PhysX for AMD GPU - fact or myth?!?!

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by saberwolf, Jun 22, 2014.

  1. saberwolf

    saberwolf Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vapor-X R9 290x x2
    I've seen some YouTube tuts on people using AMD cards running PhysX, spme of the vids were out dated.

    So I figured the best place to ask this question would be here, being as this forum is the mecca of all GFX hardware forums.

    Your thoughts. PLZ!

    P.S. I am pretty syre this question has been asked 1000 times :bang:

    Sooo.. srry for the repost.
     
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    There hasn't been a significant game to come out since Borderlands 2 that uses PhysX anyway. I have never seen PhysX yet that felt "I wish I had an Nvidia card so I could do that" BL2 for example was pretty awful actually and you could run it off your CPU and get almost all the same effects It was mostly HUGE expulsions of particles that piled up like snow on the gorund and just killed yout FPS. The water and the flag effects weer nice but it's just window dressing you run right past and as for the previous example ugly and over top and wrecked your performance
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,182
    Likes Received:
    1,928
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
  4. crz

    crz Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070 ARMOR 8G
    AFAIK it did not work on the AMD GPU. Some time ago there were some cracked/modified nVidia drivers that allowed you to have both an AMD GPU set as the primary graphics card and some cheap PhysX capable nVidia card as a dedicated PhysX card.
     

  5. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I have Ran R9 290 + 680 Physx.
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    13.12 AMD Driver
    314.22 Nvidia driver.

    You can always search google
    How To: Fix Hybrid PhysX with latest PhysX and Geforce 285+ [SOLVED!]

    Follow directions for each game to have GPU Physx

    I uninstalled all drivers in safe mode with DDU.

    Run PreHybrd Physx
    Installed AMD Driver-reboot
    Install Nvidia Driver -reboot
    Run Hybridiz


    Code:
    Most games work fine except any game with SDK 3.x or newer in the future Nvidia Blocking AMD just sucks hard
    
    So, Hybrid Phys'X work with: List may be incomplete
    7554
    Alice: Madness Returns
    Auto Assault
    Batman: Arkham Asylum
    Batman: Arkham City
    Bioshock 1,2, Infinite, Brutal at Sea
    Borderlands 2
    Bureau: XCOM Declassified
    Bet on Soldier: Blood Sport
    Bet on Soldier: Blood of Sahara
    Bet on Soldier: Black-Out Saigon
    Chivalry: Medieval Warfare
    Crazy Machines II
    Cryostasis
    Dark Void
    Darkest of Days
    Deadfall Adventures
    EverQuest Next
    Hot Dance Party
    Hot Dance Party II
    Mafia 2
    Mars
    Metal Knight Zero
    Mercenary Ops
    Metal Knight Zero Online
    Metro 2033
    Metro: Last Light
    Medal of Honor: Airborne
    Mirror's Edge
    Need for Speed: Shift
    Sacred 2: Fallen Angel
    Sacred 2: Ice & Blood
    Passion Leads Army
    PlanetSide 2
    Project CARS
    QQ Dance 2
    Rift
    Rise of the Triad
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 (GRAW2)
    Unreal Tournament 3
    
    3d Mark Vantage
    3dMark06
    PhysX FluidMark
    
    Doesn't work:
    ARMA 3
    Assasins Creed IV
    Batman: Arkham Origins
    Star Citizen
    Star Trek
    Star Trek: D-A-C
    CellFactor: Combat Training
    Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt
    CellFactor: Revolution
    City of Villains
    Call of Duty: Ghosts
    Hawken
    The Great Kulu
    Mortal Combat Complite Edition
    Warframe
    Warmonger - Operation: Downtown Destruction
    Velvet Assassin
    The Secret World
    Demo run Fluid Mark
    [​IMG]


    GPU-Z Screen
    [​IMG]
     
  6. saberwolf

    saberwolf Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vapor-X R9 290x x2
    Interesting details gentlemen :)

    Couple of places I have visited have pointed out that if you have a AMD card, you just need to install the latest version of PhsyX, an have it running while you are playing your game?
     
