Please Help: Can’t get GeForce 6200 to deliver 1920x1080p Res on Samsung HDTV

Discussion in 'The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section' started by navi_navi, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. navi_navi

    navi_navi New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d GForce6200 256mAGP
    Problem Summery: Can’t get Inno3D GeForce 6200 to deliver 1920x1080p (Full-HD) Resolution on Samsung LA40B530 Series-5 40” LCD HDTV

    COMPUTER SPECS:
    2.8Ghz HT Intel Pentium 4
    2.5GB RAM
    AGP 256MB Inno3D GeForce 6200 (Click Here for Full Specs)
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP3
    NVIDIA Driver version: 197.13 WHQL (Date: 2010.03.25) (Click Here for Full Specs)

    CONNECTORS:
    24K Gold Plated DVI to HDMI 1.5 Meter Cable (Click Here for Full Specs)

    HDTV Specs:
    Samsung LA40B530 - 40” LCD Full-HD (1920x1080p) TV (Click Here for Full Specs)

    Problem Details:
    Unable to get the Full-HD (1920x1080p) Resolution from GeForce 6200 to Samsung LA40B530 LCD HDTV. Currently running at 1680x1050. Both Windows Display Dialog-Box and NVIDIA control panel show that the GeForce Found and Connected to Samsung HDTV. NVIDIA control panel list Resolution 1920x1080p @ 60Hz as HDTV well as 1920x1080 as LCD Monitor. If select 1920x1080p from HDTV Resolution or 1920x1080 from LCD Resolution, color of the display get distorted and the windows start menu bar and upper section of the screen gets outside the LCD Display area. i.e the desktop gets chopped off, and the color gets distorted.

    All other resolution works fine, up to 1680x1050. Problem only occurs at 1920x1080p or 1920x1080.

    I have tried making/adding various custom resolutions, and tested them out. But the problem still occurs and only seems to occur at 1920x1080p or 1920x1080.


    Any idea, what I can try or do to fix the problem?


    Thanks.
     
  2. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    does you're tv have a gaming mode or anything in the settings?
     
  3. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    364
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
  4. Threewheels

    Threewheels Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb

    I dunno about that.. that page says:

    "Dual integrated 400MHz RAMDACs for display resolutions up to and including 2048x1536 at 85hz"

    last time I checked, 2048x1536 was greater than 1920x1080. It *should* work.


    OP, have you tried re-naming your HDMI port to "PC" or something similar? Some TV's require you to use a specific HDMI port for PC input. for example, my TV will only display correctly if I have my PC plugged into HDMI-2, and if I have named that port to PC. Then it knows to turn off any scaling and processing effects. Check your owner's manual, and see if it says anything about that.
     

  5. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1060 6GB
    My dads stupid laptop will only do 1680x1050 aswell, even though my little netbook with much lower specs can do 1920*1080 fine, not sure why, tried playing with the refresh rate and stuff?
     
  6. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    364
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE

    This is using the VGA output. Most TVs rely on DVI or HDMI.
     
  7. Threewheels

    Threewheels Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb
    That's great, but the first post states he is using DVI:

     
  8. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    364
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE

    Exactly my point. That resolution is for VGA output. His card can only output 1080i through a digital connection. See the Nvidia spec sheet link in my first post.
     
  9. Threewheels

    Threewheels Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb
    I am not seeing where it states the limitations of DVI vs VGA, only something about MPEG-2 decoding.
     
  10. navi_navi

    navi_navi New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d GForce6200 256mAGP
    Thank you guys. appreciate your inputs.

    Thank you guys. appreciate your inputs.

    YES. the TV has a gaming mode. but Gaming mode is disabled (grayed out) when connecting PC with TV using HDMI/DVI Cable.

    That’s what lot of people been saying. but honestly? where in the specs does it say that? i can find it?!:bang: instead i find the specs on that nvidia web page says:
    • DVD and HDTV-ready MPEG-2 decoding up to 1920x1080i resolutions
    • Dual integrated 400 MHz RAMDACs for display resolutions up to and including 2048 × 1536 at 85Hz

    YES. Samsung LA40B530 has 3 HDMI Port. out of 3 only HDMI1 is HDMI/DVI Port for PC to TV connection port over HDMI. That is exactly what i m using right now, Port HDMI1 or HDMI/DVI. i have tried the other 2, but Display do not show up at all. the manual says HDMI2 & 3 are not for DVI connection, only for HDMI.

    YES. I have tried with changing refresh rate and resulation but with no luck. problem still presist.

    you may be right. but there is no such mention on the nvdia specs page.

    again, cant find that info on nvdia page? Which line is it?
     

  11. mcantu

    mcantu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 560Ti 1 GB
    did you try renaming the hdmi/dvi port to 'pc'? most samsungs need to have this done to get a correct display...
     
  12. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,716
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti OC
    You may need to fiddle around with the TV's EDID. Sorry can't help you out much more since it's been years that I had to do it with my LCD.
     
  13. navi_navi

    navi_navi New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3d GForce6200 256mAGP
    SOLVE!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH "mcantu"

    SOLVED!!

    :) THANK YOU VERY MUCH. "mcantu". You are a genius.

    Renaming the DVI/HDMI Port to "PC" or "DVI PC" Fixes the problem!! Cristal Clear Display on 1920x1080 Res.
    :banana:
     
  14. Threewheels

    Threewheels Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb
    dude, I said that on 4-13:

    good to hear you got it working though.

    and I knew that the DVI resolution was limited to 1080i!!
     
  15. Hammie

    Hammie Banned

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    760 SMG 28"
    It's the video card, no support for that, like they said.

    Guys which video card can do good for this guy ?

    pick up a 5870 or a GTX470

    Not on a budget
    ATI 5970 dual gpu

    For simple desktop stuff I recommend 7800 GT especially if you dont play games.
    Or go for the 9800GT like 100 bucks ,,, and youll get major performance boost at least 500 percent faster,,, gl
     

  16. Threewheels

    Threewheels Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 275, 896mb
    read two posts up, Hammie - Problem solved, and it was NOT the video card. the 6200 does support 1920x1080 just fine, so there was no need to spend money on a new card. nhlkoho was mistaken with his information.
     

Share This Page