Possible? If so, how? FX5900->Quadro / 6800->Quadro

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by DarknessGFX, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Well, the Quadro is working, or else your ugs-03 would have been less than 10
    - this is what it gives you in 6800 mode.

    But the results are a bit low, if you compare them to mine

    Code:
    ugs-03 Viewset - 6800 GT mode
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight  Frames    DLB  Visual Double     Frame Buffer     Depth  Stencil  
      #    Per Sec   Sec   ID    Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer  Buffer  
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      1   16.50   5.41     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      2   16.50   5.93     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      3   16.50   4.95     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      4   16.50   5.42     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      5    8.50   65.1     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      6    8.50   79.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      7    8.50   8.12     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      8    8.50   11.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean =   9.302
    Code:
    ugs-03 Viewset - Quadro FX 4000 mode
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight  Frames    DLB  Visual Double     Frame Buffer     Depth  Stencil  
      #    Per Sec   Sec   ID    Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer  Buffer  
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      1   16.50   56.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      2   16.50   63.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      3   16.50   50.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      4   16.50   56.2     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      5    8.50   93.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      6    8.50    114     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      7    8.50   82.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
      8    8.50   89.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean =   67.45

    Look again at page 2 of this thread,
    schorsch07 got low results at the beginning,
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1937979#post1937979
    but after he followed the advices in my reply
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1938029#post1938029
    he got the speed he should have..
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=1938770#post1938770

    I have also 875P chipset you know,
    with a P4 "Prescott" 3.0 GHz,
    and a 6800 GT at 350 / 1000 MHz.

    Both your CPU and GPU should be 13-14% faster than mine...
    so your results should also be 13-14% faster.. right?


    BTW, in the middle of my advice to schorsch07, I write about how he should get "nvwsapps.xml".
    This is not needed for you, since you have AGP 8X, and have that "nvwsapps.xml" (or "nvwsapps.cfg") file already in your system32 folder.
     
  2. BerndFleischer

    BerndFleischer New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6800Gt (45)
    cpu speed gets very slow

    Hello clokkevi,

    I have the same components (same System) like Schorsch07,
    and I also get much better results as before. Same results like Schorsch07. So it works. Fantastic.
    I also work in Cinema 4d. So I installed also the latest driver with the xml. in system 32.
    But my problem is that after doing this, the speed of my CPU (Benchmarking) is getting very slow. Without tuning with Rivatuner I have best benchmarking results. Has anybody similar problems?
    Thanks for your answers.
     
  3. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Crossfire 2 x AGP 6800U??

    Thinking of upgrading MOBO how about using AGP SLI/or Crossfire? could two 6800u AGP be modded and work together?

    Also seems most of the motherboards that still support AGP are pretty lame do you have any good suggestions? Would like to stay away from VIA chipset stick with intel 975.


    R.
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2006
  4. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    SLI with AGP cards is impossible due to lack of downstream speed of AGP (only upstream transfers are fast).
    Also AGP slots are always single - there are no double AGP ports on any motherboard.
    So, if you want SLI, PCI-E is the only choice
     

  5. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    ic

    hum was afraid of that. well at least the video card is set now thanks again

    my new problem is getting 4GB of ram to work in my XP system I tried /3gb option but it just causes Solidworks to crash.

    Gave up after working on it all day going to call it quits with the system now as it is and work with what I got which aint all that bad thanks to your help.
     
  6. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    The only way of having more than 2Gb for Solidworks (or any other 32 bit app) is to run it on Windows XP 64 bit.
     
  7. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    ic

    just wondering how come no SPEC Viewperf 9 or SPEC Viewperf 8 results are being posted?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
  8. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Best MOBO for modded 6800U AGP? with E6600 Duo Core

    duo core E6600 with this 6800 modded?

    Is it worth it? I read Asrock Dual-VSTA will allow AGP cards with E6600 processor, this is only a $50 motherboard though I am a bit concerned its not going to perform well. It uses my PC3200 RAM which saves money for now.

