Poor SLi performance with 2 x GTX260??

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by BarryB, May 19, 2009.

  1. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    Just ordered the Coolermaster HAF 932, should be here tomorrow, but my other bits haven't arrived yet :(

    No point doing anything when they do arrive anyway as I've no case to put them in. Giving my old bits to my bro, all I need is the HDD, FDD, PSU and optical drives from it and he needs a new PSU as his is an AGP system and I have a spare XFX 7950 PCI-E card he can have! He'll get a big upgrade from 1Gb ram, Single Core 2.2GHz CPU and ATI X850 to a 2.8GHz Dual Core, 4GB ram and the XFX 7950 :) but he doesn't game :( WTF!!

    Just need to know a bit more on how to OC these 920 D0's now!!
     
  2. YuKsS

    YuKsS Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus gtx 1070 strix oc

    you have the same problem i have, BOTTLENECK.. even my cpu at 3.5ghz is to weak to handle both cards
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  3. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    Yep I noted this when I OC'd a mates AMD 6000+ 3.2 to 3.4 and put my 2nd card in his system, barely any increase in performance :(

    Well it's nearly 5pm here in the UK and still no delivery! Not gonna be happy if I've paid for next day delivery on an order that was shipped yesterday and it comes tomorrow and not today :mad:
     
  4. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    Well i've now got my new rig up and running and from some initial benchies things look better, all @ stock system speeds:

    Crysis 64bit DX10 GPU Benchmark is averaging 50FPS in SLI with Very High Settings @ 1680 x 1050, No AA and Vsync. Vantage getting 22200 ish and 3DMark06 getting 17400 ish all with default options.

    Looking into OC'ing but not jumping in until I'm sure of what to alter!!
     

  5. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,469
    Likes Received:
    155
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    great to hear dude, up the bclk and make sure the uncore is 2x your mem speed + a little extra, leave the rest on auto and youll be fine( that should take you upto 3.6Ghz but keep an eye on the temps, these things run HOT
     
  6. Rjudgey

    Rjudgey Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HAWK GTX460 1GB SLI
    I7 CPU's

    I think I'll be joining the I7 Team soon too lol! My experiment with Q9550 didn't quite go as expected lol! Got some right weird results back from upgrading to Quad and sticking in a 3rd 260GTX for a laugh!

    At this rate I'm gonna have so many spares and bits left to have my own PC shop! lol!
     
  7. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    @lmimmfn: I've bumped the bclk to 150, so CPU is now 3GHz and MEM is 1800MHz, haven't touched anything else so will have to check the uncore speed!! Bclk to 175 will get me 3.5GHz but the damn thing didn't boot as I probably didn't adjust other settings to suit (whatever they may be?). I disabled the SpeedStep option as windows was seeing 3GHz but Orthos said 1.6GHz.

    @Rjudgey: Join the club! I have quite a few spare bits scattered all over the place, mobos, gfx cards, cases, drives, cables etc :) My board won't support 3 gfx cards as the 2nd GTX260 I put in blocks the 3rd PCI-E slot!
     
  8. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    Set you Bclk to 190, your memory to XMP, and your multiplier to 19. Up your CPU voltage to at least 1.35v(you can always ramp it down later), your PLL voltage to about 1.86 and make sure that your memory voltage is about 1.66v. Test at least 10 passes using the new Intel Burn Test here on Guru. Then up your Bclk and test again.

    Disable Speedstep and C1E. Also disable Hyperthreading(for now) because it's utterly useless unless you're using one of the few programs that can utilize it.

    As my Irish friend said, make sure that your uncore speed is at least 2x that of your memory, which is extremely easy to do.
     
  9. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    Thanks Classic Satch, did all that and system is now running at 3.6GHz :)

    One problem is the mem runs at 1800Mhz and shows only 4GB, put it down to 1500Mhz and I'm back to 6GB? How to get it running at 1600MHz like it's supposed too?

    I also can't get Intel Burn Test v2.1 to run as I get a side-by-side configuration error? I've installed .NET v2.0 x64 (can't install x86 as it won't let me), VC Redist x86 and x64 and still get the same error?

