with 2Gb of ECC PC4200 DDR2, 91.36 drivers
    3dsmax-04 = 35.63
    catia-02 = 44.66
    ensight-03 = 24.41
    light-08 = 39.5
    maya-02 = 106.16
    proe-04 = 36.92
    sw-01 = 54.95
    ugnx-01 = 11.03
    tcvis-01 = 13.63

    *: this values are not very accurate, sometimes one FX4500 does better than a SLI of 4500s in applications optimised for SLI...
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  18. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Looking at this link: http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_24673.html

    Show that FX4000 AGP and PCIe are slightly different.

    AGP8x, 3D Primitive Perf:
    Triangles per Second 133 Million
    Texels per Second/Fill Rate 4.5 Billion

    PCIe, 3D Primitive Perf:
    Triangles per Second 150 Million
    Texels per Second/Fill Rate 5.1 Billion
     
  19. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Of course they are different, the FX4000 has 4 locked pipelines and much lower clocks than the FX4400.
    IMHO, the Maxon guy was suggesting you buy a Quadro because of the stability promised by using certified drivers, and not because of the increased speed. You can easily run their own benchmarks and see for yourself, there will be no visible difference between a GeForce and a Quadro.
    My modded 6800 Ultra AGP easily beats the PCI-E Quadro FX 4400, so the AGP interface is definitely not a bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  20. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    But let's say, if I buy myself a 6800GT PCIe and mod it to Quadro, will it be an FX4000 or an FX4400?

    The problem is that windows still sees a 6800GT. Some people say that the 6800GT PCIe becomes an FX4000, but I have seen someone doing SLI of softmodded 6800GT (by flashing the bios), and that is only possible with an FX4400.

    So could someone post Specviewperf 9 results of a modded 6800GT PCIe? So we can be sure of which Quadro it becomes. As results only differ in SPec9 and not in 8.1 or lower.

    EDIT: you say your 6800Ultra AGP beats an FX4400, but in which benchmark? Did you try the Spec9? This is the only benchmark where the true power of FX4400/FX4500 kicks in!
     

Share This Page