Played Crysis again ...

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by XenthorX, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,394
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Thanks for the input. Just one question. what is your minimum, average and maximum frame rate running Crysis with the mentioned mods maxed and at what resolution?

    Previously running maxed at 1080P with GTX 580 SLI, I'd get around 70 fps on average, not much less...
     
  2. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    348
    GPU:
    ASUS STRYX RX 580
    currently running the game on custom high at 1080p, 45-65 fps depending on what's happening, we all know it s not an optimized game, but i can say objectively this is probably the only PC AAA title that holds up so well after 9 years, and given that this is probably my 6st or 7th playthrough for an ultimate island feel for stranded rambo fighting his way through, really without saying how much this game is unoptimized in framerate it really is so enjoyable even after many playthroughs
    for some reason i can't run the game on x64 exe, it only runs on x32 exe. im on win 10 64bit. the x64 exe crashes to desktop.
    this my config by the way called extreme config 1.34
    _______________________________________________________________________
    _______________________________________________________________________
    con_restricted=0
    sys_spec_Full=4
    __________________________________________<Antialiasing&Filtering>_____
    r_FSAA=0
    r_FSAA_samples=0
    r_FSAA_quality=0
    r_TexMaxAnisotropy=0
    r_UseEdgeAA=2
    __________________________________________________<Misc.>______________
    e_screenshot_file_format=jpg
    e_screenshot_height=2880
    e_screenshot_quality=100
    e_screenshot_width=5376
    r_displayinfo=1
    r_MultiGPU=2
    ______________________________________________<ObjectDetails>__________
    e_detail_materials_view_dist_xy=4096
    e_detail_materials_view_dist_z=256
    e_lods=1
    e_lod_ratio=10
    e_terrain_occlusion_culling_max_dist=1000
    e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio=1.7
    e_view_dist_ratio=80
    e_view_dist_ratio_detail=60
    e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=50
    sys_flash_curve_tess_error=1
    ________________________________________________<Particles>____________
    e_particles_lod=1
    e_particles_max_emitter_draw_screen=48
    e_particles_thread=1
    e_particles_quality=4
    e_max_entity_lights=20
    e_water_ocean_soft_particles=1
    r_UseSoftParticles=1
    _________________________________________________<Physics>_____________
    e_cull_veg_activation=70
    e_foliage_wind_activation_dist=30
    e_phys_ocean_cell=0.2
    es_MaxPhysDist=100
    es_MaxPhysDistInvisible=25
    p_max_MC_iters=7000
    sys_physics_CPU=1
    ___________________________________________<PostProcessingEffects>_____
    cl_hitblur=0
    g_battleDust_enable=1
    g_battleRange=100
    r_ColorGrading=1
    r_ColorGradingFilters=1
    r_Coronas=1
    r_DepthOfField=2
    r_Flares=1
    r_MotionBlur=1
    r_sunshafts=1
    r_WaterGodRays=1
    r_UsePom=1
    _____________________________________________<Shaders&Lighting>________
    r_HDRBrightOffset=8
    r_HDRlevel=0.75
    r_HDRRendering=2
    r_SSAO=1
    r_SSAO_amount=0.4
    r_SSAO_blur=4
    r_SSAO_blurriness=1
    r_SSAO_darkening=1.1
    r_SSAO_quality=2
    r_SSAO_radius=2
    _________________________________________________<Shadows>_____________
    e_shadows_cast_view_dist_ratio=0.5
    e_shadows_from_terrain_in_all_lods=0
    e_shadows_max_texture_size=1024
    e_shadows_on_alpha_blended=0
    e_terrain_ao=1
    r_ShadowBlur=3
    r_ShadowJittering=1.5
    r_TerrainAO_FadeDist=3
    _________________________________________________<Textures>____________
    r_DetailDistance=20
    r_DynTexMaxSize=100
    r_EnvCMResolution=2
    r_EnvTexResolution=3
    r_EnvTexUpdateInterval=0.025
    r_TexAtlasSize=2048
    r_TexResolution=0
    r_TextureLodDistanceRatio=0
    r_TextureLodMaxLod=0
    r_TexturesFilteringQuality=0
    r_ReflectionsQuality=3
    r_VegetationSpritesTexRes=128
    _____________________________________________<VolumetricEffects>_______
    r_Beams=3
    r_BeamsDistFactor=0.1
    r_BeamsMaxSlices=250
    _______________________________________________<WaterEffects>__________
    e_recursion_view_dist_ratio=0.15
    e_water_ocean_fft=1
    q_ShaderWater=3
    r_WaterCaustics=1
    r_WaterReflections=1
    r_WaterReflectionsMinVisiblePixelsUpdate=3
    r_WaterReflectionsQuality=3
    r_WaterRefractions=1
    r_WaterUpdateDistance=-1
    r_WaterUpdateFactor=0.01
    ________________________________________________<Mountains>____________
    e_terrain_lod_ratio=1
    e_terrain_normal_map=0
    e_terrain_texture_lod_ratio=1
    r_TexturesStreaming=0
    _______________________________________________________________________
    _______________________________________________________________________
    r_height=1080
    r_width=1920
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
  3. Software Junkie

    Software Junkie Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080
    I had the same problem until I set the Crysis 64bit exe Compatibility Mode to Windows Vista (Service pack 2). Now it works fine.
     
  4. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    348
    GPU:
    ASUS STRYX RX 580
    still cant run it, still crash to desktop after loading black screen.
     

  5. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,642
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    Crysis 2 I think was a step into cod territory and the ending was abrupt and poor.

    Crysis 3 is much better than C2. Takes some elements from C1 and C2, but, more C1.