    Well just done a few quick benchies:

    Crysis 64Bit DX10, NoAA, Very High Settings:

    Code:
    ==============================================================
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
        Play Time: 38.36s, Average FPS: 52.13
        Min FPS: 42.94 at frame 1942, Max FPS: 70.29 at frame 990
        Average Tri/Sec: -18368884, Tri/Frame: -352339
        Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.60
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
        Play Time: 34.76s, Average FPS: 57.54
        Min FPS: 40.42 at frame 1960, Max FPS: 70.90 at frame 881
        Average Tri/Sec: -19498758, Tri/Frame: -338882
        Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.70
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
        Play Time: 34.81s, Average FPS: 57.45
        Min FPS: 40.42 at frame 1960, Max FPS: 71.73 at frame 981
        Average Tri/Sec: -19336292, Tri/Frame: -336590
        Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.72
    !TimeDemo Run 3 Finished.
        Play Time: 34.75s, Average FPS: 57.56
        Min FPS: 40.42 at frame 1960, Max FPS: 73.24 at frame 1012
        Average Tri/Sec: -19487798, Tri/Frame: -338577
        Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.71
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (4 Runs Performed)
    ==============================================================
    3DMark06 (Default Settings): 23289

    Vantage: (Default Settings): 18990 (something not right as I was hitting 22K previously at stock speed, Hyperthreading being disabled maybe?)
     
  10. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    Done more tweaking and got a stable OC @ 3.6Ghz by running the OCCT CPU test for the 1 Hour run, core temps avg 70 degrees under full load.

    These were the settings:

    CPU voltage: 1.25v
    CPU PLL: 1.8v
    BCLK: 200Mhz and Multiplier of 18x (Did this so mem can run at it's XMP profile of 1600Mhz)
    UCLK: 3209 Mhz
    MEM: 1603 Mhz

    Seems to be the best stable settings so far! Been playing Crysis for hours with this setup.
     

  11. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    I just downloaded and flashed the latest BIOS from Asus. It lets you manually set your multiplier to 21x. I just ran Intel Burn Test at 4.2Ghz(200x21) and it passed. I'm now running Prime Blend for further confirmation. Finally, a BIOS update that does something truly useful!
     
  12. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    BIOS 0504? I'm currently running that one.

    I would probably need H2O too if I was ruuning at that speed!

    However, reading an article on Toms Hardware about OC'ing the Core i7 920 the gains at anything over 3.6Ghz are not worth it as the power consumption just skyrockets:

    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/overclock-core-i7,review-31553.html

    That article also mentioned at the 4.0Ghz setting the CPU throttles speed to prevent overheating, if you run H2O that may not happen but it may just do it anyway?
     
  13. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    I could care less about power consumption as long as my temps are OK. Also, you can disable thermal throttling in most X58 BIOS setups but apparently not yet the P6T.

    I disabled Speedstep to keep my multiplier locked at 21x. That article you cited used air cooling, which obviously forced the motherboard to throttle back. I don't have that issue. And the latest BIOS is 1504. You probably just had a typo.

    Hilbert posted an article a while back which illustrates that the i7's really shine when multi-GPU setups are used. That's when you'll truly see the benefit of an i7 cranked up to speed.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i7-multigpu-sli-crossfire-game-performance-review/
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  14. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    I have the P6T Deluxe V2 mobo and the BIOS is 0504 for this one. If you're happy with the crazy power consumption that's fine, it's not me that pays your leccy bill :)

    2 x GTX260's throws Crysis around pretty comfortably at 1680x1050 so not looking to overclock them just yet, maybe *IF* I decide on a watercooling setup then I can think about OC'ing the GFX, as for the CPU I personally wouldn't be happy with the excessive power requirement a 4Ghz overclock needs.
     
  15. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,762
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Have you checked this to see if you're actually maintaining 21x (it's Turbo mode, Asus just leaves that out) at all times: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=225450 ?

    I ask because that very post says:

     

  16. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    My wife has 5 fish tanks, including a 280 gallon, 180 gallon, 75 gallon, 55 gallon, and a 30 gallon. Not to mention 150 yards+ of electric fencing, a 3200 square foot home, 3 PC's.... You get my drift? Electric costs aren't too much of a priority. :)
     
  17. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    I'm running 1504 and during Intel Burn Test I have CPU-Z and Real Temp up and running. Both report a 21x multiplier.

    Yeah, I keep up on what's going on over at xtremesystems. I forgot about that utility. I'll have to give it a shot. I'm not too happy with Asus for not giving me the ability to turn off thermal throttling. I spent $300 on this f*cking thing.
     
  18. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,762
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Yep, but if you read that first post you'll see why CPU-Z and RealTemp aren't good enough to check for multiplier fluctuations (they don't poll often enough). I'd check with that program, it's a quick and easy thing to do. It's a bit odd that Asus hasn't addressed this yet though, with a bios update or whatever.
     
  19. BarryB

    BarryB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Palit SJS 780 in SLI
    No probs then, if you can afford it who gives a damn!
     
  20. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    I used that program referenced above. My multiplier didn't budge under Burn Test. I guess having H20 probably helped. Are you liking your new chip?
     

Share This Page