  7. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,801
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    If you have an AMD card, PhysX defaults to CPU. Nothing special required. "Hardware accelerated" PhysX will NOT run on an AMD GPU though.
     
  8. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    There used to be a work around where you use a Nvidia card in secondary slot for it. but that work around tool haven't been updated in a while and I doubt it still works now, well it could if you use older Nvidia drivers to do it. But normally physX GPU is for Nvidia cards only so other wise you either have to switch cards if you want it that badly or deal with using the CPU rendering of it.
     
  9. kevsamiga1974

    kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
    Some games actually need the PhysX software installed, and won't run without it using an AMD card, which uses the CPU in any case unless you hack it for Hybrid like above.

    Games like Mass Effect 1. So it's still an important component to have if you encounter those games that black screen without it.

    Even if you don't/aren't using an Nvidia card.
     
  10. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,608
    Likes Received:
    933
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Just gonna put this out there....

    I think Nvidia don't want to open up PhysX and port it over to OpenCL mainly because I believe AMD cards would either match Nvidia cards in the same tier but more of me thinks that AMD cards would pull ahead thanks to better OpenCL support and better DirectCompute.

    JUST MY OPINION (MORE GUESSING).
     

  11. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,793
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    I agree with your opinion and to be honest PhysX ain't too impressive anyways which is why they have not pushed it too much as of late.
     
  12. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Lord, nv offered physx to amd and they declined it, why does everybody thing nvidia is not allowing it?
     
  13. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Why do they block PhysX from working if an AMD GPU is also installed then?
     
  14. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,121
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    HD7950
    Wasn't it at a cost, though? If I remember right, AMD would have been paying Nv a healthy amount. Considering the amount of supported games, it wouldn't have been worth their time. It's a shame in one respect if that is the case (and I'm pretty sure it is), as we might have seen a new industry standard by now. I realise that companies need to make money, but I honestly believe that a lot of developments should be open.
     
  15. kendoka15

    kendoka15 Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    Well isn't physx designed to work on CUDA cores just like mantle is designed to run on GCN?

    Thing is, Mantle would be alot more useful than Physx but AMD don't like to share either
     

  16. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,121
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    HD7950
    Mantle is open, so I'm not sure where you're getting that from. It's currently still in beta, AMD have stated since the start that it will be open to anyone that wants it.
     
  17. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,885
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    nah... I like my mantle, but mantle is as closed as it gets, with AMD promises to one day be as open as CUDA

    I don't think they are actively blocking it, but they will not be supporting it. Something along the lines - "what do we do when we meet a bug and it's due to unsupported GPU"

    Anyway I think that's mistake, they should have offered for free compatibility layer for AMD.
    Not that that would stop "Nvidia cripples AMD yadayadayada" threads,
    (there would be more of those actually :D) but in order to spread their GPU acceleration.
    CPU PhysX being already the most widespread gaming physics system.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2014
  18. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    No AmD would be required to add support into new cards as their cards didn't support it at a hardware level. This was back in the 8800days. Nvidia did not mention any royalty of the sort, amd declined the offer because they thought it wouldn't last long(my guess, no real reasons.) to put it simply, nv offered the source code, amd said no thanks.
     
  19. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,801
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    PhysX was designed to work on x87 based processors....not NVidia's hardware specifically. NVidia modified it, after purchasing Ageia, to run on CUDA. PhysX could just as easily be modified to run on OpenCL if NVidia cared to do it. Problem is, that would bump up CPU based PhysX performance as well as making it compatible with AMD's hardware.....then PhysX would no longer be a selling point for NVidia graphics cards.
     
  20. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,885
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    I have no idea who would end up faster, but...

    if PhysX was truly built implementing low-level CUDA - then true CUDA hw would obviously be better suited to run CUDA code.
    Then again I am not sure that is the case, because too often PhysX is performance killer.

    Anyway I don't think that is the reason for keeping it closed (or "opened"). Simply put PhysX is just another NV differentiation perk and marketing tool.
     

Share This Page