    Can anyone reccomend a nice fast motherboard that can live with for a nice long time with Conroe chip? or maybe 2 Conroe chips?

    Would this speed up things allot with E6600 and the 6800 modded and solidworks over say the P4 3.4??

    I noticed Solidworks can take forever to load and save files. Is it time for a server motherboard? What type of system would be good for this? Tired of waiting for Solidworks files to load etc..

    R.


    *Side Note: I play world war II online also and notice that this card is rendering the game faster after the MOD the game is OpenGL based appearantly. At least tonight it seemed faster.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
  9. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    fx5950 Mod-able? to Quatro?

    Thanks using my buddies guru account to ask this.


    He got his 6800 to mod wondering if can get Asus 5950 Ultra to work also.

    we tried the riva tuner, could turn straps on but could not unlock professional feature using 77.56 forceward Quadro drivers.

    Does this card need to be hard modded?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
  10. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Usually when a program is updated, the new version is "better",
    in that it has new features, bugs are fixed etc.
    But I would say that new versions of SPECviewperf are not "better" than their older siblings,
    they are just more tuned to the very latest GFX hardware...!

    SPECviewperf 7.1.1 was the one they used when Quadro FX 4000
    was the hottest.
    http://www.spec.org/gpc/May2_04/opc.data/vp711/summary.html
    http://www.spec.org/gpc/Oct1_04/opc.data/vp711/summary.html


    So I mean it is suited for Geforce 6800 -> Quadro FX 4000 mod comparisons.
    Also, when I ask people to take the SPECviewperf test in both Geforce and Quadro mode,
    it is so they can see if their mod is working or not.
    And since many of the ugs-03 tests will increase up to 1000% when going from GeForce 6800 to Quadro FX 4000,
    they will actually *see* with their own eyes the difference. :)

    Likewise, when people mod their Geforce4 Ti 4800 -> Quadro4 980 XGL,
    they should probably use SPECviewperf 6.1.2

    When I saw Unwinders results that showed the amount of tweaking done in
    the NVIDIA / ATI drivers to get higher-than-normal speeds in the SPEC viewsets..
    ..I thought that, ok, it's good for showing if the mod works,
    but when actually comparing a real applications performance,
    then a self-made test is the only "true" test.
    SPECapc, though, is more "true" than SPECviewperf (at least I hope it is).
     

  11. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    No, but you must use 45.28 drivers, patched ones.
    I wrote another "how-to" for GeForce 4 / GeForce FX 5*** cards;
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=800764#post800764

    Much more work than 6800,
    this is because while NV40 (GeForce 6800) is 100% equal to NV40GL (Quadro FX 4000)
    NV35 (GeForce 5900) is not 100% equal to NV35GL (Quadro FX 3000)
    Because of this difference, that 1000% increase in ugs03 on 6800 mod
    will not be more than.. 100%? on 5900/5950
    Instead, use the SPECviewperf 6.1.2 test..
    - test #3 and test #4 in the AWadvs-04 viewset will (I believe) increase a lot..
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
  12. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Yikes that is a huge amount of work. Maybe would be easier to just get another 6800U for that system..? Seen allot on ebay for $150 range. Then it would be allot faster than the 5950 anyways correct?

    Thats allot of stuff to do for sure! Also I am concerned Solidworks 07 is not going to like that older driver as much as the 77.56 they reccomend now.

    You mentioned that gaming would be slower after mod but I think my 6800U after mod actually went faster in OpenGL wwii online. Am I just seeing things.

    R.
     
  13. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Hehe.. well, it's done in max 5 minutes, if you know what to do.
    The reason it is so long, is because I usually write very detailed..!

    In short:

    Get 45.28,
    unzip it,
    patch nv4_mini.sy_ with "SoftQuadro4" patch
    patch the resulting nv4_mini.sys with "NVStrapAntiprotection" patch
    Now the driver is ready.