    C1 and 3 for me, great games. C1 is a little dated now, but, still looks great.
     
  6. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    This is my current cfg:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    348
    GPU:
    ASUS STRYX RX 580
    shall i kill him or shall i spare his pathetic little life XD
    [​IMG]
     
  8. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    This guy is in trouble, he deserve it, do it!
     
  9. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    348
    GPU:
    ASUS STRYX RX 580
    Xd whenever i play this game i feel myself back in 2007 when i trying every bit of performance squeeze to get to a playable 35 fps
     
  10. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,151
    Likes Received:
    3,117
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    First time I played this was with a x1900xtx, which I then upgraded to 8800 GTS SSC... it was so fun back then, crysis 2 just felt like a simplified linear console game and crysis 3 was just horrible.

    Original crysis multiplayer was very fun, it's a shame it died out so quickly.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

  11. cerebus23

    cerebus23 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,441
    Likes Received:
    602
    GPU:
    evga 8800gts
    Yea i loved power struggle, not so much dm.

    A good team working together on ps was awsome.

    And still remember when i was sniping on the one map, the other team had snipers in a very op position, stealth camoed crept up in the grass and took a few out with my gauss, then one of their team walks right over top of me with my power nearly out, my heart was pounding. Then my wrecked team all respawns in our spawn base behind and murders the guy.

    Lost the match but that map was very one sided imo the one team has an open area to work in and the opposing had a valley with towers, that their snipers took great advantage of, plus a 3rd on the hill outiside sniping took out 2 of the 3 the 3rd one got me. But was near impossible to push into their base on the map since they could control the mid field full stop.
     
  12. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    That's weird because my win 10 64 bit system works exactly the opposite and can only play the 64 bit version. I do have an FX CPU though which the 32 bit version is said to not work with. My 64 bit .exe is not set in compatibility mode either.

    What platform is the game on? I couldn't get the Steam version to work at all, but the Origin one is fine. I read that Steam said if you bought the game from them, it came with an EA key that you may have to use instead of the Steam one. I couldn't find any such thing though. Luckily my Steam key was a gift and didn't cost anything.
     
  13. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    At that time I had 8800Ultra, and I could not play crysis 1 and warhead in dx10 because after few minutes performance was cut down from 40-60 to 25-30fps (I think 768MB was just not enough) in 720p resolution. But in dx9 and and VH details enabled (thanks to ini tweaks, these dx10 details didnt required dx10 for real) I could play without these memory leak problems, so performance was much better. Most of the time I was playing crysis in 1680x1050 dx9 very high details and with just 25-30 fps but for some reason this game was very playable at that framerate. In fact I remember my friend asking my how fast this game was running, because it feelt really smooth to him. When I told him 25-30 he could not belive.

    Now I have just played crysis warhead after 7 years, and this game is better than I remember when it comes to gameplay mechanics (encauters with soldiers looks a little bit different each time). Later on I also tried playing warhead on xbox360 gamepad for the first time and I like it, shooting is so fun in this game on xbox controler (but default thumbstick sensitivity was too low and I had to increase it). I would give warhead strong 9/10, this game is really fun to play, I have no idea why so many people think that crysis was just a benchmark.

    When it comes to graphics, indoor scenes are somewhat flat, but all the outdoor scenes in warhead looks still amazing. But crysis warhead is still damanding when it comes to CPU. There was one level with armored train, when performance diped to something like 30-35 fps on OC'ed i5 (turning off MSAA or lowering resolution didnt helped at all, so I think it's CPU to blame). Besides that train level performance was good most of the time (80-120 fps when my GPU wasnt limiting my CPU) but I recommend running this game from 64bit exe (I have gained good 15-20fps boost compared to 32 bit exe).

    Now I wanted to play crysis 1, but my old disc just broke in half :(.

    BTW. I had some troubles instaling that game from DVD (with authorization), but after usuing deuthorization tool that crytek provided years ago (and patching this game with the latest patch), it finally worked.
     
  14. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,642
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
    I re-bought both on steam a little while back during sales. C1+Warhead even though I have disc version, but, my current build has no optical drives. I do keep a blueray usb drive as a spare just incase, though.
     
  15. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    Steam verisons comes with 64 bit exe like disc versions?
     

  16. Stormyandcold

    Stormyandcold Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,642
    Likes Received:
    341
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 GamingX
  17. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    411
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    Do not forget that the 64-bit settings menu is bugged when running it for the first time.

    Have to configure the game in 32-bit dx9 mode. Then the game will run in 64-bit mode dx10 no issues. Accessing the settings menu has no issues after that as well. Add the -dx9 to the end of the target string in the shortcut when setting the game up for the first time. Remove the switch when finished.

    EDIT: Game would crash to desktop with win10 before setting the game up in 32-bit dx9 mode
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
  18. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    Thanks

    For now I have played crysis 1 one hour from 32 bit exe. IMO warhead is so much better when it comes to shooting mechanics. In crysis 1 I have to use more ammo in order to kill soldiers, it's like weapons have worse accuracy, and it's especially visible and annoying if you are shooting from very close distance without ironsight. Also gamepad buttons are mapped differently compared to warhead and because of that it's harder to play. I wonder if it's possible to bring "warhead" shooting mechanics into crysis 1 (mod or something?), game would be so much more fun to play.

    Yes I know. In wahread I have to change resolutions in dx9 mode, and only then I can play using dx10.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
  19. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X

    [​IMG]
     
  20. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    the9quad@ now it's ok? I'm still learning english (mostly from games and films) but thanks to people like you (who can notice whats wrong) I can improve my english skills. Thanks
     

Share This Page