PhysX and SLI

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by DAN55, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    Hello!
    I've read on nvidia-site "Use one card for graphics and dedicate a different card for PhysX processing for game-changing physical effects."

    I'd like to know, can i choose card for PhysX manually?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    yes, but only when SLi is disabled.
     
  3. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    How?
     
  4. kid-goku

    kid-goku Master Guru

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 980 Ti
    go to nvidia CP and disable SLI
     

  5. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    How disable SLI i know.

    How choose card for PhysX manually?
     
  6. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,444
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    -
  7. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    start menu/all programs/nvidia corporation/physX properties
     
  8. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    Thanks all

    I have to do this operation, because my second MSI 8800GTX goes down for shot period(single or in SLI-mode). I think, if i devide video-cards for different role, i hope this card in PhysX-role will work good.

    I will write my results.
     
  9. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    Hello!
    There is no menu for my two Video-card 8800GTX in the NVidia Control Panel in "1. Set PhysX GPU acceleration" :( And i haven't point "Enable Multi-GPU mode" (from pic http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=280938)
    My driver:
    GeForce Release 180 WHQL
    Версия: 180.48
    Опубликовано: 19.11.2008
    Операционная система: Windows Vista 64-bit

    First quetion: need i install SLI connector? (now instaled)
    The Second: may be this config are working only with diferent GPU-chips?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    leave SLi disabled, and then go to Start/All Programs/nvidia/physX. from there you can choose the card you want for physX.
     

  11. stoneman1967

    stoneman1967 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 8800GTX +p1 Physx128
    only if you stretch the display over a second monitor and make sure the cable is connected from second gpu to second monitor or same monitor but different connection my setup is gpu 0 hdmi connection gpu 1 d-sub connection same monitor works a dream
     
  12. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    but without SLI bridge too... normal as you can use a 9600gt with a 280gtx for exemple...

    i have tested but in my case it doesn't do much tan my SLI normal config... i must see when "mirror's edge" will be on store :)
     
  13. DAN55

    DAN55 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI MSI 8800GTX 768Mb
    More...

    Hi!!

    I've found how PhysX switching on in Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit :)

    start C:\windows\SysWOW64\PhysXCplUi.exe and than Tab "Settings"

    -> GeForce PhysX -> button "Select GPU..."



    Here score of my system after PhysX configurated

    Unigine
    Tropics Demo v1.1FPS: 14.3
    Scores: 361

    HardwareBinary: Windows 32bit Visual C++ 1500 Release Oct 29 2008
    Operating system: Windows Vista (build 6001, Service Pack 1) 64bit
    CPU model: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
    CPU flags: 2833MHz MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 HT
    GPU model: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX 7.15.11.8048 768Mb

    SettingsRender: direct3d10
    Mode: 1600x1200 6xAA fullscreen
    Shaders: high
    Textures: high
    Filter: trilinear
    Anisotropy: 16x
    Occlusion: enabled
    Reflection: enabled
    Refraction: enabled
    Volumetric: enabled

    Unigine Corp. © 2005-2008
     
  14. jabloomf

    jabloomf Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580
    This is a little bit off track, but what happens if you have GPU PhysX enabled in a two GPU SLI system and a game isn't written to use PhysX? Does the computer revert to using two cards in SLI, just for that game? The control panel settings allow having both SLI and PhysX options on at the same time (even though the driver documentation clearly states that with GPU PhysX turned on, one video card does the normal game stuff and the other does the PhysX stuff). In other words, you need three GPUs to do PhysX and SLI simultaneously.

    A lot of games don't use PhysX, but do use SLI and if it doesn't work as I stated above, the second video card is just sitting there twiddling its silicon thumbs for those games, if you enable GPU
    PhysX. Wouldn't it make sense instead, to have GPU PhysX as an option under each game's profile? For example, if I decide to use Microsoft Flight Simulator X, do I have to go into the control panel and turn GPU PhysX off, just to get FSX to run in SLI mode?
     
  15. BlooHook

    BlooHook Master Guru

    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 FTW SLI
    nope Jab, not necessary to go through that. Let's try to clear up some of the misconceptions about PhysX acceleration...

    First off, in terms of acceleration in an SLI system. Enabling PhysX will only result in the calculations being run on the card with the least overhead. But that ONLY applies to games that support PhysX acceleration. A game such as FSX will not run slower because PhysX acceleration is enabled.

    Second, and most important, even if a game uses the PhysX engine for physics that does NOT mean supports PhysX acceleration. While a vast majority do, there are still some that don't use any means of hardware acceleration. To complicate things even more, there are even some games that don't use the GPU method of acceleration. Meaning that if you don't have one of the old Ageia PhysX cards, you won't have any acceleration at all. There are only a few games like that but just figured I'd mention it.
     

  16. jabloomf

    jabloomf Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580
    Thanks man, for clearing that up. nVidia's website is completely confusing, when it comes to explaining PhysX acceleration.
     

Share This Page