    Turn on the settings in RivaTuner's NVstrap page,
    but when it will reboot...
    cancel the "New Hardware found" wizard,
    (or else it will just use your old unpatched drivers.)

    Clean out the traces of your old driver;
    this is an "oem*.inf" file in C:\WINDOWS\inf\
    which you must delete.

    Then, its just to manually "Update driver.." through the Device Manager
    (Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager)
    and point to the nv4_disp.inf file in the folder with your unzipped, patched 45.28.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2006
  14. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Would it be better just to get another 6800U? will not that be a huge inprovement over 5950U?

    finger on the bid button await your advise, thanks!
     
  15. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    The reason Quadro is faster in 3D pro apps is that these apps use some OpenGL functions
    which are never used in games.
    In GeForce, those functions are blocked, the driver doesn't have to care about them, so it will be a wee tiny bit faster in games.

    Nvidia would never block functions that are, or could be, used in games,
    because that would make their GeForce slower than ATI's Radeon for that game..
    ..and they would not want that.
    After all, it's their GeForce's that are their main income,
    they just have to be as fast as possible in every game possible..! :)
     

  16. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    No, I will not give you an advise.
    I have never used Solidworks so I do not know how faster it is in 6800 mod than 5950 mod..
     
  17. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    rgr thank you for all the info! I will try modding the 5950 and see how it goes. I have the 6800u here so its easy to compare. will post benchmarks after!
     
  18. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Also, maybe even a 7600 / 7800 un-modded is faster in Solidworks than a 6800 mod.
    So - when 8800 come, and you can get 7800 cheap...
    ..do you see my point?
    Quadro is cool for studios that need max stability and can afford it.
    3D modelling has become so main-stream now that Autodesk and Dassault
    don't want to lose customers that can only afford Geforces.
    So they tune their new versions so they work very good also on Geforces.
    In 3ds Max 7.0+, Direct3D, not OpenGL or MAXtreme is the fastest driver,
    ...so a Geforce 7800 is faster than a Quadro FX 4000..
     
  19. chalamadad

    chalamadad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi! thanks for all the info!

    I am especially interested how well the mod would work on a 64bit windows using cinema4d. has anybody experience with this and maybe some performance results?

    also has anybody tried to utilize two quadro modded cards in a single system? does it work with any SLI board? it would be awesome if this could double speed in some apps.

    and since some time passed - anybody knows if "gainward coolfx" or "point of view" are a good choice of 6800 ultras and chances are good the mod works on them? Is there a way I can ask the vendor so he can tell which chip is used by looking the card/chips?

    Nice thread, thanks again!
     
  20. pedrolito

    pedrolito Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
    Hi guys,

    Today I have received my 6800GT AGP and successfully modded it to Quadro FX4000.

    But I have a strange behaviour: my fps are limited to 60!

    Just for fun I have used the 6.1.2 Specviewperf, and here are the results:
    MedMCAD-01 Viewset
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Framebuffer Depth Stencil
    # Percent Per Sec Sec ID Buffer R G B Alpha Buffer Buffer
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 10.00 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    2 10.00 60.1 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    3 10.00 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    4 10.00 60.1 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    5 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    6 7.50 60.5 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    7 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    8 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    9 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    10 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    11 7.50 60.0 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    12 7.50 60.5 N/A 4 True 5 6 5 0 24 0
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MedMCAD-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.09


    Where the hell is this problem from???

    Moreover I have the same problem using whatever version of Specviewperf. Is due the fact I am running single channel? I don't think so, because I also have a genuine Quadro XGL900 and I also had this 60fps limit, and I know the XGL900 can go up to 100fps under MemCAD. Actually back in the days it was the first card to hit the 103fps!

    And I have to add that one day everything worked fine, I had no limit what so ever, and then by messing about with the bios and XP, I got back to this 60fps limit.

    If anyone knows about this issue give me a shout.
     

Share This Page