PlayStation 3 emulator increases its CPU performance by 30% with AVX-512

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 17, 2022.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,783
    Likes Received:
    11,415
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    386SX likes this.
  2. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    910
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    I'm using newest bios with modded support for avx 512. Using "old" ucode.
    Asus Apex z690 with 12900k.

    Binned 12900k with avx 512 is worth more on ebay than any binned 12900ks :)
     
    CrazY_Milojko likes this.
  3. EngEd

    EngEd Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    All this performance boost and Sony still can't run PS3 games based on the PS premium subscription which is enabled this month/weeks on the PS5 because of too many security features and the problem of the cell architecture from the PS3 console...

    We now know that the best way is to actually run an emulator on PS5 to be able to run PS3 games... They could do it if they wanted to even with SSE 4, but naah. Now emulating on PC will be amazing
     
  4. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    1,831
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    PS3 natively ran games at 25-60 fps, Google seems to be telling me. 242 fps sounds like a lot. Many a game might produce erratic behavior.
     

  5. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,612
    Likes Received:
    2,826
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Intel are c*nts for removing the avx512 support from 12th gen for no reason whatsoever, other than that they want you to buy their crazy expensive xeon cpus to get avx512 support...
     
  6. reix2x

    reix2x Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    HIS 4870 1GB
    Sadly, it is just business (Intel way)
     
  7. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    910
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    My soon 5 years old 18 core has avx 512. X299 cpu's are pretty cheap on ebay ;) If you actual need avx 512. Or just use 12900k with old ucode...

    I think AMD is worse. They haven't even avx 512 on threadripper...
     
  8. lukas_1987_dion

    lukas_1987_dion Master Guru

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Gaming OC
    Theadripper was still faster so..
    Anyway, soon AMD will officially support avx-512 in consumer CPU's so yeah :)

    I have 12900K with latest Asus bios from June, and avx-512 is still an toggeable option in the UEFI. I don't use it as I prefer additional performance boost from OC'ed E-cores (4.0GHz for all E-cores while default 4.9GHz for P-cores as its more worth to me wattage and temperature wise)
     
  9. blkspade

    blkspade Master Guru

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Leadtek Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT 256MB
    Well when there is like literally 1 use case outside of scientific application, why would you expect AMD to invest in it? In Linux, the main platform where it's likely to see use, the kernel creator hates its existence. Intel creates separate silicon for different segments. It just gives an easy out to outright deny features from certain segments. AMD just doesn't have the AVX512 instruction set in its core chiplets, which are the exact same silicon from server to desktop. That results in them not arbitrarily blocking useful features like ECC on the desktop. So when AVX-512 comes to the Zen 4 chiplet, it'll just be there working.
     
  10. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,179
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black

    PS premium is just sony answer to BC the ms has, we just have pay for it and it half assed at best I will stick to PS + lowest su . Sony is not interested in give us BC i seriously shocked we got for ps4 games and that actual enhanced games ( it probably do to fact it PC hardware now), my PS, PS2 collections played on my PC or my PS2 if i want my eyes to bleed. PS3 game will be played on ps3 system, would and ps4 game on ps5, would loved if i could just pop them in system and play them but yah.

    There is reason why there emulations of "playstation" on pc and most them run better then anything sony has done and some are not even updated anymore and do thing better then sony attempts. sony just not will to do it correct, cause if they did they cant resell the game or do a ps premium
     

  11. XP-200

    XP-200 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    1,323
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1080 Mini
    ^^^Yeap, why give emulation away for free when they can bury it inside a subscription service, hell Sony would not even allow digital copies of PS2 games bought on the PS3 to work on the ps4 with the same account, but they will charge you for that same ps2 game to be able to run on the ps4. Lol
     
  12. TLD LARS

    TLD LARS Master Guru

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    AMD 6900XT
    A used 3-5 years old 7890xe or 10890xe is still the same price as a new 5950 or 12900k, most people would not call that cheap.
    It is also a lottery buying it because it could have a foot in the grave already, same goes for a 3-5 years old motherboard.
    The 7890xe pretty much also needs a delid and good watercooling to run anything above stock speeds.

    I guess if someone has a spare 1000€ they are willing to risk for a fun experiment it would be an option.
     
  13. SSJBillClinton

    SSJBillClinton Master Guru

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    RTX3090 EVGA FTW
    Quite a few PS3 games surprisingly allow the FPS to be uncapped without any problems, as long as the animations haven't been tied to FPS. I've been playing a good chunk at 240FPS and it is stellar.
     
    Kaarme likes this.
  14. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,255
    Likes Received:
    3,439
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    great, let's all buy avx512 to get 200fps in ps3 emulation,cause 150 isn't good enough.
     
  15. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    607
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    only a handful of games work 100% properly anyway. It's nowhere near the level of the PS1 and PS2 emus. Plus Zen 4 will have AVX 512 so it won't even really be a thing.
     

  16. 386SX

    386SX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    I know clarification is in the text below, but after reading this I first thought why you make such a fuzz when a game reaches about 6,5fps ... :D
     
    Exodite likes this.
  17. SSJBillClinton

    SSJBillClinton Master Guru

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    RTX3090 EVGA FTW
    Maybe not as good as PSX emulators, but a damn sight better than the current state of PS2 emulation.
     
  18. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,179
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    ps2 emulation on pc is great, especial compared to sony idea of emulations
     
  19. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    125
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    It is a scummy move by Intel but who knows with AMD Ryzen 7000 has AVX 512 coming out late this year Intel might bring it back without people needing hacked BIOS to do it.
     
  20. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    910
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    Use old bios and 12900k. No need to use modded bios, if you don't want too :)
    No need to make a problem, that isn't a real problem :)
    If you actual want avx 512 with Alderlake, you are pretty much an entusiast, that can fix "problems.

    You know that you need to disable e-cores to enable avx 512 right?
     

Share This Page