1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pink hue over screen - Preferred Refresh Rate forced

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Kolt, Jun 21, 2018.

  1. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    Hey guys,

    I've been having a weird issue that has surfaced recently, and I've narrowed it down to a specific setting. I've had this setting on for a while, so I'm not sure why it isn't working.

    If I set the Preferred Refresh Rate in the Nvidia control panel to Highest Available and start up certain games (Inusrgency for example), the game will load up and everything will have a pink hue over it. If I leave the game the pink hue remains on the desktop (like of a post process hue filter over everything. You can still see everything.. just pinkflified) and I notice that I no longer have 144hz as a refresh rate option, but instead the monitor will be set to 120hz with 144hz missing in both the Nvidia control panel and through Window's display settings. The pink hue doesn't leave until I set the refresh rate to 60hz or unplug my monitor and plug it back in (or restart the PC), which will then have the 144hz option back available. It's as if forcing the refresh rate is breaking 144hz even though I can still set 144hz in the game options and run 144hz seemingly fine.

    I've gone through different drivers (clean reinstall drivers) and that doesn't seem to help. This is very odd and seems like a driver issue especially since the monitor still works but there is a pink overlay, but I'm a little worried that it may be something else. Could my monitor be going out? It's almost like the game forces the refresh rate which breaks/artifacts the display temporarily but I've never really ran across this oddity and I'm not seeing similar issues on Google. Keep in mind that the game still runs and there are no artifacts or issues other than a pink overlay, but it runs at apparently 120hz and 144hz can't be selected until I reboot the monitor/PC.

    It's a Pixio px277 (cheaper 144hz 1440p monitor)
    Display port connection
    GTX 1070 strix - tried 397.93 - 398.18 drivers. GPU is overclocked but not my too much. 1733mhz clock (1935 boost) and 2177mhz memory.

    Anyone seen any similar issues or any suggestions? This is a cheaper monitor so I'm thinking it's just that, but the behavior and temporary remedy of this issue make it seem more software/driver than hardware based. For now I am just leaving the refresh rate option to application controlled which seems to work.
     
  2. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,256
    Likes Received:
    781
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2018
    Kolt likes this.
  3. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    You know what, I don't think I even considered the cable... good idea! I will try that out. I'm pretty sure the one I have is a cheapo.
     
  4. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,172
    Likes Received:
    226
    GPU:
    Intel HD
    Yeah I was gonna suggest the same thing. I have had cables which were playing up and there was a yellow tint until I wiggled the cable and all fixed
     

  5. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    So I got a new cable (DP 1.2 verified) and the issue still persisted.. so I ended up buying a new monitor altogether and the issue is gone. I was really wanting a new monitor anyways and I just couldn't see what else could be causing it.

    Lesson learned. Don't buy cheap monitors. The Pixio was garbage. If anyone is interested, I ended up getting the Acer ZX321QU (HDR ready and ~32' curved 144hz WQHD https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CY1X7YL/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) which I'm hoping will last a bit longer than the Pixio :p
     
  6. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Pixio is highly recommended by the YouTube reviewer. Especially, Joker Slunt & Level1Techs Wendell. o_O
     
  7. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    I dunno, the build quality of mine was terrible. Very wobbly and light bleeding at all corners, although no dead pixels which looking at reviews it seems to be a common complaint. Mine only lasted roughly a year and a half also (no OC or anything like that done to the screen).

    For the price it wasn't too bad at the time and the screen itself was really nice and fast, but I would still recommend another brand due to how cheap that monitor felt build-wise.

    I didn't realize the monitor I have now doesn't do the wide color range (8bit only, if I am understanding that correctly), so HDR in games like BF1 won't work right. When I enable HDR for BF1 it turns into a huge overly-bright saturated mess. Works great in AC origins though. Still better than no HDR at all I suppose :/
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2018
  8. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    HDR still a lot of issues so just avoid it.
     
  9. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    Yeah I'm seeing some of these issues. For one, I can't enable HDR for Windows 10 most likely because I have a secondary (and third) screen attached that is not HDR (guessing here). The other issue is like I mentioned where my screen is only 8bit, so I'm not able to get the full HDR color range and games that demand that for HDR won't work. AC Origins works flawlessly and the HDR in that looks amazing, so I don't feel too bad about it. Honestly it's a nice thing to have even at this degree, although I wouldn't go out of my way for an HDR screen like I did for 144hz/1440p. I was about to get a very similar monitor that just didn't have HDR so I'm very happy with my purchase, but for anyone else looking for HDR make sure you get at least a 10bit screen.
     
  10. Kolt

    Kolt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    STRIX 1070 oc
    I feel like an idiot.. but my Windows 10 was still at 1709. I updated to the latest version of Windows 10 and now Windows 10 HDR works fine.

    Chrome on the otherhand doesn't seem to work well with HDR, so I've had to go into chrome://flags and disable HDR in the chrome settings there, otherwise Chrome was just too dark and washed out.

    EDIT: Disabling Hardware Acceleration in Chrome allows HDR to work (looks nice, not washed out like it was previously). Steam client looks fugly and washed out a bit even with HW accel disabled.. so yeah HDR is kind of glitchy and problematic. It's nice when it does work though (even though I'm not really full HDR but rather 8bit+dithering).
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti

    who?
     
  12. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    What resolution do you use ? it only happens if you use other resolution than 1920x1080 60hz or 4K 60 Hz , the native ones. my bet is because Scaling doesn't work properly or it's Scaling and HDR bug because of Nvidia Drivers. HDR just doesn't work .... it's Nvidia issue. with AMD it work fine with all resolutions . you can only use 2560x1440p 30 Hz or less , then HDR will work fine.
     
  13. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,557
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    The Pixio PX277's native resolution is 2560x1440Hz and its native refresh rate is 144Hz. It's not a 1080p or 4K 60Hz display.
     
    Kolt likes this.
  14. DerSchniffles

    DerSchniffles Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080ti
    HDR does not work in Windows which is why everything looks washed out. Some games need it turned on in Windows before the game will recognize it, others can switch over in game. BF1 on pc works perfect on my TV.
    Ive been messing with HDR for about 6 months on PC and something I can tell you right now is, you really need to dial in the brightness in game for HDR to really pop. AC Origins for example, I had to turn down the in game brightness to 10-or 20% and then adjust the HDR settings. Just about every game I run with HDR requires the brightness to be turned down and the HDR settings properly tuned to get the best picture, otherwise it looks washed out. Trust me, just play with the in game brightness and your mind will be blown.

    HDR games really need the "turn down the brightness until the image on the left is barely visible" feature, trying to do it by eye is more tedious than it needs to be. AC Origins and Far Cry 5 have the best HDR ive seen so far.
     

Share This Page